We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Grissino

Ristorante Grissino
Rua da Republica, 32 P-8135, Almancil, Portugal
289356562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 125 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An excellent professional training with some of the best Michelin Star Chefs of Italy paired with Andrea's talent, is the special treat that awaits you if you chose to visit Ristorante Grissino: Andrea's delicious and beautiful creations are inspired by the traditional cuisine from Calabria and the Toscana.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We having been going to the Algarve for approximately 25 years and for about the last 5 years have gone for lunch to Grissino's in Almancil since we found it one rainy day whilst out looking for something to do away from the beach. The food is outstanding, the service is wonderful and the value for money is unbelievable - ten euros a head for three courses. There are usually three options per course and a complimentary 'amuse bouche' provided whist your food is being freshly prepared. This restaurant is a must if you are in the area - a delightful place to enjoy Italian food in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“True Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have searched for a true italian restaurant within the algarve for some time now as within a two week break or longer you do require a change from the wonderful portugese food and we fell on this restaurant by chance as we were buying wine from the Wine Shop (on the same road) a fab shop by the way! when we were introduced to the owner of Grissino restaurant and what a lovely man with his italian charm he was, we had espresso in his restaurant during the day and looked over the menu and told him we would return tomorrow we did not book a time but as he promised us a table we turned up at 9pm the following evening and he had reserved us a table it was very busy with every table taken and from the moment we sat down the food was exquisite, tasty, fresh and true italian with an italian owner, his son in the kitchen and wife front of house we thought we were back in Rome! just a charming small restaurant with lots of character and fabulous wine selection, we told him we loved antonori wines which he had a bottle in his collection just brilliant. We were so full as we had not only 3 courses but gifts from the chef also we literally could not move at the end of it but we visit the algarve at least 5 times a year and we will definetly be back, a lovely evening with great food and wine and service which was just 5 star.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Italian in Portugal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A small Italian restaurant on a side street with a neon outside sign. A welcoming host who was determined to serve you with what he considered best - and he wasn't wrong either. No pizza, which was a surprise for and Italian restaurant. The anti pasta was a treat with cappacio of meats in sauce, asparagus, almost pizza on breads, coronation chicken (strange one), salads and bread sticks. A large plate of spaghetti frutti de mare for main was very pleasant but lacked clams and mussels, although in fairness the menu didn't promise them either. A pleasant, cosy ambience and at 40 euros each (with much good wine consumed and coffee) not too bad on the value front. The kitchen was visible (just) from the restaurant and looked well organised and clean - a rare commodity - and a great night was enjoyed by all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner around the world
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Intimate Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What the restaurante Grissino serves is quite simply Italian food done brilliantly well, which is possibly something to do with Andrea's Italian adventure? Though, a meal here is not simply about the food, but the warmth of both the decor and Piero, the restaurants charming owner. Here the family have built something special, a superior dining experience that is propped up by delicious plates such as truffle ravioli, or veal escallops (something my fellow dinner chose for their main course and made me extremely jealous), and Piero who is partial to persuading dinners into choosing the the dessert 'do dia' (quite frankly, I am glad he did). I spent a lovely evening with two special people, made all the better by great food and atmosphere, graci Grissino.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Real Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Since Piero's son is back from his training in Italy, the Chef and owner has left the kitchen to Andrea. This change of generations has opened the way to a new era of finesse at Ristorante Grissino. It's location in the center of Almancil (opposite the post office) is very favourable as after 7pm there is plenty of free parking space. The very cosy ambience and the delicious real Italian food are being rounded off perfectly by the rich wine list which includes not only good Portuguese wines, but also an excellent choice of Italian reds and whites.
Don't miss out to make a reservation as the place is very sought after and you probably won't get a table. Besides, if you call a day prior to your reservation order some Focaccia bread. It is home made and comes warm with a wonderful tuna dip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Grissino also viewed

 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Ristorante Grissino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Grissino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.