We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run restaurant - still as good as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Golfe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casa do Golfe
8135, Almancil | Algarve, Almancil, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 128 Restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Casa do Golfe is a very classy restaurant. We have visited several times in all seasons over the past three years. Service is of a very high standard and staff are friendly and professional. In warmer season you can eat inside or outside on the patio. Situated between Vale do Lobo and Quinta do Lago, it is on its own grounds and the restaurant is very pretty and very memorable.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great family run restaurant - still as good as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have been going to Casa do Golfe (now Casa do Quinta) for around 15 years, firstly with our two young (now teenage) children but this time just the two of us. The restaurant has been constantly changing over the years and has recently been upgraded in terms of decor and the terrace extended. We had anothe rgreat meal, the lamb chops and steaks are to die for, with an ever changing wine list that always has some good value wines. Jose and his family have been running the restaurant for years and provide a friendly touch to a visit with an after dinner drink offered (try the local ameringa with lime, fantastic). We would always fit a visit to Casa do Quinta on any trip, a firm favourite!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Once again excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Been coming here for years and always a favourite. Just love John dory with banana. Always made welcome and glass of port to end meal makes it perfect. Extended terrace really good, more room. Prices have gone up with new name but still worth it for excellent food and service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GOES FROM STRENGTH TO STRENGTH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Went last week, as consistently good as ever. Wonderful rack of lamb and profiterole cake. Now Casa de Quinta, but still ran by the same family. In the last 10 years I have been coming I have seen changes, the decor, the the new outside area, the new bar, but the staff have not changed, other than the lad of the owner now serves, got his dads nose, and the menu hasn't changed with the excellent quality of food on offer. I am normally in Portugal at Easter but not this year and I shall miss my usual second visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“an absolute gem for food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The name has recently been changed to CASA Da QUINTA following a complete makeover. Family owned and run so you are being served by the owner or his family. That is the best kind of service. The menu is very wide with big choice of starters at various prices, and lots of meat and fish. A good wine list in a range of price. The top wines of Portugal are more favourably priced here than elsewhere. In summer -or a hot late september evening as my last visit- the outdoor terrace is very well appointed, having been just upgraded. In winter a roaring log fire indoors. You can't be disappointed. I like the pears cooked in red wine for afters !

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently great food,friendly and efficient staff,superb host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have been visiting Casa De golfe every year since 1994 and are never disappointed
with our experience there.
Polite and efficient staff and hosted by Jose and Maria,who treat us like family friends.
Food is always spot on and the wine list is extensive and well priced.
Simply Superb.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Golfe also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Casa do Golfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Golfe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.