We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Chinese in Algarve ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinese Gourmet

Chinese Gourmet
Rua Casa do Povo, no 18, Almancil, Portugal
+351 289 356422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 126 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First class Chinese in Algarve ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Really excellent Chinese restaurant tucked away on a side street in Almancil. Owner and head chef, Michael is from Hong Kong and spent a lot of time in UK. The cuisine has been to some extent adapted for Western tastes but is really good. I live in China and would be happy if I could find such a consistently good and wide ranging menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 5 , two adults and 3 kids and ate here while holidaying in almancil . We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and found it very child friendly also . Service was very good and food was delicious .Would reccomend the crispy roast duck and pancakes ,and also the sizzling chicken with ginger .Will definitely return on our next holiday :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Proper Chinese dining experience, full menu great specials reasonable price well worth putting on your list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“"wow" superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This is no ordinary Chinese that you find in the algarve. This culinary delight is well worth a visit not only to sample the delights of the orient, but the overall dining experience that is provided by the hosts micheal and elda , who more than go out of there way to give diners an evening to remember. Menu is extensive even so mike the chef will go out of his way to cater for your personal taste. A must visit and look forward to our next visit

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosyth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My first time at michaels and won't be my last . Michaels a great chef . Restaurant very clean tables set up nice . Crispy duck pancakes , pork , chicken satay excellent . Followed by fresh pineapple fritters very tasty . On my return to portugal Michael I will be back my wish would be for Michael to open restaurant in Scotland. Fife please.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Gourmet also viewed

 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Chinese Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinese Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.