We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our sixth consecutive year, and it just gets better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ankhura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Giovanni d'Asso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ankhura
Save
You added Ankhura to your Saves list
Monterongriffoli, San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our sixth consecutive year, and it just gets better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Wow! We've returned to Ankhura, this gem of a place in Monterongriffoli, situated in the (hands down!) most beautiful landscape in Tuscany, for the past six years. We have brought college friends, sent down family and their friends, recommended older colleagues and young couples, and of course traveled down by ourselves.

The pure beauty of the surrounding landscape is a stunner every time. Depending on the season there's the crisp flowing grassy hills of spring, the outstanding deep red poppy fields of late spring, the overwhelmingly radiant yellow summer fields of sunflowers in bloom, and the more autumnal scales of brown, moss greens and greys of harvest season in september and october.

Ankhura is the perfect tranquil haven in this setting. Run by a very generous and hospitable couple from Sweden and their absolutely adorable little son with vibrant red curls that accentuate his happy personality. They offer cooking classes or served gourmet dinners of local specialties, landscape walks with optional lunch basket and local horticultural guide, truffle hunts with dog and experienced local truffle expert. And then of course there is everything else that the surroundings have to offer, that you can (and should) experience and discover on your own.

Every morning starts by waking up in the comfy beds in the beautiful high ceilinged rooms that have reused all old materials and interiors in a very fresh way. Opening up the wooden shutters to meet the soothing music of the cicadas, the olive groves on the opposing hill, and of course the proudly errect cypress trees lining the hill top - the signature of this part of Tuscany.

Going downstairs you're greeted by the breakfast stir - the coffee pots ready to go on the gas stove, perhaps eggs and pancetta waiting to be sizzled, the beautiful little glass jars of yoghurt, a plate of finely sliced seasonal fruits, a basket of bread and some fresh pecorino cheese (a specialty of nearby Pienza). This is all served on the middle terrace, in the shade of the olive tree, at the wrought iron breakfast groups (bought at the monthly antique market in Arezzo).

We've seen this place evolve over the years, but returning this time around it had really taken a leap. Finally, after so many years of negotiations with the "commune" (local municipal bureaucracy), grumpy neighbors, planners and construction companies, the beautifully designed pool has finally been completed. Blending tastefully into the landscape by using a two tier terracing down to the pool, a light natural gravel and a nice big olive tree surrounded by petite antique wrought iron breakfast table groups on the offset tier, beautiful sandstone stairways and tiles surrounding the pool, which itself is lined in large off white marble slabs. The icing on the cake is the nice antique spout that gently and steadily fills the pool with the circulating, lightly saline water.

There are countless experiences to be had in the surrounding area. Daily excursions to Montalcino to visit the local vinyards and sample the excuisite Brunello di Montalcino reds. A drive to Pienza for a stroll in the lovely old village, entering the plentiful little stores that have their windows stacked with locally produced Pecorino cheeses. Enjoying walks in the landscape, seeing up close the natural habitat of the olive groves, the vines, the woods in the valley that host the local riches of the white and black truffles. For those in the mood for shopping, day trips can be recommended to SPACE - the Prada outlet located about an hour away by Montevarchi, and after that, the Mall, which houses the other major high fashion brands such as Bottega Veneta, Gucci, Pucci, Burberry, Ermenegildo Zegna and others. Or why not take the full drive up to Florence. Other cities are Sienna and Arezzo.

Well, we could go on and on, but suffice it to say that we highly recommend a trip to Ankhura. Basically any time of year, and with any type of company - couple, friends, family, groups, foodies, fashonistas, naturalistas - everyone can enjoy and appreciate it in their own ways.

We are already planning our return next year, when we're hoping to book all of the four rooms with family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed at Ankhura for four days and had a wonderful time. The surrondings are absolutely beautiful, the food and atmosphere are excellent and the hosts, Anders and Cino, are doing their best to give you a perfect stay in Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We´ve visited Tuscany many times. When we decided to get married we wanted to find the perfect place for the occation. Our choice, Ankhura, was an excellent choice! The hospitality, extraordionary food and beatuiful, breathtaking surroundings made our wedding above all our expectations. We can not find enough words to describe the treamendous stay that we and our family and friends experienced at this wonderful, warm place. We highly and warmly recommend a visit of a lifetime at Ankhura.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We spent two nights at beautiful Ankhura, a small but exclusive B&B tucked away in the middle of Tuscan wineyards and truffle woods. Our charming hosts Cino and Anders made our visit very special by guiding us to their favorite spots in the area as well as sharing their love and knowledge of Italian food and wine in their kitchen. We truly enjoyed the amazing and hearty breakfast; yoghurt, homemade granola, fresh fruit and juice, eggs, pancetta, fresh baked bread, jam and coffee, served on the terrace overlooking the beautiful landscape. The B&B is quiet, charming and the perfect place to enjoy a romantic get-away. The beds are so comfortable I couldn't help but ask Cino where I could find one for my own home. We also spent a relaxing afternoon at the pool and went for a hike in the nearby hills, crossing through the magical landscape. I would highly recommend Ankhura to anyone looking for a genuine and charming Tuscan experience. Ankhura is truly a gem!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Ankhura is like a place in your dreams -but it is for real! 100% genuine!
Host and hostess takes Italian cooking very seriously!
Also very good advices about really nice places to visit in the near by area!
I DO recommend this hotell!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Ankhura offered us exactely what we were seeking from Tuscany. A wonderful slice of Italy....wine, food, and great people. If you are looking for large resorts and package tours, this is not your place. If you are seeking a somewhat hidden hamlet (Monterongriffoli is small and off the tourist circuit), with woderful charm, killer food, and super accompdating hosts you have found your spot. My wife and I took a cooking class, wine tour (finally came to understand Brunellos) and generally checked out the view from Ankhura's back porch. See my pictures here <http://bit.ly/cw97ma> We really enjoyed ourselves and Anders and Cino and Konrad are great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We just spent a marvellous week at the little hotel Ankhura, being pampered and entertained food and wine-wise by the lovely hosts Cino and Anders. They opened up a world of olive oil, local ham from very happy pigs, home made ravioli and Brunello wine for us. They directed us to markets for food and antiques and other Tuscan spots we would never have experienced without their insights.
Our little daughter had all a child could wish for, from baby chair to a cot for her to sleep in made available without us even asking (as well as fun and games with Konrad, their son).
I also find their price-performance-ratio remarkable. After having a couple of dinners in other restaurants, we concluded that Anders four course dinners offer more quality for less money (and the diet starts here).
I am now out of superlatives, let´s conclude that it was our first, but under no circumstances our last, visit. Thank you Cino and Anders!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ankhura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankhura

Address: Monterongriffoli, San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful little bed & breakfast is located in a magical medieval hamlet just south of Siena making it an ideal place from which to explore central and southern Tuscany. The proprietors, Christopher and Tina, left corporate careers in New York to indulge their passion for Italian culture, food and wine. Ankhura offers cooking classes, wine tours and truffle hunts throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ankhura Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ankhura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.