We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a great time !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Julia's Restaurant and Beach Bar

Julia's Restaurant and Beach Bar
Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
+351289396512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 125 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Portuguese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Julia's restaurant and beach bar.The original beach restaurant.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“we had a great time !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just back for our holiday and thought we should say that the old saying- "you cant please every one all the time " stands for this restaurant. We went on our first day straight from the airport for a late lunch and spent every lunch there during our stay.
Great food great staff [ even when we turned up at 1pm no reservation and a bank holiday] still managed to find us a table.
I recommend you go and make your own mind up , oh and dont believe everything you read people always love a good moan !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    106
    48
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Julia's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great restaurant, wonderful food and very friendly staff. Eat in or out, the views are amazing. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Although the food was ok, a few things spoilt our evening. Cafeteria style atmosphere. Value of the food and being over charged for wine not consumed. Captive beach audience is no excuse. .. Not a birthday meal to remember

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Abysmal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to " the golden triangle" for the past 15 years & the highlight of our holiday has always been our annual pilgrimage to "Julia's " for a family dinner to watch the sun go down whilst having a special meal
Until this year
Arriving in good time & although we were unable to book a table outside, in previous years we have had a table next to the windows although not as good as outside is normally acceptable
Not this year the only table available was under the TV which was showing the live international football match between England & Scotland
At that point we should of left unfortunately we didn't
The menus arrived we were asked what we would like to drink whilst perusing the menu
I ordered a beer the ladies elected for a bottle of red wine the designated driver had to make do with a diet coke
We also requested a bottle of still water
The drinks arrived & after the ritual wine tasting we proceeded to order our starters & main course
After the water was poured the bottle(plastic) was left on the table & not in an ice bucket which for a resturant that charges "fine dining" prices would be expected
In previous years we have noticed that the menu is starting to look tired
All 4 adults went for the goats cheese what a rip off €13.50 for a small circle of toasted. Goats cheese on a few rocket leaves sprinkled sparsely with a few hazelnuts & croutons

I ordered a fillet steak medium rare I got a well done one the rest of our group were equally unimpressed with their mains

All this whilst we had people looking over our shoulders watching the football
It was more like having a meal in a pub rather than a resturant
I ordered a second beer twice it never arrived
When we were asked whether we had enjoyed our meal we informed the staff that no we hadn't
To which she gave us a half hearted apology & 5% discount on our food bill of just under €200 for4 adults & 2 children
To add insult to injury when I checked the bill I was being charged for the beer I never had
We unanimously agreed that this will be the last time we ever go to Julia's & I would advise anyone to give it a wide berth

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julia's Restaurant and Beach Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Paul,
thank you for your review.
Your preamble makes interesting reading. The drinks that you ordered and, yes, water does actually arrive in plastic bottles, were delivered to your table. One of your party had to make do with a diet coke , you say.. Is that because we didn't have coke zero or pepsi max in stock? There are plenty of soft drink options available to all.
I think that the main informative point you are trying to make here is that if you do not make a reservation for a very busy restaurant in the middle of August and just walk in at 8pm expecting the staff to find you a table then I apologise because it is highly unlikely that we will find one.
The only table available was indeed,as you correctly point out,close to a tv, where it appeared that the customers were enjoying themselves during their evening out . We offered you other tables but there was a queue of customers ahead of you.

In respect of your bill of euro 200 for 4 adults,2 children, 3 bottles of wine, 2 courses I think you will find that it could be perceived to be expensive when one can easily pick up a 2 bedroom apartment in the Kings road,Chelsea for around fifty thousand pounds.

Regards,
Charles Charlie Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Atmosphere, great food & what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Julia's for my daughter's birthday and I couldn't have chosen a better location. I booked online and received very prompt responses to my queries. We got a taxi (recommended at weekends as parking is difficult due to the beach being packed) and we were seated at a lovely outside table overlooking the length of the beach. What a view! The service was excellent and the food very tasty. I could easily have stayed there for a week! We organised a cake for my daughter and the singer who performs at weekends led the whole restaurant in a verse of Happy Birthday. It was a lovely lovely day. I can't recommend Julia's enough and I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's Restaurant and Beach Bar also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Julia's Restaurant and Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julia's Restaurant and Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.