We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fat Frog - CLOSED

The Fat Frog
Vale Formoso n.0 24, | 8135 - Almancil, Almancil, Portugal
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Faro, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Closed down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has closed down and has been closed for months. Not sure how anyone has reviewed it recently. It is not possible they have eaten here for most of this year.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    25
    15
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fixed price, small menu. Good quality International food. Decent wine list at a good price. Well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food but .......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Fat Frog is wonderful - we've been several times and the food is always excellent and beautifully presented. On that basis we would highly recommend it to anyone. The only thing is .... well ... the proprietor is just soo irritating that on our most recent trip to Portugal we were going to go and then decided we just couldn't face it and sadly we know quite a few other people who've said exactly the same thing. They don't have menus as such but everything is written on a blackboard and most people can read perfectly well - but the proprietor insists on standing at your table and reading out the entire menu (yes- all of it! - quite a performance) which is so irritating when you've usually already decided what you want or have just heard him do exactly the same thing with the table right next to you. We've no idea why he does this - it's so unnecessary and spoils what is otherwise an excellent restaurant. So please Mr Fat Frog, if you read this, please stop doing this - we love your food but we're not stupid and it really is so irritating!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Place but don't tell everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a small restaurant on the outskirts of town but the food is of superb quality. It is a french brasserie and bar in Portugal run by a Scotsman but the mix works. As an added bonus to a dwindling portion of the population the bar area but not the restaurant is equipped with ash trays.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great food, but limited wine choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good food, lobster, steaks and deserts, but frogs legs should be fried and crispy and not braised and slimy. not cheap, but neither is any restaurant in almancil.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Frog also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fat Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.