We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever again !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Figueiral

Figueiral
Rua Cristovao Pires Norte 8135-117, Almancil, Portugal
+351 289395558
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 128 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $39
Cuisines: Brazilian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Jantar, Fechado ao domingo
Ferrerias
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Never ever again !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After eating here on 4 previous occasions we returned with our friends for dinner. There were 8 of us in total, 4 adults and 4 children, 8 yrs. 9 yrs. 4 yrs. and 3 yrs., we all ordered the picanha which is barbecued steak on skewers served at the table. The owner took the order and as always we paid full price for the adults, half price for the older children and no charge for the toddlers (on her recommendation) the food was excellent as usual. When we received the bill we were surprised to see that we had been charged for 4 half portions as well as 4 whole portions. Upon querying the bill with the owner we were informed that our younger children had eaten a lot of steak so in her opinion it warranted the extra charge!!!! My partner discussed with the owner that this was not what was agreed at the time of ordering and was unacceptable. Very hostile attitude from the owner which ruined a lovely evening. The total bill was €180 and the sad thing is that we would have left a € 20 tip which would have covered the ridiculous claims by the owner that the 3 and 4 year old had eaten too much steak. Needless to say we won't be returning or recommending Figueral to our friends and neighbours in Portugal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Figueiral is a Brasilian Restaurant run by Claudia and her husband (the chef in the kitchen). Picanha - roast rump and brisket of beef is their specialty. It comes with Feijoada (black bean stew), rice vegetables, tomato salad and a variety of other side dishes and they keep serving until you are satisfied. A great experience and great quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great family run restaurant.
The food is always great. The starter of Goats cheese, apple and walnuts is absolutely out of this world, I have tried to re-create it at home but failed.
The steak on the sword is a great spectacle but also very tasty.
Will be visiting again soon

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ate here this evening, whilst on vacation in Quinta Do Lago. This is the fourth time I have dined here with my boyfriend and we try to come back every year when in the country. The steak is fantastic and I have eaten at many steak restaurants - such as Gaucho and I would definitely say this steak lives up to their standards! It is quite expensive for Portugal, but I guess that is the price you pay for amazing steak. I will be back in the future and would definitely recommend this restaurant to all families and couples!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrerias
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Steak to die for ( or kill for )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We absolutely love the food in this restaurant, we have eaten here 4 or 5 times and every time the food is excellent. The steak is melt in the mouth, the side dishes are also excellent. Our 4 year old son is not a great meat eater but always eats lots of steak here. The atmosphere is relaxed and you really do need to take a full appetite. In the summer you are seated in the beautiful garden and in the colder months there are 2 lovely rooms inside. The food is great value and you really can eat as much as you like. Looking forward to next time

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figueiral also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Figueiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Figueiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.