We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Anniversary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucignanello Bandini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lucignanello Bandini to your Saves list
Lucignanello Bandini
Localita Lucignano d'Asso, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Weston, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magical Anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I are quite particular and wanted a "special" place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Andi Piper of "Once In A Lifetime Travel" highly recommended Lucignanello Bandini as very special, but even at that, she absolutely did not do this place justice!

In my wildest imagination I could not have pictured a more beautiful place. The little hamlet looked like something out of a fairy tale. Every vista was breathtaking.

I don't like living out of a suitcase, so we wanted a place that was centrally located so we could take day trips to the surrounding towns. The location couldn't have been more central to Montisi, Montepulciano, Pienza and various other towns. During our stay, we also took day trips to Sienna and Cortona, each about an hour from our lodgings.

The roads in Tuscany are beautiful but the signs (and Italian drivers) not so much. Our salvation
was Doriana - the manager/concierge. Doriana helped us plan out our days with maps, driving directions (even where to park) as well as restaurant suggestions, reservations and sights to see.
She was invaluable to our experience and this place is very lucky to have her!

Other reviewers have talked about the beautiful rooms. I am an interior designer and admittedly
particular about my surroundings. We stayed at Casa Remo and were thoroughly enchanted with
the space as well as the decor. Our kitchen came stocked with essentials for or stay and we ended up having breakfast at our apartment before we set out for our day, which saved us money and time. The microwave also allowed us to warm up leftovers from some terrific meals.
The area with the infinity pool was a great spot to chill and balanced out our busy days.

All I can say is that we will be back and will, without reservation, recommend Lucignanello Bandini. One of our best vacations ever!

Room Tip: Speak to Doriana. She is well versed in the individual aspects of the accommodations.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoLB, Manager at Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am SO glad you had such a good experience at our "borgo"! I know you were trying to celebrate your 30th anniversary in a very special way and I am sure that the good weather, our amazing views and all the charme of this beautiful area let your dream come true!
I hope you will keep very good memories of your stay at Lucignanello Bandini and I am looking forward to meeting you again. Doriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We spend a week in may 2012 in the quit vilage Borgo Lucignallo Bandini. First a few days alone, then with our guest's for the wedding. We couldn't picked a more beautiful place to celebrate our wedding!

We rented three appartments (Case Maria, Casa Amadeo, Casa Severino) and the big house Sarageto. The Borgo, the surroundings, the views, the appartments, the swimmingpool: it's all great and breathe-taking. Real Tuscan atmosphere.

We made some changes (plans, drinks, diner inside or outside, ...) during the first days, but with the help of Doriana everthing was arranged on our weddingday. Our big day was perfect!

Some people on this website said:
"If you are ever wondering where to go to dive into another world, just for a moment, this is the place to go."
or
"Lucignanello Bandini was a perfect Tuscan retreat."

All this is really true :-). We surely will return to this place.

Warm regards
Tabitha & Xander,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoLB, Manager at Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear guests,
It's always a huge satisfaction to read your reviews! Small weddings and events are a real challange for our "family style" hamlet, but we try to do our best and we are always very happy when the guests leave and take home many beautiful memories.
We hope you will visit us again on your anniversary.
Warmest regards from Tuscany!
Doriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had the privilege of attending a friends wedding at Borgo Lucignanello. When we arrived we were stunned at how beautiful the village was. The views, the rooms, the pool, everything was breathtaking. The staff prepared an arrival feast of various grilled meats, assorted cheeses, fresh vegetables, and of course lots of wine! The meal was delicious, but I don't know if I would consider the staff to be very friendly. My wife and I and two other couples stayed in the Casa Clementina. I could not have been happier with the accomodations. Our apartment had a large kitchen, two baths, a spacious living room, two regular bedrooms and one sitting room with a pull out sofa bed. I was hesitant about the pull out at first, but it proved to be very comfortable. I really could not imagine a more picturesque location for a wedding. The views of the valley are indescribably beautiful. I highly recommend sunsets at the hilltop infinity pool. There is a small grocery on site that sells various pastas, meats, cheeses and snacks to take back to your apartment. As we were guests of the bride and groom, we stayed did not pay for our stay so I cannot comment on the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoLB, Manager at Lucignanello Bandini, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We would like to thank you for your kind words.
We are always very happy when our guests enjoy their stay so much.
We hope that the wedding couple, their relatives and friends will keep very good memories of our small hamlet.
It is a pity though to know just now that the staff working for the catering company was not so friendly.... We will try to check this aspect next time and avoid any issue.
We hope you will visit our "borgo" again in the near future.
All the best from Tuscany
Doriana Giovannoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue ridge mtns, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

There were 9 of us that stayed in Casale Sargeto, the separate villa with its own private pool and specatcular views. Our week was just wonderful. The villa was exactly what you envision a Tuscan home would be like. Comfortable with plently of space for all. Magnificent Rosemary bushes surrounded the entrance to the villa, while entoxicating lavendar bushes surrounded your entrance to where the infinity pool was located. We enjoyed the outdoor/built in grill while the kids played ping pong, in the beautiful covered porch. The home is centrally located so that a day trip to Sienna, Florence, Pisa (farthest in list at about 2 1/2 hrs drive) , Montalcino or even Montalpuciano were easily attainable. Lisa in the office was wonderful, she even set up a fabulous winery tour/tasting for us. Our trip was just fabulous! If we are ever fortunate enough to go back to Tuscany one day, we definetly will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Absolutely amazing, idyllic, historic and romantic place. Real old Tuscan small village which is now only habited by one local lady and quests in 6 offered appartements. hard to describe by words, but we loved it so much. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 1 big kitchen and one big living room with open fireplace. We stayed at casa Clementina with 2 childrens. In the hilltop is pool for quests and also barbeque place for dinners. From both places are shown epic views to the Tuscan landscapes, fields, olive trees, grape yards and small houses surrounded by cypress trees. No tourist hords, no people at all. This place is reachable only by dirtroad (no asphalt), but this belong to this place. 15 minute drive to Pienza by shortcut, 20 minutes to montalcino and 25 minutes to Montepulciano. Nearest small town is Giovanni d Asso with nice restaurant, with 5 minute drive. what made this place so special was also small alimentary shop with coffemaschine, vine bar and delicious cheese, ham, fruits and plates after the shop closing at 20 pm, served by very lovely italian lady, who is only loal left to live all the time in the village.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Borgo Lugcignanello is a real Tuscan village - and you get to stay in one of the properties. The Borgo is placed on top of a hill, enjoying amazing views of Val d' Orcia, and its quietness and natural beauty make it a must try. This is not a commercial, fully serviced kind of place as other resorts, but that's what differentiates it from the rest.
The manager did a very good job at making our stay comfortable and gave us very helpful tips for exploring the area, surrounding restaurants, wine tasting etc... she also gave us an interesting olive oil tasting session within the old cellar of the Borgo, included in the package. It was overall a very enriching experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

After the hustle and bustle of Rome and Venice, the drive up the winding dirt road to this amazing place told us the entire story. When we arrived we were greeted with spectacular views, a very friendly and smiling staff, a fantastic, large and clean room with a full kitchen and the promise of 5 days of complete relaxation. Indeed our promise was kept, from here we did day trips to Cortona, Montalcino, Montepulciano and other cities, explored some great wineries and generally were VERY sad to leave. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to really immerse themselves into southern Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucignanello Bandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucignanello Bandini

Address: Localita Lucignano d'Asso, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on top of a hill overlooking the Orcia Valley and the Crete Senesi, Lucignanello Bandini is part of an ancient hamlet owned by the Piccolomini family since the 15th century. The property comprises five two-bedroom houses in the village and an independent four-bedroom farmhouse that have been recently restored, preserving the original architectural features while ensuring modern facilities. From the two swimming pools, set amidst olive trees, guests can enjoy stunning views of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The private chapel and the hamlet's small church are romantic locations for weddings. Daily cleaning, breakfast and laundry service, cooking classes, wine tours and oil tasting can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lucignanello Bandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucignanello Bandini Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucignanello Bandini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.