We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dona Filipa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dona Filipa Hotel to your Saves list
Dona Filipa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-034, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just been back to this hotel after a break of several years very pleasantly surprised as last visit it was a bit tired .the recent work and upgrade has really worked it is now a truly 5 star hotel again the rooms are immaculate the staff were very friendly and efficient there was good parking ,although I didn't eat in reataurent the buffet breakfast overlooking the pool was first class the snack menu also by the pool was also good .one of the best things was the view from the pool sunbed area due to the hotel being high up it had. A great view and also usually had a very pleasant cooling breeze

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view it is really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fantastic hotel, fantastic resort and fantastic golf course. This was the fifth year running that our golf party of eight has stayed at the Dona Filipa in Vale do Lobo. Due to the French air traffic strike we missed flying out for our first night but did managed to fly out the next day so still managed to get in a four night stay and played four rounds of golf and I can safely say that we will be returning again next year.
The hotel is spotless and the staff are fabulous and cannot do enough to make sure your stay goes perfectly.
Prior to finding this gem we used to stay in Vilamoura marina area but the Dona Filipa hotel and Vale do Lobo estate are in a different class.
The hotel has just been refurbished which to be honest means it's been re decorated and had a few cosmetic changes made but it is now looking lovely and fresh. On the day we left we were informed that a new treatment spa had been opened although there is no gymnasium on site.
Because of the many different bars and great restaurants (which include Italians, oriental, Mexican and seafood restaurants) that are just a 2 minute stroll from the lobby, we have never actually eaten in the hotel apart from for snacks by the pool and breakfast which I will say is very good, especially the fresh omelette station.
The hotel is attached to the San Lorenzo golf course which is a fifteen minute drive away and is in great condition at the moment and has some truly stunning holes. There is a scheduled free minibus shuttle that can carry eight people to and from San Lorenzo although it is on a first come first served basis.
Other fantastic courses just a stones throw away are the Vale do Lobo Royal course and Ocean course which are only a ten minute uphill walk away and The Quinta do Lago courses which are a 5 minute taxi drive away.
Finally there is also the lovely beach which again is only a five minute stroll from the lobby, past the bars and restaurants that overlook the sea.

Room Tip: There are true sea facing rooms that offer good views although some on the right hand side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Having booked to stay with 17 golf buddies, I was somwhat disappointed to subsequently read some pretty poor reviews about Dona Filipa on Trip Advisor.

However, my fears were unfounded as it was really very good.

The staff there are very helpful and clearly are concerned that their guests have a pleasant stay. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We came to the Dona Filipa mutliple times during our holiday as it is where our friends got married! The day was perfect with one very minor unfortunate mishap where the cake melted a tiny bit from the beautiful sun but everything else was perfect!
The food was amazing, the buffet that was put on and the canapes were all brilliant! The puddings were to die for and the drinks were flowing! During the meal the waiters and waitresses were incredibly attentive making sure our water was full and our wine topped up.
We played the mini golf one day which was really fun and a great laugh was had by all!
Highly recomed females do not wear heels to the breeze bar as you will get stuck in the decking!!
Monty's is great fun for a dance and for food! We have visited this hotel for cocktails on a previous stay in portugal and do not have a bad word to say about it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My second visit to the Dona Felipa with my dad to play golf.. We stayed in one of the rooms that is due to be refurbished. It was still a great room with everyhing we needed - decent sized bathroom with separate WC which was really handy. Stayed for three nights and played four rounds of golf. Breakfast was superb everyday and we then got picked up by Denis to go to San Lorenzo or Pinheiros Altos (depending on where we were playing). Denis is a great guy who is very friendly (in a genuine way). Very knowledgeable about football especially Portugese and Benfica in particular. His english is better than most english people which heps too! Gave us great recommendations on where to watch the World cup. I'm a big fan of the Dona Felipa and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is a gem, great location - 200 yards from the beach where you can get a massage! Half a dozen good and varied restaurants within 150 yards plus a nightclub/bar. Shuttle service to golf courses in the locality plus good food and friendly service all make this hotel a great choice. They are refurbishing the hotel now so prices are set t o rise once it has been completed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a great location especially if you are interested in golf.The hotel has lotsof character, accomodation is excellent, friendly and helpful staff and food is very good.A shuttle bus is provided to transfer golfers to the course and the drivers are all friendly and knowledgeable

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dona Filipa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Filipa Hotel

Address: Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#5 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dona Filipa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic, located a mere 100 metres from the beach, and the proud owner of the renown San Lorenzo Golf Course, Dona Filipa Hotel welcomes all, with a touch of glamour and the essence of true quality and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dona Filipa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Filipa And San Lorenzo Golf Resort
Dona Filipa & San Lorenzo Golf Hotel Almancil
Meridien Almancil
Le Meridien Almancil
Almancil Le Meridien
Dona Filipa Hotel Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dona Filipa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.