We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ria Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ria Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ria Park Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Urbanizacao Vale Do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-951, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Had a lovely time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Ok we were initially booked into a modern hotel and had to accept a last minute change to the Ria Park a traditional hotel. We found check in was efficient and our room was very nice and very clean. Having arrived late evening we had a beer at the bar 5 euros each. Bombay Gin was 9.50 Euros a shot. We retired to bed two singles which were made into a double the next day after asking reception. The bed was very firm if you like that sort of thing. The food was excellent. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. We opted for half board and dinner was five courses and we were not disappointed. We had a wonderful holiday. The minuses were rip off bar prices. This was countered by a trip to the supermarket for drink and flasks to take to the beech. the beech is a short shuttle bus ride away and it will cost 15 euros a room for a beech bed and shade each day. All food was expensive 12 euros for a sandwich lunch for two. 43 euros for sardines salad and chips with a beer for two at a beech bar. We found ways to reduce costs but you need to work at it if you are on a budget. Big minus no tea or coffee in the room but you can have it as room service for 3.50 euros each. Don't get me wrong we loved our time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    65
    27
    11
    11
See reviews for
74
115
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

In 2012 we stayed in the garden hotel and booked the garden hotel again.We arrived in on the 31 of July with the garden hotel not to open till the first so we were upgraded to the spa hotel the staff were equal to the garden hotels staff the breakfast was kind of the same.the beds were equal to the garden hotel also but there is one thing for sure THE POOL CERTAINLY WASN'T.The pool was magnificent there was a little island that you could climb onto (but no stairs onto it)either have someone to boost you,a inflatable toy to get you up or use all your strength to get up yourself.The wifi wasn't great but atleast there was wifi.Anyway a wonderful stay thank you everyone at ria park

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were booked in the sister hotel - Ria Park Garden but were delighted when we arrived to be upgraded to the Ria Park Hotel and Spa due to the Ria Park Garden being closed for a refurb. A very welcome sight of a beautiful hotel after a nightmare transfer from the airport by a taxi driver who didnt even know the area let alone the hotel !! Anyway, the Hotel is stunning , very clean and excellent staff, especially the reception staff who were always very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are lovely and well equipped - apart from having no Iron or tea making facilities. Pool area great with free supply of lovely clean towels. The only down side was the very expensive cost of food and drinks ( eat as much of the lovely breakfast buffet was the order of the day!) and taxi's to get anywhere, just glad we were with loads of people that we knew and didnt have to stray too far as the taxi fares were extortionate :( Short walk to the beach and bars and the hotel provides a courtesy bus to the beach and back all day for those who require it. All in all a lovely holiday - would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 6 days at the Ria Park recently (late June, early July 2013) and I was pleased we decided to stay at this hotel. Room was comfortable, AC worked and was not noisy, breakfast was better than average with a good selection that catered to many tastes. Our bedsheets were refreshed after 2 days (3 times is a 6-day stay), towels were done daily despite our best efforts to reduce laundry. The pool was great with towels supplied and collected. We ate and had service from the pool bar - the servers were all pleasant and helpful; the food was fine and could be customized easily.

A few small things were irritating:- the shower temperature varied quite noticeably when someone in another unit flushed or used cold water (oddly enough, the shower always got warmer, never colder - perhaps a good thing??). The "complimentary" shampoo was not a good quality but the their products seemed fine. Small details like a pad of paper and a pen or pencil in the room would also have better upheld their 5 star rating for me.

Room Tip: The view over the pool was nice - afforded the ocean view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, very very clean, when we arrived the reception staff were very friendly although one or two needed to improve on their PR. Breakfast was very good, with a big selection of food. Pool was very good however bar staff around the pool could have been a bit more friendly and accommodating.

Sea view very good if you have binoculars, not worth paying extra. The beach itself was a 15-20 minute walk which is not advised in the heat- but a shuttle bus is provided. For a 5 star hotel which had it's own private beach and sunbeds, we were charged €15 per day for use which is outrageous- it should be part of the service. This is not mentioned anywhere in the hotel details/ information when booking. Location is very remote so you would need to hire a car as cabs are also very expensive- €10 per journey (one way) minimum 5-10min drive. Only 4 restaurants near the hotel but all fish- not suitable for vegetarians, good for meat lovers. Average meal per head including drinks is about €30.

Overall, nice place, nice people but be prepared for additional costs. Not ideal for families.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife recently stayed at Ria Park Hotel where we had a post-wedding celebration with our families. The hotel was great, with spacious lobby, green places everywhere, lovely ocean view room, etc, etc, etc... But what made our stay memorable were the staff. Everyone with no exception. Starting with the laundry lady that manage to get my wife's dress pressed in 45mins by driving to a close-by town, then Sra. Patricia Baracho by organizing a fantastic dinner for us and our families, Sra. Marta with the patience and care during breakfast, Bruno by the pool serving lovely sangrias, Sr. Helio at the reception with top restaurants suggestions and so many other people that unfortunately I don't know the name but definitely you are in our hearts... To be honest, staff is something that we don't give a massive importance when we travel because we like to explore the places and countries we have visited before but THESE STAFF MADE US FEEL HOME. We have stayed in many great hotels before, some of them the best in the world... But the Ria Park experience was the best we have ever had! In the name of my wife and mine, MUITO OBRIGADO!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful last minute break at the Ria Park Hotel. We know the area around Val de Lobo very well having previously rented villas there on several occasions. This time because we were travelling without our family we decided to stay in a hotel and opted for the Ria Park because of its position and the excellent deal we got. How pleased we were with our choice. The hotel is a mere 15 mins from Faro airport and although we arrived quite late we received a warm and efficient welcome from the front desk staff. The hotel is not as high end as some of the other flashier 5 star hotels in the area but the housekeeping standards and facilities on offer are excellent; what really sets the hotel apart however is the quality of its staff. Without exception they are all extremely professional and well trained and yet friendly - nothing was too much trouble. This was intended as a relaxing break and personally I don't want to feel in awe or intimidated by my surroundings or the people working at the hotel. At the Ria Park we felt comfortable immediately. Our standard room was large and airy and the TV channels on offer were excellent which meant that we could watch Andy Murray win Wimbledon. It was cleaned twi ce a day. Breakfast which was included in our room rate was served on the shady terrace overlooking the magnificent pool and the choice was good. We did not eat dinner in the hotel as there were restaurants in the area that we wanted to try. The pool area was spotless and there were plenty of sun beds scattered around. The pool itself was lovely with clean cool water it was however very deep over much of its area and might not therefore be suitable for non swimmers or those nervous in deep water. There was a small childrens pool alongside but again one would have to be very vigilent if one had very young children. The other guests came from a number of different countries with no single nationality seeming to be in the majority.
We were absolutely delighted with the hotel and already planning a return trip at the end of the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 17 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
7.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
17.7 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ria Park Garden Hotel
Ria Park Garden Hotel
#13 of 17 in Almancil
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Tivoli Victoria - Vilamoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Urbanizacao Vale Do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-951, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#3 Family Hotel in Almancil
#3 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ria Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE RIA PARK HOTEL & SPA The Ria Formosa Nature Park and the Ria Park Hotel & Spa welcome you to a world of luxury and excellence in the exclusive Vale do Lobo valley. Situated in the Algarve, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is surrounded by a verdant valley from where you can see the beach and the warm waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Characterised by elegance, charm and luxury the Ria Park Hotel & Spa offers modern comforts and amenities with vast open spaces and breathtaking views. Surrender to the delights of our Spa or discover the best golf courses situated around the hotel. Sample the finest Portuguese and International cuisine at the Terrace of the Lusitano Restaurant, or indulge in the simple pleasure of savouring your favourite drink at the Lobby Bar while watching the Ria Formosa Natural Park. With over 300 sunny days a year, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for your holidays, throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ria Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Hotel And Spa
Ria Park Hotel Almancil
Ria Park Resort
Ria Park Hotel & Spa Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ria Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.