We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nandos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ria Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ria Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ria Park Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Urbanizacao Vale Do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-951, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sutton Coldfield
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nandos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Part of the nandos group stayed here, great facilities however the food and drink was rather expensive. Staff were great, we used the hotel basement bar following a garden party, suffice to say great time had by all who attended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    54
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
54
91
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Four nights at the hotel. Could not be better (with one minor exception - no tea/coffee facilities in room: while this is a minor issue such facilities are nice to have). Very friendly and attentive staff, excellent facilities, great breakfast and evening meal, fabulous room and views.

Room Tip: Poolside is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent hotel. Friendly & attentive staff. Restaurant food & service excellent. Superb location. We would recommend We have stayed at this hotel for many years & will continue to do so in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a nice hotel, and the staff was attentive. Nevertheless, the swimming pool seemed too small taking into consideration the number of guests in this hotel and, above all, they publicize the availability of a SPA in it. and this is not exactly like this. They have a concept of resort, and the SPA is outside the hotel, as a shared facility. Not confortable to get there. We were frustrated because the information provided in Internet is not accurate enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us.
Your appreciation of our services and staff have been communicated to all concerned who are grateful for your kind comments.

We have also carefully looked on all the less positive aspects referred in your review.

Please note that we have at our guests disposal an indoor heated pool as well as a Health club in the hotel with a fully equipped gym, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi and a massage room available to provide massages to the guests that do not wish to go to our SPA.

The SPA is only 200 meters from the hotel (walking distance), within our resort. Nevertheless, we also offer our guests a free shuttle if required. With 1200 m2, our SPA offers a fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool with water jets, 12 treatment rooms for different therapies, sauna and steamed bath.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay with us and we are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Ria Park Hotels.

With our kindest regards,

Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday to the Ria Park. We were a group of 5 and will categorically never return. The staff in the restaurant are without question the rudest and most surly I have ever come across. The Hotel Manager is in the same bracket. Do not expect to get anywhere if you complain to him, which I what I tried to do. His response to my complaints were take a look at TripAdvisor - you will see nothing but compliments.
You are charged €15 per room/day for a sunlounger on the beach which is not stated anywhere in the hotel literature or on the website. Get there early or you will find there are none left and you will have to go further down the beach and pay €20! Pool is adequate but again short of loungers if you do not get there first thing in the morning. Pool size is small for the size of the hotel. Very noisy with lots of screaming small children - there is no escape! Food and drink extremely expensive. Dinner for 5 in the hotel restaurant not including starters or alcohol was €155. Location is ok, but you are limited to where you can go if you do not hire a car which we did not. Beach restaurants are within walking distance and were perfectly adequate. Fairly pricey but to be fair what you would expect given the location. We were given some advice from some people we met and we did what they had done .. a trip to the supermarket to stock up on drink and nibbles. Taxi fares from the hotel to the nearest main supermarket €17 each way. Wifi available but totally spasmodic.
The only redeeming part of the hotel was the Guest Relations Manager, Fernando. Without doubt the most helfpul and pleasant person in the hotel. He should be the Hotel Manager and the ladies that clean the rooms who were constantly smiley and pleasant should be the people manning the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, good service, nice facilities, close to the beach, fantastic location in Algarve, great breakfasy buffet.
The only downside, wifi did not work in my room despite several times highlighting it to the reception. Also for dinner you could eat at the restaurant of the hotel if you had the dinner menu. Could not order anything a la carte for a light dinner. They suggested to order room service. I think that was not the best way to address it. Last but not least, I wanted to make an appointment at the spa and i asked reception to do it since the 'calling houra' were when i was at the beach, but they could not do it for me, instead they told me to call the spa when i am at the beach to make an appointment. That was also not nice for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Ok we were initially booked into a modern hotel and had to accept a last minute change to the Ria Park a traditional hotel. We found check in was efficient and our room was very nice and very clean. Having arrived late evening we had a beer at the bar 5 euros each. Bombay Gin was 9.50 Euros a shot. We retired to bed two singles which were made into a double the next day after asking reception. The bed was very firm if you like that sort of thing. The food was excellent. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. We opted for half board and dinner was five courses and we were not disappointed. We had a wonderful holiday. The minuses were rip off bar prices. This was countered by a trip to the supermarket for drink and flasks to take to the beech. the beech is a short shuttle bus ride away and it will cost 15 euros a room for a beech bed and shade each day. All food was expensive 12 euros for a sandwich lunch for two. 43 euros for sardines salad and chips with a beer for two at a beech bar. We found ways to reduce costs but you need to work at it if you are on a budget. Big minus no tea or coffee in the room but you can have it as room service for 3.50 euros each. Don't get me wrong we loved our time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ria Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Urbanizacao Vale Do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-951, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#4 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#6 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ria Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE RIA PARK HOTEL & SPA The Ria Formosa Nature Park and the Ria Park Hotel & Spa welcome you to a world of luxury and excellence in the exclusive Vale do Lobo valley. Situated in the Algarve, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is surrounded by a verdant valley from where you can see the beach and the warm waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Characterised by elegance, charm and luxury the Ria Park Hotel & Spa offers modern comforts and amenities with vast open spaces and breathtaking views. Surrender to the delights of our Spa or discover the best golf courses situated around the hotel. Sample the finest Portuguese and International cuisine at the Terrace of the Lusitano Restaurant, or indulge in the simple pleasure of savouring your favourite drink at the Lobby Bar while watching the Ria Formosa Natural Park. With over 300 sunny days a year, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for your holidays, throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Ria Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Hotel Almancil
Ria Park Hotel And Spa
Ria Park Resort
Ria Park Hotel & Spa Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ria Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.