We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paixa

Paixa
Quadradinhos, Lote 52 (Vale Do Lobo) | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-034, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 126 Restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is on the Vale do Lobo resort in Algarve, Portugal. Excellent restaurant with incredible wine collection.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Whilst I hate to give a review that could harm a business. It gives me no pleasure in advising people that the food was uninspired and had few redeeming features. The waiters were surly and unhelpful in choosing wine from a very extensive list . The design of the restaurant is modern and welcoming but the overall experience very disappointing in an area that has an abundance of alternatives.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algarve
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tapas with style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It's not just the Spanish who do great tapas. This is the ideal place to sample some of the best of Portuguese food and wine, in a chic modern setting that's a world away from many of the traditional (and sometimes very old-fashioned) restaurants and adegas in the Algarve. Let the waiters guide you through the variety of choices and you'll never be satisfied with just chicken piri-piri or Mateus Rosé again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ate here twice in a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We liked this place enough to go back again before the end of our stay. Very nice decor, quite different from the other restaurants in the area. The food was very good and interesting, they serve lots of small tapas style dishes. The staff were excellent and very informative. All in all a great place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A superb tapas restaurant with bags of style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

If you're unsure of tapas don't be! Paixa is very upscale, a lovely modern restaurant with excellent food and service. You just have to make sure you don't order too much, we did but it was all great. Excellent value, per-drinks, meal, and after dinner drink for around 135 euros. Although this is tapas it is very smart, so dress up a little, definitely one restaurant to include on your evenings out on your holiday. Service and food was exceptional. The restaurant was full, on a Wednesday evening so you should book.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Upscale Tapas Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The decor of this restaurant is elegantly understated. It is smart. The choice of tapas is huge. Really something for everyone. Our waiter was very helpful. We were a party of three, and he suggested that we order two or three dishes each. We started with three oysters each, served on a high stand, over ice, and they were very fine oysters. Among other dishes we had were smoked salmon, fried quails' eggs with minute pieces of sausage chopped in, and a portion of chips to go with them. (Sausage, egg and chips.) It was fun food, and a great way to experience so many different flavours. Would go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paixa also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Paixa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paixa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.