We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, absolutely one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pieve a Pava

Save Saved
You added Pieve a Pava to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pieve a Pava
Localita podere Pieve a Pava, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, absolutely one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a great stay with Rita and Johny at their guest house.

The room we had was more like an appartment with lots of space. The room and the rest of the buildings are being kept very authentic which gives a nice atmosphere.

We enjoyed breakfast and diner at the guesthouse and it felt as if we were visiting friends since both Rita and Johny joined us at the table every time. This gave a very friendly and relaxed feeling!

The food itself was amazing - from the handmade bread and marmelade in the morning until the awesome dishes in the evening. Rita is a genius in the kitchen and Johny knows how to pick the right wines.

Overall the friendliness, location, food and great great great hospitality makes this place one of the best places (if not the best!) I have visited over the years.

I surely hope we can plan a new stay next year.

And if you stay at Pieve a Pava - ask for Johnny Guitar. He's the rockstar of the village :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johny111, host at Pieve a Pava, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
grazie 1000, ragazzi,
thank you for the nice comment and hope to see you back soon;
tanti auguri for the new year,
abbraccio forte,
rita & johny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It was time beginning of November for the Truffel season in Tuscany. Rita & Johnny provided delicious food & wines around the famous mushroom in the area. It was simply awesome. Guitar Johnny brought the right atmosphere to enjoy the dinner and the guests from all over the world. Once again, the location, the warm and welcoming hosts made this stay unforgetable for us. Pieve a Pava is always a place to come back to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Pieve a Pava for 3 nights (Sept. 2012) as part of our honeymoon trip to Italy, and it was by far the best part of the entire trip. Johny and Rita are amazing hosts and made us feel very welcome. And their property is simply beautiful. It has a historic chapel, an old farmhouse, and a bunch of beautiful rooms that are a mix of simple rustic charm and modern design. There's also a pool, and lots of little hidden corners to rest and relax and let your mind wander. It's nestled away in the hills in a fairly remote place, which was exactly what we were looking for.

We were lucky enough to have Rita cook a meal for us and to enjoy it with the other house guests, who were all a pleasure to spend time with. Breakfasts were incredible and they even left the breakfast out late for us since we like to sleep in. Everything was fresh and homemade. Breads, cheeses, yogurts, coffee/tea, jams, meats - we felt very spoiled. It was honestly the best food we had on the trip. The service was perfect; attentive but laid back, and we felt really comfortable the entire time. It felt like a home away from home.

The place is also perfectly situated in Tuscany, being that it's a short drive to many sights. Johny can recommend lots of different day trips that will take you to medieval towns, hot springs, ancient churches, and beautiful vista points. It's really close to Siena and Florence as well. The amount of activities in the area will keep you busy for as long as you want.

Part of me wants to keep this place to myself and not tell anyone about it so it can be my own secret get-away. But Johny and Rita really deserve to have the those who are looking for something unique and beautiful to know about their place. It was one of the best experiences I ever had, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We really fell in love with Tuscany, I'm sure that's because we were staying at Pieve a Pava for two nights.
Our stay was way to short unfortunately, but we will return for sure!

Prepare for luxury, hospitality, fine dining (Rita is so passionate about food), lovely wines (Johnny is picking the best from the local wine houses) and a peacefull environment.

Room Tip: Try a suite, we have rarely seen such a luxurious, spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypres, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having spend on several occasions some time at pieve pava, alone, in family and with friends, the quality of the food, the service and the hospitality are always at the same high level. The sense of details in the overal experience are so nice. Johny and Rita succeed to make you want to come back every time again. And the food... one has to experience it to be able to share it !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Well we have been back a couple of weeks in a very wet England but the memory of our stay at Pieve a Pava still burns bright.
We booked Pieve a Pava for week away just myself and my wife, our first visit to Tuscany, on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews, slighlty apprehensive as it had such good reviews, can any place be that good? Well it is. Why?, it is so good, it is hard to explain until you experience it for yourself. It is, basically down to Jonny and Rita's hospitalitly, a magic mix of laid back attentiveness ,as it has been commented on previously, and I can only concur. The rooms are a lovely a mix of traditional Tuscan antiques with modern additions, comfy and clean. I don't think the pictures on here do it justice. The outside spaces, as the inside, are emmaculately kept. Not many have commented on the value aspect, and at first It appeared expensive - well there was no in room mini bar, trouser press and all that other usless stuff four star hotels have to have. But, what you do get because of this, is a peaceful, restful retreat. As much free soft drinks as you need, on tap tea and coffee, with a piece of home made cake as well. Or fruit if feeling healthy.
Jonny's restaurant recommendations and little hand drawn maps were always spot on. Jonny or Rita were always there to join us for breakfast at 9ish in the morning, even though they had been up for a few hours already, I thought that was a very nice touch and an example of the way they do things . We were spoilt slightly, as we did have the place to ouselves for our weeks stay.
There has been comment in other reviews regarding the cost of one of Rita's meals. We did not find this the case at all, the last night when two new couples arrived at Pieve a Pava, Rita cooked a lovely meal, four courses with wine etc etc. All for a set price, and a discount for my wife as she does not drink alcohol.
All in all, fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were just so lucky to be able to spent a week at Pieve a Pava.

It was our first time in Tuscany and won't be the last on this little piece of heaven.
Rita and Johny are amazing hosts and it only took minutes to fell in love with their dogs, too.
The location, the lovely design and interiors of the guesthouse and the outstanding homie feeling left us speachless for a few days.
Pieve a Pava is located perfectly to visit Montalcino, Siena, Pienza, Montepuliciano etc. Johny was very helpful arranging visits to wineries and bike tour routes. The 1000 Miglia coming by close by together with the Picknick lovely prepared by Rita was one of the highlights.
Rita does magic in here kitchen and surprises every day with freshly baked bread and cake and here awesome cantucchinis. Don`t miss having dinner there as well. On some evenings she cooks and Johny adds the wines to make the evening even more perfect.

All in all, for us THE PLACE TO BE south of Siena. We will remember this place forever and are for sure returning later this year.

Room Tip: No room is like the other and the larger ones are really worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pieve a Pava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve a Pava

Address: Localita podere Pieve a Pava, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small borgo of Pieve a Pava is half an hour's drive south from the city of Siena, in a lesser known but particularly captivating part of Tuscany, called the Crete Senesi. It has been converted into a small luxury guesthouse, where one can easily discover the charms of the Tuscan way of life whilst finding ’one's home away from home’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pieve a Pava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pieve a Pava Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pieve a Pava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;