We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a pity!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Couleur France - CLOSED

Couleur France
Vale de Eguas, Almancil 8135-033, Portugal
+351 289 399 515
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Its a pity!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a beautifully built and decorated restaurant. Beware that it is only a fixed price (€35) menu, which you will not be told when you book. The selection is very good, albeit the portion of turbot with a €4-50 supplement was a very small morsel. Many items have an additional supplement varying from €4 to €11. I found it odd that there still was a further charge of €3 per person for the unrequested bread/butter covert. Very mean! Overall the food was very good, the staff pretty dull and there appeared to be no proprietor/manager on duty. Nice live music by sax player but tables in outdoor area poorly arranged with two out of our party of three looking into the dark. Despite the wonderful surroundings and music, it lacked ambience. Bill for our party of three including one bottle of house wine (€16-50) a hefty €158. Still worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    39
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
“Another first class evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Couleur France just gets better and better. We were a party of 16, catered for on two separate tables and the service, food and atmosphere were second to none. I recall saying this last year, the year before and the year before that but I will say it again, this is the best restaurant on the Algarve. I wish we had one in Cheshire!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Four of us went early in the evening around 7.30, place quiet but then picked up, good mix of people.5 course meal costs 35 euro and we all enjoyed our meals, house wine is also reasonable and very drinkable.Nice choices on the menu and food is very nicely presented and tastes great, staff very friendly and efficient.We will certainly be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had last eaten at Couleur France 9 years ago when my husband thought that the meal he had was one of the best ever. We were therefore very keen to revisit it when we went back to the Algarve this month.
We were not disappointed. Everything about the place has been so well thought out and is so stylish. The service was immaculate and yet friendly. The menu offered an excellent choice and the food did not disappoint. We thought that the fixed price of 35 euros with small supplements for certain dishes was excellent value for three courses plus a taster and a sorbet particularly bearing in mind the care that had been taken in both the preparation and the presentation of the dishes. The following evening we ate at Alambique which had been a favourite of our family for many years. While the food there was good and plentiful it was no where near as skilful or creative as at Couleur France while being more expensive and not such a treat.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Looks like I am out on a limb here given all the 5 star reviews...... To get the negatives out of the way - I felt the drinks service once we sat at the table could have been better (neither of us were asked what we wanted and had to call someone over - after that we were not asked again) and I felt the €35 set menu had too many options which had a supplement of €6 on them

On the plus side we were greeted by name when we walked in and had a lovely drink outside (the bar area is lovely and they have done everything they can to screen out traffic noise)and the waiter and waitress looking after the food side were really good so perhaps it was just the drinks waiter who was busy! My main course was lovely (black pork)

Perhaps it was just because everything had been so perfect last time we visited (May 2012) that I'm a bit disappointed this time. But still worth 4 stars and would recommend a visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Couleur France also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couleur France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.