We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach location, relaxed and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Restaurant

Maria's Restaurant
Praia do Poente | Dunas Douradas 8135-170, Almancil, Portugal
289358675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 128 Restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: International, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated between Vale do Lobo & Quinta Do Lago. Open everyday from 12.30. We also manage the beach concession and have sunbeds and shades for daily rental. We have a beach shack service drinks, snacks and ice cream. Reservations by phone please.
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect beach location, relaxed and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The perfect spot for a relaxed holiday meal. Super friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. Kids are welcomed and well catered for. Great menu with wonderfully fresh fish and seafood, also meat, pasta, salads and deserts to die for. The cheese cake is out of this world! Sundays offer live music but book well in advance as very popular. Be it an off the beach lunch in shorts and tee or casual smart dinner, Maria's is the place to go. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    86
    37
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Get's a little worse each year and we won't be returning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We've been going to Maria's for seven years and each year as its grown, the service especially keeps plumbing new depths. Had booked but were kept waiting for 30mins, no apology and treated like we were putting them out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great service, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Maria's. It was recommended by someone and yes, it was a very good recommendation. Service was just great. We've ordered a bottle of wine which wasn't to our taste, they brought a different one straight away without any fuss. As we were in a group, some of us still did not like the second bottle, so the waiter brought us a different bottle and offered us that he wouldn't charge the first two bottles which we already finished. We declined his offer as we thought that was too generous but that was a excellent service. Food was great, no disappointment. Fish was very fresh, desert was lovely too.
We will definitely go back next year!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

5 of us went for lunch a few days ago.

From the moment we arrived, the service was poor. We had to ask 3 times to get some drinks. When the drinks arrived they had forgot one of the drinks.

The food was mediocre. I had the calamari to start with. It arrived with no garnish. Even a leaf of lettuce would have improved its appearance.

Good location but it was hard to get a parking space.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautifully setting. Improved from previous owners. Need to step it up.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Fantastic on Sundays. Great atmosphere but food and service need to match the price tag which is west end prices.
Clean and well presented.
Still go back.
John

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Restaurant also viewed

 
Almancil, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Maria's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.