We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit over-rated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Enoteca

Trattoria Enoteca
Grand Hotel Schloss Bensberg | Kadettenstrasse, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
+49 220442915
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $55 - $77
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: "Cologne's chic gourmet set love meeting at the Trattoria Enoteca for lively lunches, chatty catch-ups and romantic tables for two. Tucked away inside the stately Grand Hotel Schloss Bensberg, the restaurant and its moreish Mediterranean menu attracts a well-coiffed international crowd and businessy types. Relaxed and homely – the interior at Trattoria Enoteca has lemon walls hand-painted with vines, ruby red curtains and potted palms, and the hearty Italian-led menu includes favourites such as the hand-tapped beef carpaccio with spinach salad, citrus olive oil, old balsamic and Parmesan cheese; the Amalfi lemon risotto; and the ragoût of organic lamb shoulder with egg, Parmesan and homemade oricchette noodles. "
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bit over-rated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food was excellent, though I think our servers forgot about us because people that came in after we had started our first course were served their main course before we were. The portions were very small. Maybe they ran out of the sword fish? The resaurant was busy late and had a good buzz, but the decor was not all that inspiring-Enoteca is in the basement of the castle so it has a low ceiling and not much in the way of architecture flair you see as you go throught the castle on the way to the restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice italian style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Liked the atmosphere, not too complicated food, tasty and delicious. The staff was very well trained. Portions were quite large so there was no space for dessert, which I didn't regret too much as there was nothing on the menu I liked.
It must be lovely to be able to sit outside on a warm summers evening, unfortunately it was raining when we were there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The great lunch that almost wasn't...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

With very little time available during our visit to the area, we were excited (and surprised) to get with relative ease a lunchtime booking at three Michelin star restaurant Vendome at Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg. We arrived at the hotel and were promptly directed by the hotel staff to Vendone, only to find that it was clearly closed for renovation. Shortly thereafter the hapless hotel worker who had directed us to the restaurant came looking for us to point out the obvious - Vendome was closed! He suggested our booking may instead be with the Italian restaurant within the hotel grounds.

Disappointed, we headed that way but became lost in the enormous and beautiful caste that is now a hotel. We asked a second and similarly mentally-vacant hotel staff member to direct us to Tratorria Enoteca, only to be told the restaurant was closed between 12pm and 3pm. Bemused by the confusion and contradictory advice, we started to head back to our car when the second hotel worker chased us down to say that Enoteca was actually open between 12pm and 3pm, but closed between 3pm and 5pm. Now that sounded more sensible!

Our minor ordeal was quickly forgotten once we found we did indeed have a booking at Enoteca and settled into our table. Seated in a cute cobble-stoned garden area with glimpses of the hill-top view, the perfect summer day, attentive staff and beautiful surroundings took over. Lunch was fantastic. The lemon risotto was perfectly balanced in flavour; carpaccio of beef melt-in-your-mouth; and the 60 hour shoulder of beef was something special and certainly new to me. Dessert was fantastic and topped off with the best espresso coffee I've ever tasted.

Being unfamiliar with European wine we asked for a lighter red and went with the recommendation of the house red. We were not at all disapointed, finding it to be well balanced and sufficiently robust but not overwhelming for drinking on a summer day.

All in all, our Enoteca experience was one of the best lunches we've had and more than made up for the disappointment of missing out on Vendome. In fact, some of the locals we spoke to favour Enoteca over Vendome because the former is such better value for money.

Do be weary of any advice from the hotel staff. If you make a booking with the hotel rather than directly with the restaurant be sure to specify very clearly where you want your reservation! We also felt the Euro 7.50 charge by the hotel for parking could have been waived considering our decent spend at the restaurant. Still, a great overall experience for someone new to Europe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in stunning castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Nice atmosphere in Trattoria Enoteca.
Well decorated, in absolutely stunning place, Schloss Bensberg.

WoW its customers by the location.

Menu is offering a variety of Italian dishes. dishes nicely executed, portions of the right size, good selection.

Nice wine selection.

Affordable but you need to book in advance as it is almost fully booked every night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Porchetta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Party of 4 adults and 1 child. Pre-ordered the porcetta (suckling piglet). Nicely cooked. Plenty of sides and condiments. Good service.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Enoteca also viewed

Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Trattoria Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Enoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.