We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiban

Ichiban
Rua Comercio 29,30-E, Almancil, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 128 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: http://www.pai.pt/restaurante-japones-ichiban-almancil-8135-124/
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

went to this restaurant on last night of our trip. It was very quiet on the night we tried and although it does not look up to much for the outside it was immaculately clean inside and an excellent dining experience. We do not really like sushi but had beef and chicken on the tapenyaki it was delicious and the chef was very entertaining. it is run by a young couple and is a hidden treasure well worth a visit. I will definitely return if I am ever in the area again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A restaurant you HAVE to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Simple put this is a gem of a restaurant which is honestly priced sushi with out all the ridiculous frills that normally accompanies it.

I go again and again to eat in or get take-away and have enjoyed some cracking long evenings there with friends made even better by the chef who puts on a great and interactive show whilst cooking various dishes.

A very sweet couple that run it and go as much as I can to support them.

Ultimately I have not been disappointed and neither have any of my friends that I have taken there and think that is the most important thing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Good Japanese restaurant. Worth going to. We went 2 nights during our 1 week holiday. I'm very fussy about freshness of the fish and this was good quality. If you like tapenyake this is a good place to go as well. It is a young couple who own the restaurant and the service is very friendly..oh and the beer is cold :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ichiban was recommended to me by a family friend. Having lived over here for most of my childhood life this is not a place I would go past and think 'oh that looks nice'. Having known about this restaurant for the past 3 months i think my family and I have been probably nearly 20 times. With fantastic value for money and lovely friendly service I can not recommend this place enough. I wish the lovely owners the best of luck - They thoroughly deserve it as they work so hard.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, really friendly service, great value. Sit at the teppanyaki table to see all the flourishes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The only drawback if our visit to Ichiban was that it was incredibly quiet the night we visited. However we still really enjoyed our meal and chatted to the very friendly proprietors. The food was all really delicious and authentic. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Ichiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.