We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience at Schloss Lerbach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach to your Saves list
Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lerbacher Weg, 51469 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience at Schloss Lerbach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked the hotel last minute using my British Airways frequent flyer miles. Having travelled to Dusseldorf Airport from Los Angeles, but staying in Zurich (where my family lives) I decided to book a hotel the night before I was to leave back to LA. This hotel was featured on BA's website, so I decided to book it.

On the drive up, you can see there is a moderately sized forest surrounding the property. Upon entering the property, you drive through a gate. There are no signs or at least I did not notice any. You drive past the gate and end up in front of the hotel. From the time I drove up into the circular driveway to the time it took me to get out of my vehicle, a gentleman came up and assisted me with my luggage all the way from the car up to my room. That's what I call service.

The room itself was great. There is a small entry way and to the left was a modern bathroom and to the right was the bedroom. Both separated by a door. The room was rather large especially for being in Europe. I have stay at numerous hotels in Europe and the rooms are rather small compared to this one. I believe they issued me the smallest or the cheapest of the rooms. My only complaint about the living quarters is that the room was rather dark. Although there were lamps and built in lighting, it was still dark. The bed was very comfortable especially having recently injuring my back.

I did order room service as I was too lazy to venture out and grab something at the McDonald's I passed a few miles away. Another complaint was that there was a limited selection for room service, the food was excellent. The hotel does feature an restaurant, but I did not want to leave the comfort my room. Service was prompt. Breakfast was included, but I had to leave early in the morning.

I did noticed a brand new baby blue BMW 7 Series used as a shuttle. Although I have a love of cars and was really intrigued to utilise the shuttle, I decided to pass. Perhaps my next stay.

Since I arrived by car, the hotel valets the car for you. No need to worry about parking. It is all included in the price of the stay, although I only paid $35 for the $200 a night stay.

This hotel is an absolute must!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
67
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The location is a beautiful castle, in a beautiful garden.
Food is very good, even in the "second" choice Coq au Vin, with more reasonable price.
But I'm disappointed because it takes long time to get answer to any e-mail (you have to send twice in two days to get reply) and, I clearly wrote them that I was preparing a surprise meeting for my wife with her sister, but they arranged wrong greeting card in my room and the surprise failed due to their stupid mistake...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Confortable hotel near Cologne in a park with a nice garden. The gourmet restaurant is great (see dedicated review) and justifies a stay at the hotel.

We stayed 5 nights in the golf suite. The room is ok and everything we asked for when we booked was in the room when we arrived : baby cot for our 6 month old baby, additional bed for our 4 yo son, ipod docking station, nespresso device...

The room's design was old style and not exciting. The view was also very different with what one expects from a suite in a Relais & Chateaux : watching the parking is no excitement...

The room was extremely quiet and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was ok.

The main issue is the breakfast. We had our breakfast in the room 4 times and it was never ok. There was always something missing, eggs were often cold... Breakfast quality is very low.

The restaurant Coq au Vin was ok but slow.

The Gourmet restaurant is outstanding. Only 2 stars ! It obviously deserves the one it lost last year. No doubt Nils Henkel will revover his 3rd Star this year.

As a conclusion : hotel is confortable and quiet but only average for a Relais & Chateaux. The Gourmet Restaurant is outstanding.

Room Tip: Families with children and strollers must be careful when booking as a few rooms (including the Golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were 2 couples and had a great stay. My husband and I rented a room that was supposed to be a Superior and it was wonderful, beautiful decor and nice view to the lake. I think we got an upgrade, but I am not sure, anyway was great. Bathroom could be a bit larger, but it was fine. Service was really exceptional, they try to do anything to make us feel very comfortable. We had also excellent dinners at Coq au Vin. The Beauty and Spa is small, the dress rooms in pool area were insufficient, but the treatments very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to lake&gardens. 301 was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Charming room with breakfest included ( price was 3 nights for the price of 2) so very good value for money. Breakfest is in the bistro; so we had a very charming and wonderfull breakfest ( very large choice ) for the first 2 mornings. The 3 star restaurant was good but not wow; the service and the wines were excellent. We had the silvester gala dinner and that was a bit of a disappointment, not worth the price. (food was mediocre, even not warm) They didn't warn us that the dinner was on big round tables with oder guests; so no tête à tête possible and for those who do not speak german it would be a very annoying situation. Also the morning of the first there was no possibility to eat separetly, I prefer for far the ambiance of the bistro. So that was a big minor for us. One excellent point was the staff, there are really very nice and helpfull

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in this Schloss for 5 nights, it is about 25 min drive from old Cologne, or you can take the handy train, the hotel is more than happy to give you a lift. Service went beyond expectations, breakfasts were exceptional and the bar at night just right. The setting in the forest outside of Cologne is almost like a fairytale, they have amazing trail running routes (well marked) in the forest and just outside the grounds. I will be back here for sure

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here for 6 days in October. Hotel staff were amazing, they assisted with everything from arranging restaurant reservations, daily taxis and always went beyond expectations with requests. The Nightly bar tender deserves a special mention, we never had an empty glass :) We ate twice at the bistro restaurant and both times food and service were first class. The buffet breakfast is also worth mentioning, good variety of fresh and healthy options. Would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure. Make sure you have directions or a map to the hotel as many taxi drivers did not know where it was located.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach

Address: Lerbacher Weg, 51469 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bergisch Gladbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach in Bergisch Gladbach near to Cologne is considered as one of the best luxury hotels in Germany. It provides a perfect setting for any occasion; for an epicurean fling, an exhilarating celebration, or a romantic weekend for two. You will sense at your arrival just what an extraordinary place the castle hotel is - this enchanting hotel, with its imposing facade entwined in vines, is situated in the middle of an enormous private park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Lerbach Bergisch Gladbach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Althoff Schlosshotel Lerbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.