We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant in quiet spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Malveiro

Restaurante Malveiro
Vale de Eguas N. 169, Almancil 8135 , Portugal
917 824 131
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 125 Restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The restaurant Malveiro existed for 30 years in the AlgarveGiven the specificity of our customers only serve dinner. We are open every day during the month of August. In the remaining months we closed on Sunday.We serve lunches for groups only by appointment.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in quiet spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was a restaurant that we came across by chance whilst staying in vale do lobo. We were very fortunate to get a table, as the owner advised us that they are always very busy. So please ensure to book ahead if you do go.

We quickly found out why Malveiro is so busy. Easily the nicest restaurant in the Almancil area. The service was quick, friendly and informative. They were also very child friendly and food to suit.

I enjoyed the jumbo prawn curry which was excellent. My wife, and friends had the steak which they all said was fantastic. The menu is fairly small but I would say that each item on the menu looks excellent.

The starters that they bring to the table, and the deserts were similarly excellent.

This restaurant is very well known by locals in the area and carries an excellent reputation. Cannot recommend Malveiro highly enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent all-round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Limited menu but seabass and jumbo prawn curry specialties are superb. Staff are all friendly and very good value. A little off the beaten track but well worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food but cramped and very hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Mozambique prawns are highly recommended, however prawn curry contained only aprox 8 very small shrimps. Table for our party of 8 was a very odd layout and not conducive to conversation. The food on the whole was very good, however we were only advised about the house wine and were offered no wine list. It was extremely HOT and there were no fans or air conditioning. If you want to dine here I recommend you book as several parties were turned away and go for the 10pm sitting as it will be more bearable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Mozambique prawns!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Quirky Portuguese restaurant. Food was good, my husband enjoyed 3 Mozambique prawns, while I had the fillet steak. The steak was tasty, but average. However, I did not like the fact out meal was shown to other diners before it arrived at our table ! The complimentary drink after we paid the bill was appreciated. Nice atmosphere, worth a visit, reasonable value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quirky but Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to Malviero after searching for somewhere of decent value with good food around Almacil. It seems around here you can have one but not both. Malviero was an exception to this. Good local food mixed with fruity curries on the menu sounds a bit eclectic, but somehow it works. I had braised octopus to start followed by pork loin with dates. Both were perfectly cooked and delicious.my wife had a giant Mozambique prawn followed by steak. Again the quality matched mine.
As for the quirkiness, the place is a little chaotic, no cutlery matches, they do show your food to other diners, but out of pride more than anything else.
None of that matters, in fact it actually adds to the experience as long as you view this as charming and not irritating.
One thing to note is that the pin on the Tripadvisor map is about 400yds out. You need to head up the hill from the roundabout, over the railway line and Malviero is a little further along on the left as you go up the hill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Malveiro also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Malveiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Malveiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.