We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great holiday!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmariva Beach Bomo Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palmariva Beach Bomo Club to your Saves list
Palmariva Beach Bomo Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malaconda, Eretria 34008, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Eretria
Irvine Ayrshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great holiday!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

Stayed at the Palmariva for a week in September 2006.
We had a really great holiday. The hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and the food was really good.
We met a couple who we intend to keep in touch with. They stay in the East Coast of Scotland, and we stay on the West Coast.
The company was good and made the holiday.
We intend to return to this hotel.
Really peaceful, restful location.
Would definately recommend it.
We will be back.

  • Liked — cleanliness,space,verandah, everything
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elderslie, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

Flew with Air Scotland/Greece Airways (same company), left on time. The return journey was 2 hours delayed.
This hotel is in the perfect location, on its own beach with sunbeds and canopies which are free. The surroundings are beautiful. The rooms are good with a TV which gives BBC World and CNN News. There is a fridge in each room, and air conditioning. The food is ok, although not the best we have experienced. The drinks prices are a disgrace. Don't give your order to a waiter. Go to the bar yourself as several times I saw the barman put small measures into the glass if the waiter was being served. If you go to the bar yourself, you get a bigger measure, but at 4 Euros per drink, it is a rip off. Take some empty miniature bottles and fill them in your room and use them over the night in the lounge area. The patrons are either Scots, Italians or French. Only the Scots would buy from the bar. The French and Italians spent their days and nights playing cards, but not onece did they buy a drink. Saddos or what????. The entertainment left a bit to be desired. Angelo on his organ sometimes with his sister (a one time opera singer) helping him out. Later each night, there was a girl singer who was good, but sang the same songs every night until I spoke to the manager and he got her to change her repertoire. The Karaoke on the Saturday night was hilarious.You had nowhere else to go as there are no bars/tavernas in the surrounding area. You have to take a taxi to and from Eretria at night which can add a fair bit to your holiday budget over a week.

I would recommend this hotel for a week's R&R, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. However, we wouldn't go back due to the lack of surrounding entertainment and no long walks which we love.

  • Liked — Perfect location
  • Disliked — No surrounding bars/tavernas
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own spirits,put them into miniature bottles. You can then buy a soft drink and use the minitures.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

Really lovely hotel which was well kept and very clean. The food is really good and there is a great choice and the drink is average priced. The hotel is located on a private beach with water sports, beach bar/cafe and countless sunbeds and parasols all of which are free of charge. Could not fault the hotel one bit. Now the downside.....
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere with only 1 small supermarket across the road and nothing else until you hit the nearest town (approx 10 mins in a taxi) The 'entertainment' in the hotel consisted of a guy playing a keyboard every night at dinner and then another guy singing until approx 1am. There is a separate 'disco' area - like a bad case of EuroTrash with the music I am afraid!! There was a Greek night, a cabaret night and a Mr/Mrs Palmariva night - all of which were quite a good laugh. Really looked forward to the karaoke night only to be bitterly disappointed as it was all in Greek and French (of which the hotel is full of) They did try but it just didnt quite happen. To be honest, I think Scottish people coming to the hotel is maybe a fairly recent thing and they are just not sure about what to do or how to entertain us. They really cater for the Greek/French market and the average age of them was about 70 (there were only approx 12 Scottish families there) There was a complaint one day that the Scottish children were making too much noise in the pool (at 1pm!!) and they were to be quiet as this was siesta time.
All in all, a nice place, very clean and well maintained with lots to do during the day. Come night time however, and there is very little to do for adults or kids, unless, of course you dont mind listening to Antonio on his organ all night and dancing to the French Birdie Song!!
A few hints- there is a shop in the hotel - it is overpriced and you will get much cheaper at the supermarket across the road (2 euros for a can of juice in the hotel and 46 cents at the supermarket) BEWARE OF THE ROAD!! It is really dark at night and very busy all the time. The beach bar/cafe is quite expensive for snacks but dinner is not until 8pm. The hotel has a lot of arcades and games machines - as there is little to do, the kids will drive you mad asking for euros for them! Some of them do not work but you will have a hard time trying to get your money back as the bar manager blames the hotel manager and vice versa, persevere though!! There is a happy hour from 5.30-6.30pm every night - drinks are half price, but only alcoholic ones - another warning for those of you with kids!
They will tell the kids that the mini golf/tennis courts are busy - if an adult goes, they are mysteriously available! Finally, beware that the Greeks and French people will 'reserve' EVERYTHING from tables, sunbeds etc although there are no signs on them, nor will they queue for food etc and will try to argue and push you out the way
Go here if you want complete relaxation. Do not go if you want wild nights and British entertainment as you will be disappointed.

  • Liked — Lovely hotel which was very clean and the food was of good quality
  • Disliked — no entertainment for Brits and the location of the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the supermarket for your drinks
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

I think this is the best hotel I have stayed in, in Greece and I have stayed in many.There is a wonderful atmosphere and the staff are fantastic. I went expecting the food to be the usual boring fare but was pleasantly surprised. The wine in the dining room was very good and also a good price. The rooms are fully air conditioned at no extra cost, the sunbeds on the private beach are also free. The Palmariva have lovely gardens and plenty of entertainment day and evening. It may not suit people who want a fantastic nightlife but the town of Eretria is a 4 euro taxi journey away. I really recommend this hotel and if you hire a car you can see parts of the Island of Evia

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

Just came back from the worst week away in my life. My travel agent booked a sea view room. when we arrived we got a room onto a building site next door. I complained and told would cost 42 euros to upgrade, upgrade i did. next day broken into my wifes paddlock broken off her case her purse my wallet stolen. Manager didnt believe it happened in his hotel, and he told the police this, i then spent 3 days of my holiday trying to get a report about this because of what he said. Food was mediocre and repedative. Entertainment was a guy on the organ every night. Drink was expensive as they knew you were a captive audience unless you went the 4 km to town each night. The staff were all mostly friendly tho and pool was nice, untill the manager let 200 ( not a lie) children use the facilities on our last day before departure. My Travel agents have taken this up with the tour operators Sunways and are waiting on a reply, i dont want other Scottish people suffering like we have.

Andrew

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2005

Just returned from a short break (too short) at palmariva resort. We flew Air Scotland and it was very basic but we arrived on time.
This is the most amazing resort. The food is fabulous, the entertainment programme left is all in stitches. From the dancing on the beach in the morning to the disco at night. We stayed in a bungalow and it was beautiful, huge balcony and lovely modern bathroom.
The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Put us scots to shame.
The main plus was the fact the greeks go there for there holidays. It has not been overrun by the typical british tour companies infact the scottish where the only brits there. So has kept its natural greek charm.. Evia itself is beautiful and Eretria is only €4 in a taxi.. well worth a look.

So sad I had to leave after four days.

Cant wait till next year.. p.s. please dont tell too many people about this place as we done want to ruin it.

x

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

This is a lovely place to stay no matter what age. The staff were a credit to the hotel and were very helpful (even when I dropped my key down the lift shaft doh), the food was great, it must have been to satisfy my 14 yr son that I travelled with :-) You do have to pay 6 euros for a sea view (previous review) but I found it the best 6 euros spent all holiday as the view was worth every cent. The beach and pool were spotless and activities were there if you want them, we went on the canoes and was bracing to say the least. Overall a great time was had will be back next yr with hubby and my 2 older kids.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmariva Beach Bomo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmariva Beach Bomo Club

Address: Malaconda, Eretria 34008, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Eretria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eretria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eretria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmariva Beach Bomo Club 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Palmariva Beach Bomo Club 4 * offers facilities for unforgettable holidays and total relaxation: delightful surroundings, a beautiful beach, delicious cuisine, excellent rooms, plenty of entertainment and sightseeing opportunities and the system Ultra All Inclusive. The hotel is located on Evia - one of the most picturesque islands and the second largest island in Greece, in the vicinity of the tourist resort of Eretria, full of attractions: ancient Greek temples, museums, castles and monasteries. The hotel is next to the bus stop (50 m) and is only a 5-minute drive from Eretria and an hour-drive from Athens International Airport "Eleftherios Venizelos". Overlooking the beautiful coast of Evia, surrounded by green gardens, 4-star hotel Palmariva offers premium services, Russian-speaking staff and various kids' facilities. The hotel amenities will provide a pleasant vacation for the most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Palmariva Beach Bomo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmariva Eretria Beach Hotel Eretria
Palmariva Hotel Eretria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmariva Beach Bomo Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.