We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Buttercross !!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Buttercross Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Buttercross Bed and Breakfast
Market Place, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
bury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Buttercross !!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just the one night to be near the Staffordshire showground for the classic bike show . What a little gem, this is the best B and B we have every stayed in ,we had a comfy king size bed , bathrobes, and soft and fluffy white towels ,if you didn't fancy a shower there is a bathroom with a large bath that can be used as.well , there was also a little tea trolley with homemade cookies and a selection of teas and coffees and hot chocolate in our room , also fresh milk and bottled water in a small fridge in the breakfast room , breakfast was plentiful and very tasty with plenty of choices , and you could also finish of with some homemade cakes , nothing was to much trouble for our host Sharon who made you feel at home . I was debating whether to review this one as I want to keep it a secret !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. It looks like Buttercross ticked a lot of boxes for you! I am so glad that you really enjoyed staying with us for your visit to the Staffordshire show ground. It was a pleasure to have you stay and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
44
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the best places I have ever stayed. It is spotlessly clean,extremely comfortable and very stylish.The owner is welcoming,hospitable and genuinely caring.Lots of very thoughtful little extras like home made cakes for guests and glossy magazines in the breakfast/sitting room are provided and it is also great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found Buttercross to be comfortable and welcoming. So important when you are travelling away from home alone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed three days at Buttercross. I was comfortable and made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble for Sharon. The accommodation was a true home from home, the breakfast was first class with a wide choice on offer. The village offers a variety of venues to eat and drink and Buttercross is ideally located for anyone who takes part in outdoor activities such as walking cycling and sailing. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the on suite was spotless. I have no hesitation in recommending the established and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you found everything to your liking. We try to make a good balance between the home comforts and the luxury of staying away. The village and neighbouring areas have a lot to offer. Great places to eat and drink and lots of places to visit. I hope we see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights
Room good, clean, comfy and spacious
Plenty of local pubs for food and one curry house
The owner Sharon could not have been more helpful
Pleasant stay would recommend
Good local walks, fishing and sailing nearby
Great time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Buttercross. We are ideally situated for a short walk to all the local hostelries! All of which offer Great food and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Warm welcome and very clean and tidy room. Good breakfast. Unfortunately sink in room was very small and the hand soap provided smaller still! Handwash would be better than the tiny soap fragment provided. The village was quiet and interesting and a good selection of places to eat in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Abbots Bromley. It is a beautiful village with lots of interesting things to do and see and as you found plenty of places to eat! The sink in the en-suites are only hand basins, however I can change the soap! I do like the hygienic individual soaps that can be thrown away after the guest has left but I will look at alternative options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from 4 perfect days spent at Buttercross. What a delightful little place! It was cozy, warm and welcoming and the breakfasts perfect. It is ideally positioned and our room (Buttercross) had a gorgeous view of the little marketplace. After 3 weeks of traveling in Europe it felt like coming home - I can't imagine finding better in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so glad that you found it cozy, warm and welcoming as it is our aim to provide a home from home experience where you are able to relax. I think 'Buttercross' has one of the best views of the lovely village market place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio USA.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful village, that is well worth the visit. Sharon, the owner is extremely helpful, and made our one night stay most pleasant. We had a delicious meal at the Goats Head pub across the square ( a 50 yard walk!).
We were on the third floor, in a lovely room with a skylight. Just a word of warning if you can't do stairs this wouldn't work for you.
Breakfast was excellent, and the treats in the dining room were wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon E, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and visiting Abbots Bromley. All the hostelries are within walking distance and always make our guests welcome. Due to the style of the building we do have a few stairs! However there are rooms on the first floor if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbots Bromley
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley
Premier Inn Rugeley
#1 of 3 in Rugeley
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cedar Tree Hotel
Cedar Tree Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rugeley
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
7.2 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 10 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
3.3 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 10 in Rugeley
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttercross Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

Address: Market Place, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Abbots Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbots Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to put emphasis on giving you all the friendliness, luxury and comforts of home, leaving you free to focus on enjoying the many delights that Staffordshire has to offer. So whether you are walking, cycling, sailing, horse riding, playing golf, visiting stately homes/theme parks or simply relaxing; discover why your stay at Buttercross will be one to remember by exploring our web pages; and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Buttercross Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.