We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pig & Whistle

Pig & Whistle
Main Street towards Faro, Almancil 8135, Portugal
+351 289 395216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 125 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Place is cosy, food really nice, I had the calves liver and it was lovely. Only downside is they only serve San Miguel beer, need to widen the choice

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    32
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Back again to this lovely little family restaurant, its a quaint little restaurant which is not pretentious and serves very high quality food, fresh and full of goodness! The chef is always very accommodating and although chips were not on the menu - we asked if it was possible for the children to have chips, not a problem! This is the second time we've been here on our recent visit to the Algarve and the quality and welcome were as ever first class. If you want posh surroundings and waiters falling all over you, with exceptionally high prices for mediocre food, then don't come here! Go flaunt yourself in those pathetic over priced establishments - there are plenty around this area. But, for good food at reasonable prices this is the place to go. Give it a try, you won't regret it!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Went on the last night of our holiday after reading some of the reviews on here. If you want top notch food served in a nice air conditioned 'space' full of no ambiance but with a huge bill and arrogant staff, then there a thousand restaurants on the Algarve to look after you.
However, if you want the top notch food served in a cosy, friendly, relaxed atmosphere, by smiling staff who will then present you with a very reasonable bill, then this is the place for you. I know where I'd rather be, and on a warm night wearing shorts and a shirt the P&W is it!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go there for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Having seen many 'rave' reviews for the "Pig & Whistle" we decided to go there recently for the first time.

Depending on your view this place is best described as either cosy or cramped. The premises are small, a limited number of tables are spaced closely together, and a warm October evening meant that the restaurant was very 'sticky' inside when we dined there.

The saving grace is the food. The menu is not extensive but our dinner choices were exceedingly well cooked and presented by attentive staff and at a price that represents good value for money.

Though not entirely sure why the "Pig & Whistle" is currently rated #1 from reviews by other contributors we will most likely give it another try in the future.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tiny poky restaurant in need of a refurb”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Tiny, poky little restaurant seriously in need of a refurb. Warm October night diners inside - no air conditioning and it was stifling. We were seated in a small poky room / area to rear of restaurant. Tables were all relatively close together and atmosphere was subdued. Door was open and one fan in operation - very uncomfortable. Creaky old wooden chairs not like the photos of front of restaurant on their facebook page. Apalling sound system blasting out terrible ancient music from tiny old speakers that should not have been turned up so loud. Welcome was average and we ordered 2 G&Ts which were very nice. Very difficult to talk without shouting due to the noise from speakers blasting out. Hubbie asked for the toilet and was shown OUTSIDE! I laughed - it was like a comedy and had that feeling that perhaps we would be better off somewhere else. Hubbie came back from toilet and said LET'S GO. Great minds think alike - there are lovely restaurants in the area so why sit in such below standard surroundings. The menu interested me, it is mid-priced and the food that was being served did look good but we were very uncomfortable in such primitive surroundings - no air con - really! So we paid for the drink and left before ordering - that is a first unfortunately as the menu and food did look good.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig & Whistle also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Pig & Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig & Whistle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.