We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
High Street Abbots Bromley Rugeley Staffordshire, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BN, England
+44 1283 840256
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Spanish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Coach and Horses is a traditional village pub in the picturesque village of Abbots Bromley serving traditional and not so traditional home cooked food. Having recently been totally refurbished to a very tasteful standard it is a fabulous place to visit.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Coach and Horses is a great pub/restaurant set in a lovely village location. The menus are varied and interesting, with a tempting specials board. We visited recently to celebrate a special birthday and the food was just first rate. The "prawns pilpil" and "scallops, prawns and chorizo" were a huge hit with our party, as were the steaks and enormous mouthwatering pies. The food says homecooked and it actually tastes like it! We enjoyed it so much we have just returned for a sunday lunch and, again, we were not disappointed. The lunch was fab, lovely fresh veg, generous slices of meat and all the trimmings. Perfect.
Also must mention the staff. Everyone is genuinely lovely, so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait for next visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    129
    21
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional freshly prepared food and homemade puds @ exceptional value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

It would be fair to say the homemade fish pie is the nicest I've ever tasted and I will certainly be recommending it to my friends and family as I will the place..

The coach and horses really stands out set in a beautiful Staffordshire village, it's quirky original features and friendly warm welcoming atmosphere is so inviting.!

The food is amazing and affordable and the beautiful tempting home made desserts are such a tease!!

The owners and staff are friendly and can't seem to do enough for you.

The coach and horses comes highly recommended, and I can vouch for that!

Will I be going back?...have already rebooked! :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Luch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited the newly refurbished restraunt for sunday lunch, we were not disapointed. The roast was first class, very hot and plenty to go round. Obviously we have booked to go there again. The staff were very friendly and helpful without being pushy. The restraunt has been very tastefully refurbished and other facilities were spotless. As we were sitting there the restraunt was filling up nicely so we are not the only ones who know thier secret. Well done

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“All refurbished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A lovely homely pub, friendly staff give a warm welcome, good food & genuine Tapas if you just want a casual dining experience. The new decor is superb, well worth a visit and set in a very pretty village!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tapas - What a Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friend, Pisces Man was given the task of organising some where to go as we hadn't seen each other in a couple of months

Well he found this place and what an excellent surprise. He said he checked out trip advisor reviews so you could tell this was a proud moment for him as he done his research. :-)

It was a traditional but well decorated pub with aspects of modern too.

We looked at the menu and decided on tapas at £2.50 per dish. We ordered all 6 dishes and nachos for approx £4 and spanish prawn starter for £5.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and said we would go again.

It I had any negative comment it was that the 250ml wine was expensive at £5 and I think a touch too much garlic in the dishes, it is now 19.48 the next day and I still have a lingering taste. Definitely no smooching for me! lol

However, Pisces Man here is the formal recording that you requested that you made a decent choice of place to go - the company was as entertaining as ever ;-)

Already recommend to my friend today ., just warned about the garlic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

Abbots Bromley, Rugeley
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.