We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable but unremarkable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alambique

Alambique
Estrada da Quinta do Lago | 8135-160, Almancil, Portugal
+351 289 394 579
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 127 restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Reliable but unremarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place seems to get some rave reviews and true it does have a dependable but rather uninspiring menu. This was our second visit , the first in the summer also being a little underwhelming. The staff are fine and theres nothing actually wrong with it but would I go back - probably not

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    125
    42
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“gastronomical delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from a long weekend in the Algarve .This restaurant was recommended by the owner of a local beachside restaurant .We were in no way disappointed, from arrival on the red carpet to our dessert and departure our experience was 5star.Nothing was too much trouble, my husband not being able to decide on which sauce to accompany his steak was offered both .The food was excellent ,theres usually something to pick up on however small, but we couldn t find a negative .The staff are all efficient and courteous and we had a very warm welcome.The surroundings are both comfortable and elegant.We would go back without hesitation and recommend to our numerous friends that travel to this area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to Alambique a few years ago and were looking forward to our next dining experience there. It was a wonderful surprise. The food was very good, staff was excellent. A nice Algarvian atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Its a must.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great restuarant, comfortable surroundings and great food! Great during the summer, a pre dinner drink in the garden and then to eat outside!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almancil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

very good value for what you get, a nice atmosfere and a very good meal a lovely welcome.
very central between quinta do lago and vale de lobo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alambique also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Alambique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alambique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.