We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every respect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa
Prolongacion Calle Arica S/N | La Libertad, Puerto Malabrigo, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every respect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I wish I was an English major or journalist so I could better encapsulate my thoughts on Chicama Surf Resort and their wonderful staff. In short, the resort and entire staff are nothing short of amazing.

I had the great pleasure of spending eight days at the hotel and truly felt like family from the very beginning. For example, there was more than one occasion when a staff member would walk around with an iPhone, looking for the phone's owner. Perhaps this stood out a little more to me because it was a stark contrast to a trip I went on with my wife last year, where her phone was stolen from our locked hotel room in Nicaragua. Speaking of locks, I never even locked my room door in my week of Chicama. It's that family feeling. Miguel and his staff are all the friendliest and most helpful bunch imaginable.

All of the details have been carefully considered and implemented. From the airport pickups, Zodiac boat service (thanks Junior!), wide-variety of delicious foods at the hotel restaurant, attentive bar staff, and awesome setting, everything was just perfect.

Last thing - regarding the surfing: it's awesome. If you're reading this you're presumably thinking of heading to Chicama to surf the world's longest wave. What are you waiting for? This was on my list for a few years and it exceeded my expectations. I'm definitely going back, no doubt whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    23
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
20
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Chicama Surf Hotel and Spa is the premier place to stay when visiting Chicama. Fronting the world's longest left wave, the hotel boasts modern facilities with comfortable villas - nab the upstairs rooms where you can literally watch over the Chicama break from your bed.

The restaurant is the communal zone for between surf and nighttime chilling, it's a great place to meet fellow travelling surfers and the staff are super friendly, the food similarly worthy of a double thumb's up.

After surfing, jump into the warm jaccuzi and order a beer, or on a toasty day enjoy the view from the infinity pool or simply kick back between surfs on the outdoor patio area.

Downstairs, the hotel has a decent-sized gym area with equipment and boxing bags, yoga mats and a massage centre.

The hotel also offers guests to book the surf-boat service, meaning your arms won't tire paddling...simply wait in the water after each wave for the boat to come and pick you up and caddy you straight back out to the peak.

If you do plan to visit, take over a few spare surf magazines from your home country to donate to the hotel, or even a couple of surf movies, and enjoy getting to know the local staff over a few cold Pilsen Lagers at night and warm, salted corn.

Five stars, can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Upstairs - views over the surf break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Almost paradise for surfers in Peru! A little difficult to find, you will be the more surprised once you get there! Contemporary, even stylish, this hotel is fantastically equipped, particularly for surfers. It counts with a decent gym, sauna, hamam, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi and swimming pool. A nice and ample dining room, with a bar and fireplace and tasty local décor.

It is located on the beach just across one of the longest waves in the world (make sure you know the right seasons or swells, otherwise, the ride may be as short as anywhere else). Surfers can walk down to the beach from the hotel and dingys will carry them back to the starting point after each ride. The water is freezing cold (about 17c) and the wind is merciless, so it is nice to get back to the hotel and be able to take the wetsuit off right in the warm Jacuzzi and get a nice relaxing massage!

The rooms are nice, all enjoy a view onto the ocean and are well equipped, also with comfortable beds and pillows for a great rest after an exhausting surf day. The service is very professional and friendly and the food will also not disappoint.

While this hotel really is a surfers paradise, if you’re not a surfer, you better be prepared to stay indoors as neither the weather nor the surroundings invite for a walk. However, if you have the time I suggest you visit the archeological sites of El Brujo (closest and very interesting), Chan Chan (also close but less interesting) and La Luna (furthest, yet best!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, Califorina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A group of 7 friends and I stayed here in late April. The waves were fantastic with a solid swell and Chicama lived up to it's surf spot reputation. The hotel is wonderful with extremely attentive and friendly staff, great rooms, delicious meals and an excellent facility and process for storing boards and wetsuits. I would highly reccommend it. Staff members that really stand out include Raphaell, Favio, Pedro, Santos, Percy and all the restaurant staff. This hotel makes an effort to give back to the local community which is reflected in the staff, you feel like familiy. Some friendly suggestions for the hotel: use a central water treatment facility and reusable containers for drinking water to eliminate plastic bottle pollution and upgrade the Internet connection. When the hotel gets full the system gets overloaded with logins and a connection is impossible.

Room Tip: Any of the upstairs rooms are best as they have a view of the beach and surf. Downstairs rooms open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Daytona, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The management, staff, service, amenities, food and overall cleanliness and beauty of this resort will bring us back and allow us to recommend it to anyone, young or old, surfer or not. This was hands down the best surf trip, not just for the waves, but for the ease of managing our gear, wetsuits, and arranging great day trips. Surfboards, board bags, leashes and wetsuits could all be neatly and safely valet stored in the well ventilated, organized board locker room with 24 hour on site security. I loved the fact that I could take a hot shower seconds after entering the resort after a surf and wash my self and wetsuit in a spacious locker room then take my wetsuit next door to hang it up in the open air wetsuit hangers labelled with each guest's room number. The place caters to surfers every need. The zodiac boat service team was spot on, never missing a surfer as we rode waves for hundreds of yards distant to our takeoff spots. The boat drivers were very safety oriented, super stoked for us and equipped with Go Pro cameras to document those legendary minute plus long lefts that we rode. Not once did they complain about hauling our weary bodies into the boat with longboards and short boards. No matter how many waves we surfed.
The manager Miguel Vegas Van Ordt is legendary and runs the place with tremendous team spirit. He planned some fun day trips for our group and even accompanied us one day keeping everyone laughing, eating safely, and hitting the surf on the best tides, while sharing his vast knowledge of the history and culture of Peru. His van driver Jorge is outstanding!
The resort rooms and common areas, and grounds, were clean and beautiful. The dining area was always stocked with coffee, tea, cocoa and cookies and the service and main meals were outstanding. The large fireplace added cozy ambience and the views of that gorgeous coastline and point break are breathtaking. Great beach for hiking as well. Go there!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wonderful place to surfing, with waves that do not ever stop even when it seems that the sea is flat!. The staff is pretty patient, careful and attentive to the details of a proper care. Great food and drinks ... Perfect facilities. The tow back service is essential and very good.. I'm planning to be back soon

Room Tip: Try get the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was there with some friends on a surf trip. Unforgettable experience, thanks to the Chicama waves and the great hotel.
The staff is fantastic and will do anything to make you feel at home and comfortable. They seem really genuinely nice, not artificially like in some other places.
The structure is surprising and you can bring your family with you and they will have a good time too. Next time I will bring my wife.
Miguel, Fabio, Percy, Alexi, Pedro and all the other people I forgot the names (sorry) made our stay really great.
The food is very good, bedrooms are comfortable, warm jacuzzi after surf is great. We just relaxed and enjoyed.

Room Tip: Ocean view, if you can. If Chicama is breaking you can watch it for hours from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa

Address: Prolongacion Calle Arica S/N | La Libertad, Puerto Malabrigo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Puerto Malabrigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Malabrigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa is a top class Boutique Hotel that offers travelers, who are in search for an off the beaten path away from cities, a place of comfort with excellent and cozy facilities in one of the most beautiful places of northern Peru.We offer a variety of activities and services suitable for everyone, from day tours to the nearby archaeological sites, a fist class Spa, among other services that will make your stay a memorable experience.For Surfers we offer special services such as Towback with our zodiacs, tours to the nearby surf spots, surf equipment rental and even surf lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicama Surf Hotel And Spa
Chicama Surf Hotel Puerto Malabrigo
Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa Peru/Puerto Malabrigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicama Surf Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.