We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lake view, lavish breakfast, good value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante G.L.A.V.J.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ristorante G.L.A.V.J.C. to your Saves list
Hotel Ristorante G.L.A.V.J.C.
Via Cesare Poggi 25/A, 22020 Torno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Torno B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome lake view, lavish breakfast, good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The rooms are a bit small, so are the attached bathrooms, our room was not air-conditioned, and we had to ask for a fan on our 2nd night when it got quite humid. But these are small negatives compared to the huge positives - the view from the balcony (almost every room has one, furnished with a small table and couple of chairs to lounge on) leaves you breathless, especially if you wake up early enough to see the morning sun pouring down on the blue mirror surface - go back to bed afterwards if you must ;) but don't miss this sight!
If you can muster up a little more energy, try the pretty walk down the hill through the garden all the way to the water-front and jump in for a deliciously cool swim.
And then dig into a royal breakfast on the house back at the restaurant surrounded by spectacular views of the lake, with selections of almost everything on earth - breads, pastries, cakes, cheeses, cold cuts, coffees, yogurts, fruits... Had my first cup of Orzo here and loved it!
Helpful and prompt staff, quiet and pretty, free wi-fi and parking... Two thumbs up from me!

Room Tip: The last room on the second level (I think it was room 18) has an even wider panoramic view of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The hotel G.L.A.V.J.C is a hidden Gem. We had two adjoining rooms, which admittedly were old fashioned, but very clean and functional. The view from our long hotel room balcony made up for everything else. Fantastic views of Lake Como, which was breathtaking. Could have happily stayed on the balcony all day.
Steep slope down to the car park, but we managed it. Friendly helpful staff, just wish we could have stayed longer.
Food was excellent. Fantastic breakfast and spectacular views from the restaurant. Would happily stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone driving through Italy, as we were. Price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

It has been some months since I stayed here, and did not plan to write a review as I have not much good to say about this place, however I changed my mined when I saw a review recommending this establishment, and still with two points I have probably overrated this hotel. The view from the rooms is amazing... in the same way as any room with lake view around the lake is amazing, nothing to do with the hotel. The rooms are small and represent the worst of the 70’s; the service is at a minimum, and do not even try to pay with an Amex even though you see the sticker that says they accept it. The restaurant has a view, but the atmosphere in it is rubbish, the food was good though. If you do not come by car, there is narrow road to clime to get to it when coming from Torno. Due to the driving culture in Italy this road is dangerous if not suicidal to walk. To get to anywhere from this hotel, you will have to go onto that road. My point, there must be thousand hotels around the lake, and I will try all of them before coming back here!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I really should not write this because this place is probably my best hidden gem.
But I really want them to do well and want to make sure this place get`s the attention of others.
Why......if it`s value for money your are looking for....this is the place. The location and the view from rooms, restaurant and around the hotel is world class. The service is excellent....I never met the cook (will ask this time) but somehow they allways live up to my very high expectation on quality food. I probably had dinner 10 times in the restaurant and every time they just got it right. A lot of my friends have visited this great hotel based on my feedback and everyone has been really positively surpriced. This is not The Mariott,- the interior is what you should expect from a family hotel....but it`s clean and everything works. 400 meters from the hotel at Torno you can catch the boat to Como from the most romantic little harbour.....so if you like a laid back place with world class views, fantastic food, great service at a very attractive price...this is it. I will ad photos when I return

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ristorante G.L.A.V.J.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante G.L.A.V.J.C.

Address: Via Cesare Poggi 25/A, 22020 Torno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Torno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Torno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante G.L.A.V.J.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante G.L.A.V.J.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.