We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pequeno Mundo

Pequeno Mundo
Caminho das Pereiras,, Almancil, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 126 Restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Phone no 00351 289 399 866‎
Melton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant over many years and simply love the experience. Staff have obviously changed over the years but the maitre-de remains a constant and he works on ensuring everything is to your satisfaction. Food is very well cooked as you would expect from fine cuisine. Price is higher than average but reflects the quality of the food and is good value if you compare against other restaurants who try to compete at this level. We simply have a great experience every time we go and will without a second thought continue to do so.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very nice, but quite expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A nice restaurant to visit in this area. Some interesting dining areas, with a great menu and service. Although very good, it is a little expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in the area, but it needs a facelift!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I regularly visit this restaurant, at least twice a year for the last 15 years, I think a recent low budget trip to Quinta do Lago was the first holiday I've ever had in the area & not eaten there! I love it, the food is always consistently great, although I do tend to eat similar food every time I visit. Their mussel soup is to die for, the chateaubriand superb, their prawn & mango curry for main excellent. Profiteroles or raspberry croustade for dessert & I'm a very happy camper! Service is quite cool, but I think that's just the way they are, I would not put it down to rudeness personally. Wine list is good, but on a few occasions recently the wine we wanted was out of stock & we ended up spending more than was planned. (Almost €300 for dinner for 2 on my last visit, two days later visiting the fabulous Vila Vita Park in Herdade dos Grous & getting accommodation, wine, lunch & dinner for the same price). It was our choice however to drink a hundred odd euro bottle of wine, mind you! I do feel though that the place needs a lick of paint, some new tablecloths and chairs and just a little love as it feels a little worn out. With or without a facelift, I'll be back, and will probably still order the same as always, but maybe go a little cheaper on the wine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“can't wait to go back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

.. recommended this restaurant by my son when we were in Vilamoura in August 2012 and can't recommend it enough. Everything was perfect from the food to the service to the ambience. Well worth the taxi fare and I will certainly go back if I am in Portugal again

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“A SPLENDID PLACE FOR A "SURPRISE" PARTY !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A group of us went here to celebrate my wifes Birthday , on reflection I wish we had invited her too . We ate in the Courtyard which is a delightful setting and my initial concern that it was going to be horrifically expensive was mollified when I read the Menu, it's pricey but not rip off pricey. Feeling more relaxed I phoned Erica and asked her to join us.Having her Birthday Party without her didn't seem fair and more importantly I had noticed that they had Chateaubriand on the Menu and I needed someone to share with ! It was well worth the cost of sending a taxi for her as the pink succulant Beef just melted in my mouth it was so tender .The whole Meal was splendid and everyone enjoyed their various choices.Naturally we told Erica that it was a surprise Party so I hope she doesn't read this > but if your in Portugal and in the money this place is worth a visit

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pequeno Mundo also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Pequeno Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pequeno Mundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.