We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tino's Restaurante

Tino's Restaurante
Sitio do Vale formoso, Estrada de Almancil para Loule | Sitio do Vale Formoso, Almancil 8100-267, Portugal
+351 964 850 669
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 127 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Under new Ownership, the newly reopened Jardim do Vale Restaurant is now the Place to be in the Algarve, a Menu full of Fresh and Vibrant Ingredients from a very Talented and Internationaly Aclaimed Chefs. Luis & Monica have just arrived back from some 10 years in the UK with bags of experiences after Running some very Hot Spots for the Trendy Soho House Group, The Celebrity Meeting favourite, Babington House in the Beautiful Somerset area, Electric House just round the corner from Notting Hill in Portobello Road just to name a Couple. We are here to Provide for you a Place with Amazing Food, Service and much more, being it a simple cup of coffee or the Most Exuberant Wedding we are the right place and People to look after your Dreams and Wishes.Private and Secure Large Car Parking, Disable Access, Children's Play Area, Prestine Garden, Dine in the Sophisticated Restaurant or in Garden Terrace. Tuesday to Saturday Lunch Specials €10 a must TRY, Sunday Lunch is Delicious!!!
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Another visit for lunch with friends, which proved as good as ever. Great breads with balsamic oil to get us underway. We had a selection of tapas, fried squid, spicy octopus salad and prawns to start. Friends went for the squid as a stand alone dish and homemade soup. Three of us had the "dish of the day" which was roast quail and there were certainly no complaints, beautifully served with vegetables and a plum sauce. The other main course was a chicken salad. We skipped dessert and all had coffee. The meal and two litres of house wine came to €96.50. Great value when you compare it with what you you will pay at an inferior restaurant in the "Golden Triangle". The setting is fantastic, sat in the garden under good sized umbrellas combined with very attentive service.
We look forward to our next visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardimdovale, Proprietário at Tino's Restaurante, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Jon M,

Thank you so very much for your kind review,

We look forward to your visit,

Kindest regards,
LUIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“like the curate's egg good in parts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We decided to celebrate my wife's birthday together with friends at the Jardim do Vale. I will start at the beginning.The wine list appeared to be printed in in an indecipherable Russian script and was almost impossible to read. I went to the bar in an attempt to make sense of things. I asked to try the house white. This was vinegary and sour. Pressing on, next I tried the wine from the 'pump'. This was was little more than fizzy sugary water. In desperation I choose a dry white from the Douro. This turned out to be acidic and unpleasant. The wine list needs urgent attention! I ordered the crispy chilli squid for starters. I imagined this might be flash fried and chard served with a sweet chilli sauce. Unfortunately not! It turned out to be deep fried an covered in bread crumbs. The squid might as well have been pieces of cardboard and it was impossible to tell that it was squid at all. It was served with an avocado puree which didn't really add anything. My wife ordered goats cheese with beetroot and fig. Well that's exactly what is was, a small hard round piece of goats cheese, a fig cut in half and a slice of beetroot! I had imagined this might be a lovely melted piece of goats cheese perhaps served with a raspberry puree. On to the mains! I ordered duck confit. The duck was crisp on the outside and succulent on the inside. Perfect. The selection of vegetables were cooked al dente and the presentation was excellent. However, what spoilt it was the thick rather sickly balsamic sauce which didn't go with the duck at all. What it needed was a 'tart' sauce to counterpoint the richness of the duck. My wife ordered the Turbot. Again the presentation was first class, but the potato gratin was simply slices of potato in cream, without the crisp top and rich cheesy sauce one would expect. However, the desserts were wonderful. So, I am afraid the latest reincarnation of the Jardim do Vale is 'work in progress' The outside space is lovely. Needs to improve.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardimdovale, Owner at Tino's Restaurante, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Geoffrey & Wife,
Thank you 1st of all for visiting our Jardim do Vale & for taking your time to write a review about us being it constructive or not...
Both me and my wife feel terrible that we didn't fulfil your expectations, being our family business & our absolute passion we apologise sincerly to yourselves, we do our best to offer a Product that is good value, different, fresh and in a clear and concise script that delivers consistently great Quality.
We are even more sorry that we could not detect from yourselves that something was not as you had imagined it to be. We just wished you would have told us before your personal preferences I would've given you some suggestions on the wine to choose that would have been spot on to your taste, we have a Wine List that has a wide variety of different styles & tastes to help us be able to be more approachable to various tastes, and to have you leave happy and post great review instead of leaving very complementary, thankfull of our Special touches to your celebration and happy of your dinner because it was 'quite superb' your words and then a review that tells something diferent, we would have done our very best to try and create this dishes you described as what you expected to see after reading our menu thougroughly, as they are not in any of our menus on offer.

With kindest regards and respect,
Luis & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome and a great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I'm glad we persevered in finding this place and dismissed the couple of bad reviews we found on TA. They must be sour grapes (?) as we couldn't fault our night.

We got slightly lost but managed to phone the restaurant and when we arrived the manager was at the door waiting for us and led us to a perfect table for two outside. As we sat down we heard 2 tables re-booking for their last night of their holiday...always a good sign!

The staff couldn't be more attentive. Cocktails were a lovely aperitif, starters were just the right amount (sharing tapas for two) veggie main was perfect (vegetables with Parmesan and pesto) and managed to squeeze in a desert and very strong Irish coffee (expertly made). Menu is limited but we were told it changes often and there are always specials available.

Best meal we've had since we got here. Great venue and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardimdovale, Owner at Tino's Restaurante, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Karen H & husband, thank you so very much for your kind words and for visiting us at our Restaurant, we wish you all the best and hope to see you again in your next visit!!!
Kindest,
Luis & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, tasty, food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Lovely meal at Jardim do Vale last night. Good quality 'Vinho Verde' (Portuguese 'green wine'. Try if you haven't already), tasty starters, tasty dinner (esp veggie option) and delicious desert. Attentive, friendly staff and reasonably priced. Exceed expectation. Earlier poor reviews are unjustified. You'll have a memorable evening here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardimdovale, Owner at Tino's Restaurante, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Sir Beagan,
Thank you so very much for your kind words in your review, it is the upmost result for us to have happy guests after visiting us and to have a review like yours is like icing in the cake, we look forward to your visit when your next in our Sunny Algarve

Kindest s,
Luis & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Improving, getting back to its past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

After changing hands again, this is now back to being a recommended place to eat. Smallish menu but all freshly cooked to a high standard. Will come back again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardimdovale, Owner at Tino's Restaurante, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear OldKJ,
Thank you kindly for your kind review on your experience with us, our returning home was with the goal of bringing the Jardim do Vale Restaurant back to it's Glorious Past, we work hard like everyone does, but our Passion to provide everyone with a Superb Quality Product at Great Value is our Tool to hopefully reach the goal and with your support we will succeed!

We wish you all the best and look forward to your next visit,

Kindest,
Luis & Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tino's Restaurante also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Vale do Lobo, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Tino's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tino's Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.