We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky hotel in a quiet location - excellent overall !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malerwinkel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Malerwinkel Hotel to your Saves list
Malerwinkel Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Burggraben 6 | 51429 Bergisch Gladbach-Bensberg, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Surrey.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A quirky hotel in a quiet location - excellent overall !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, Mon 22 - Wed 24 April 2013, for business.

Some of the bedrooms have the bathroom on one level and the bedroom on another level. Please do not misunderstandme, the rooms are "ensuite" it is just the way that the old timber building has been converted in to a hotel. The hotel has charm and character that you would expect from a renovated period building. These are the only reasons why I would describe this as a "quirky hotel".

My bedroom had the bedroom and bathroom all on the same level.

The bedroom / bathroom were excellent.
The breakfast was excellent.
Reception service was excellent.

The hotel location is in Bensberg, it is a nice small town.

Would I stay at this hotel again? Definitely, yes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malerwinkelhotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Malerwinkel Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello from Bensberg, thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you have felt comfortable with us and you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and our service. We are looking forward to seeing you again very much. Greetings from the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
20
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel is very nice, consisting in few small buildings around a nice garden. Located in the historical centre of the city is a very good choice for business travellers as well as tourist and families. Atmosphere is excellent, you feel to be at home. I've got a room in the ground floor and it was OK, can be better in terms of space and newer furniture but no complains at all. Breakfast is one of the best ever for such a small hotel, large, well presented and served, delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malerwinkelhotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Malerwinkel Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Merengue70, thank you for your time and the nice review of your stay. True, our hotel is a secure location and amenities for business travelers and also for guests who are planning a short break and relaxation. We were very happy about the great praise us regarding our breakfast! As for the choice of room, so we advise you next time happy to find the suitable one for you home on time. Until then greetings to bella Italia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, Essex
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a conference in the Schloss Bensberg hotel nearby, and so I was booked into the Malerwinkel hotel for 2 nights (Werdnesday and Thursday). It does not have an imposing grand entrance but it did offer me a relaxing stay as a business traveller.

The staff were very friendly and the hotel has character.

I had room 32 which was quite large and modern in design. Not much wardrobe stay but enough for 2 days! Breakfast was a good continental one with lots of fresh food options is served in the conservatory area just behind reception.

The hotel has no bar or evening food - so treat as a higher quality Bed & Breakfast. it is 30 minutes (35 euros) from Cologne airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Altogether we tried three rooms. Room 13 is small, with a low ceiling and a cramped bathroom. The beds were under a single-glazed window, meaning that there was a draught on our heads, so we asked for a different room. Room 9, another small room, has underfloor heating. The control dial was set at 15 degrees centigrade upon arrival, so I reset it at 25 degrees and went for a meal, assuming the room would heat up - well it didn´t so on to room 5, again small, with no windows, but two skylights. The room was warm enough, so we stayed there. The receptionist was unfriendly and did not apologise for the inconvenience caused. The breakfast at 9 Euros extra per head was adequate. However, the total package (cold rooms) was too expensive at 169 euros. We were VERY disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed there in September, the place is really beautiful and charming, old and traditional timber houses, yet the rooms are modern and renovated.
Everybody is helpful, friendly and very decent.
Breakfast is great, a lot of diversity, and the place where it is served is just beautiful overlooking the garden.
The hotel is very close to the bus station, many shops and some pubs.
We loved it, and I am sure it's beautiful in the winter time.
The only downside is that there is no ac in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Simple, quite small rooms, traditional furniture, but well maintained. Rooms are in 2 or 3 different buildings.
Internet is available through a 3rd party provider, but they offer it free of charge. As you have to enter your email, maybe they collect email addresses and finance themselves through that. It is WLAN based.
Breakfast is very good, typical small hotel style, meaning they offer lot of goodies and it is really tasty. A lot of choices are available.
Service is personal and very nice. Excellent.
The rooms are basically only for sleeping, I do not think you want to spend a day working in one. TV is smaller than my Laptop screen, maybe 12 inch max, but all the usual TV is provided, incl CNN etc etc

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We are a big family with 3 young children. It is important for us to have a nice hotel which is children friendly with for instance baby chair, baby bed and so on. But we were disappointed by this hotel who is not according to us for families. The rooms and especially the bedroom were not very clean. It is also not very quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malerwinkel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malerwinkel Hotel

Address: Burggraben 6 | 51429 Bergisch Gladbach-Bensberg, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bergisch Gladbach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malerwinkel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming and privately owned hotel set in historic half-timbered houses in the district of Bensberg, in the heart of Bergisch Gladbach. The ensemble of buildings surrounding the courtyard garden - an oasis that invites you to linger.The 35 rooms and suites of the Malerwinkel hotels are decorated individually and with great attention to detail. Each room has its own special touch.In the original building's rooms from a colorful mix of tradition and modernity. Old wooden beams meet up with style. Sunny room in pastel shades that are decorated in a classical music theme, are located in the renovated building of the former School of Music. The spacious rooms at the House of Artists are inspired by famous painters.Every morning you can enjoy a breakfast buffet of bright winter garden in the main house and enjoy as a relaxing start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Malerwinkel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malerwinkel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.