We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dunas Douradas Beach Club to your Saves list
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Sitio do Garrao, Almancil 902-8135, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Almancil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This development is stunning. Pure luxury. We've stayed here as a family three times in the last four years and we've booked for 2014 as well. On each occasion we've stayed in three bed apartments which are all very spacious and finished to the highest standard (which you would probably expect as the apartments were selling for in excess of £1miliion when new). All the apartments have good outside space whether you are ground floor or first floor and come with sun loungers, outside grills / bbqs and hot tubs (ground floor only). Dunas Douradas is a gated development with private beach club and pool for residents. The security does make you feel reassuringly safe. The facilities and restaurant are excellent and the staff have always been great. There's free wifi across the whole complex that works brilliantly as well. It's located across the road from the beach and ideally located for Vilamoura, Bougainvillea Plaza and a number of great golf courses. It's reasonably expensive to stay there but well worth it and we've had a great stay each time. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and for your kind words on the resort and our team members.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the resort facilities and had a wonderful experience with us. It is always refreshing to hear such nice comments and a great pleasure for us that you will be repeating your visit for the fourth time next year.
We will be looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Evy Ougendal
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Second year at DDBC and did not fail to provide a great holiday. Went for a first floor 2-bed with hot tub on the roof. Wanted to be in the Praia zone, but only apartment available which met our wants was in the Jardim zone and we were allocated one at the back. This proved to be fine as plenty of parking and had views of the sea.
The apartment was a little better furnished that last years, we ordered a soft mattress which was delivered when we arrived. Free and fast wifi throughout the complex which is amazing and others please take note!
The only gripe (again) about the apartment was the blooming mattress cover and linens....
Service is exceptional by all, especially the guys running the pool side bar... Pool side food was good quality as was the food in the restaurant.
Overall, a great holiday, a great place and a great resort!

Room Tip: Aim for as close to Praia as possible. IMO this is the best zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
I am very pleased to hear that you had a great holiday for the second time at the Dunas Douradas Beach Club. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Thank you also for the kind words about our team members, they will be passed on to them.
On the subject of our bed mattress protectors, they are being replaced this year and we are pleased to say that this process is now almost complete.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Evy Ougendal
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I went to Dunas a few years ago and only stayed 3 days in a 3 bedroom unit. It was so nicely furninshed and the view to beach was so beautiful. We were a family with 4 teen age children and one smaller child and everyone was so comfortable. It was a short distance to shopping and dining and we enjoyed the restaurant at the resort/condos. The service was excellent. I wish I could have only stayed longer. It was expensive, but worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent a week in Lisboa and were really looking forward to getting to the beach. After a leisurely drive down the coast we arrived at Dunas Douradas Beach Club. We arrived late at night and it was not easy to find. The light of day revealed we were amidst many resorts, and Dunas was the one on the water. The accommodations were, without a doubt, stunning!! We were in one that was the most affordable and it was HUGE! two bedrooms, full size kitchen, dining and living rooms, plus a patio with full size dining table. Up a flight of external stairs took us to our own sun deck with another dining table (not as nice as downstairs) and outside kitchen (grill and sink). Our unit was a bit of a hike to the ocean, probably not enjoyable after a day at the beach, as it is all uphill. But ample private parking on site and a brief walk to the beach led to the calmest, most serene ocean we had ever seen. With having the kitchen and the grill, we found a grocery nearby and ate in our unit. Great little plaza about 20 minutes away. Definitely a place we will go back to!! Although, we were told by some other guests who frequent this area that this resort, as well as others, fill up to capacity during the summer months. Quite a famous destination among Europeans. We can certainly understand why!!

Room Tip: The upper units appear to have different amenities. The lower units had a hot tub, upper units had o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed a week here recently. The location was perfect as we didn't have to drive to the beach which is one of our main requirements with 2 young children. The children had a ball and made plenty of friends. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 11 days with my wife and our 11 month old baby and I can’t really say much more than what has been already reviewed by other TA reviewers. DDBC, a really great property next to a beautiful beach, exceeded all my (pretty high) expectations. Our Vista ground floor apartment was very nice, large, comfortable and clean. We really enjoyed the bbq and whirlpool on the terrace. Pool area was pretty busy with a lot of families but area is large enough to accommodate everyone. We had some breakfast, lunch and dinner at the main restaurant, food was very good while service was very careful. Maria’s and Julia’s (along the beach) are both good alternative spots in the neighbourhood.

If I would have a single complaint, it’s about paved pathways. It’s visually really nice but it’s highly bumpy and uncomfortable for babies riding in a stroller.

I’m not sure the place is adequate for people seeking calm (except if they avoid the pool area) but I would strongly recommend DDBC to golfers (I played really great courses around !) and of course families. Now, it’s not about knowing if we’ll return, but when we’ll return !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were only at Dunas Douradas for 4 days at the end of our holiday, and we wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed in one of the upstairs "Dunas" apartments which meant we had our own roof-terrace with barbecue. The apartment was immaculate, and with plenty of space - the kitchen was ten times better than our own kitchen at home!

We had fantastic views of the sea from both the balcony and the roof terrace which provide plenty of outdoor space for relaxing etc. The pool area is great with 3 outdoor pool and 1 indoor heated pool for the kids.

A brilliant place to stay and relax for a few days at the end of our holiday, although not somewhere we'd come every year as it is quite expensive compared to what we normally pay... which isn't a surprise given the quality of Dunas Douradas and the whole area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunas Douradas Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Address: Sitio do Garrao, Almancil 902-8135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#2 Family Hotel in Almancil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the Golden Algarve Coastline between the luxurious resorts of Quinta do Lago and Vale do Lobo, Dunas Douradas enjoys an enviable position in every sense. Imagine the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves breaking on the shoreline as you wake from a relaxing sleep. Dunas Douradas Beach Club offers 132 quality apartments and 8 villas situated in a prestigious beach front location within Algarve's Golden Triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunas Douradas Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Hotel Almancil
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunas Douradas Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.