We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Castello

Save Saved
You added La Locanda del Castello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Locanda del Castello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, No. 4, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Monte Sereno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Locanda del Castello for two nights in July 2012. Recommended by a work collegue, the place truly lived up to its billing! Upon our arrival, we received a warm and hospitable welcome from Daniela, who speaks fluent English and assisted us in a variety of ways including recommendations of towns which we should visit. The room was very comfortable...spacious and clean. The bathroom was well-equipped and even had two sinks! The lovely, quaint and quiet town of San Giovanni d'Asso served as a convenient 'home base' for two days of travel throughout central and southern Tuscany. We thoroughly enjoyed dinner at the hotel's restaurant...great food and wine!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in early May of 2012. San Giovanni d'Asso is a quiet village but close enough to Siena and other towns in the neighborhood so that you don't have to drive far to do lots of sightseeing. And it's a fun place to walk around on its own. The hotel has been renovated recently and is very comfortable and just modern enough, but still charming and old-fashioned too. Everything works, including wi-fi in your room if you want it. Daniela, the front-desk manager, was super helpful and hospitable, and she had many recommendations for us about where to go and what to see in the area. Daniela was great!
The view from our window was fabulous - we saw a full moon rise while we were there - it was quite romantic. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous, and you see a lot of it as you walk around the village. The restaurant was quite good. We enjoyed meeting the general manager, Massimo, who was hospitable and just a good guy. We want to go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: They're all good, but of course the upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My fiancee and I checked in to La Locanda del Castello at San Giovanni d'Asso in mid-July 2012. We immediately felt welcomed by the warm smile and charm of the staff, Daniella, who speaks great English.

The hotel is located in a 13th century castle and thus there are no elevators; that said, it was a short 10-step climb to our room, located on the 2nd floor. Our rooms was huge - very spacious, clean and well-decorated, complete with with satellite TV and air-conditioning (essential in the summer months). Over the two nights we were there, we had no problems with the cleanliness or comfort levels in the rooms at all.

Everyday, we would be greeted with smiles and have a simple breakfast in the restaurant below. Our concierge, Daniella, was most sweet to give us recommendations of where to visit and what to do, and helped us make a reservation at the vineyard tour at Avignonnessi.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has its own free parking, so I would recommend you drive there. San Giovanni D.Asso is a quiet town, not touristy at all, and serves as a great place to base your travelling to nearby Tuscan towns from.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor if possible, to avoid having to climb too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located in a 13th century castle, La Locanda del Castello, is next to the Museo di Tartufo, Italys first museum dedicated to the truffle. Like the museum La Locanda del Castello exerts an equally powerful effect on your senses. Your sense of taste, touch, smell and vision are all heightened by the atmosphere created by the owner Selvana and her son Massimo who make your stay at the inn very special. You arrive at the locanda piazza where a series of contemporary sculptures are on display then walk through the Castello drawbridge and into the castle courtyard. The intimate ristorante downstairs from the inn (very convenient) is rustic-Italian chic with a private veranda that overlooks the landscape of the town and valley below. When ordering, I would willingly take the advice of the chef whose Nouveau Tuscan cuisine and artful presentation were fantastici . I ate a delicious pici pasta with cacio e pepe (cheese and pepper) one night and another night wild boar ragu’ that was both delicate and bold. The caprese salad and assorted salumi included Lardo di Colonnata, a protected Tuscan delicacy that is particular to the region. My room was decorated with 19th century Italian country furniture combined with touches of French toile fabric to create what I would imagine to be the style of day when traveling from locanda to locanda. An evocative experience in Tuscany's stunning Crete Senesi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The reception staff operate on a “casual” but very friendly basis so the waitress from the restaurant and the owner showed us our room - a decent size, so was the ensuite shower room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable, ample towels and ample hot water for the shower. Our room was in the main building, several centuries old with walls over 4 foot thick, but we were delighted to have effective AC. Our room overlooked the main road, but there is no traffic so noise was not a problem.

A decent continental breakfast was included with fresh fruit, cereal, cold meats, cheeses and various cakes/bread available. Free Wifi was nice. We had dinner at the hotel twice. We considered the menu it to be a little restricted but very good quality although a little pricey for what we had and so we decided to make alternative arrangements for other evenings but before we returned for the night – there probably aren’t any local alternatives.

Note – if you want to check out early, do so the previous day as reception didn’t open until 9.00.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at La Locanda del Castello. San Giovanni d’Asso is a very small hamlet, with very little commerce or attractions other than the surrounding countryside. It is however a very good base for exploring this part of Tuscany. Our room was fairly small but was fine for a short stay. We were shown great hospitality from the staff, with recommendations on a local walk and also setting us up with cutlery and glasses for a picnic on our first night when the restaurant was closed. Breakfast was fairly typical Italian fare though there was some fresh fruit on offer, always a plus for us.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 11 nights here at the beginning of May. We were in room 8 which we highly recommend, large with a proper sofa & very pleasingly decorated. A good sized shower room with two basins, and fluffy white towels. The Locanda is at the end of a cul de sac, so very quiet. The approach street is peaceful and characterful. The staff, especially Daniela in the office, and the two owners, mother and son, are charming. We left a pair of reading glasses behind and they were forwarded immediately and in a proper case which the management had somehow obtained. It was a real pleasure to return home each evening. The dining room is atttractive and there is a lovely shaded terrace, also a small, high terrace on the other side of the hotel which we only discovered rather late. Mattress a trifle hard, but we quickly got used to it. Antony H

Room Tip: Room 8 is the best! Best rooms on the street side, no traffic and views over roofs to rolling countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Locanda del Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Castello

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, No. 4, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Castello 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a Hotel and a Restaurant in the heart of Tuscany south of Siena, in the middle of the three renowned wine districts of Chianti, Montalcino and Montepulciano, and set inside the unique and unspoiled landscapes of the Crete Senese and Val d’ Orica ? LA LOCANDA DEL CASTELLO is the answer. Is a XVI century building which has been recently restored into a small hotel in the ancient and peaceful hamlet of San Giovanni d’ Asso, celebrated for its famous white truffles. Just outside the village there is the wonderful garden “Bosco Della Ragnaia” created by the American artist Sheppard Craig. The territory is rich of history, with many hamlets, castles and abbeys to discover; rich for its natural hot springs with the chance of relaxing yourself in spas and spoiling yourself with massages and beauty treatments.Moreover if your Clients likes to do sports while on holiday, there is the chance of going horse riding, trekking, biking or have the wonderful experience of admiring the area from above on a hot air balloon.Not to forget the gastronomy experience this territory is able to offer: the Clients may visit some of the many wineries of the region and taste it’s famous wines, in addition to the other main products of the area such as olive oil, cheese and truffle; and if they are willing to know more about the Tuscan food they may choose to take cooking classes in order to be able to remember the flavors of our region once back home.The Hotel LA LOCANDA DEL CASTELLO offers 9 rooms all finely restored and divided in the following room categories (3 standard, 3 Superior and 3 Suites). All the bedrooms are provided with a matrimonial bed and a bathroom with shower and hairdryer, a/c, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, safekeeping box and free wi-fi internet connection. The suites have an extra sitting area for relaxing.The restaurant LA LOCANDA DEL CASTELLO is located on the ground floor of the building, which once housed an olive press. It offers its guests the genuine flavors of traditional Tuscan cooking. Amongst its delicious specialties are the local white and black truffle (we also organize special truffle hunting), pecorino cheese, Senese salami, honey and saffron, with a selection of the most well-known Tuscan wines. In the warmer weather, one can eat outside in the small hamlet square enjoying the atmosphere of the old village, or alternately in the comfort and shade of the back terrace.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information you might need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your La Locanda del Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Castello Hotel San Giovanni d`Asso
La Locanda Del Castello Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Castello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.