We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbots Bromley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buttercross Bed and Breakfast
Market Place, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“It doesn't get better than this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A delightful B&B, very tastefully decorated and with amazing attention to detail.

Good location in a pretty village and several good pubs for food within easy walking distance.
Good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks Nigel and look forward to seeing you again in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
36
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a real gem. Beautifully appointed with great attention to detail - a range of all sorts of teas, real coffee on your bedroom tray and Lush bath bombs! I wished I could have stayed longer. The breakfast was wonderful and Jayne made sure that I felt really at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks Eleanor - hope you manage a return visit that doesn't involve business, then you can really relax and take in Staffordshire's activities. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in July to go to Alton Towers and this b&b was incredible. Beautiful room, clean fresh, tidy, cosy and comfy! Everything you need. Jayne was such a lovely lady! Me and my partner want to stay in the b&b forever haha. Amazing xx

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments Jenny - I am sure we can come to some arrangement for a long term let...!! Hope to see you again next year - Alton Towers has a new ride coming in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A very stylish and comfortable B&B, with a designer feel at a very reasonable price. Everything you could need, including home-made biscuits in the bedroom and books in the hallway, and a warm welcome too. Just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
So glad you enjoyed you found your business stay comfortable, I hope you return to enjoy and explore the area in the future. Thanks for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There are many places in the world but just a few you always remember . Buttercross B&B is the loveliest b&b I have never been before.
Everthing is perfect. It has a very good location, in the center of the pretty village.
The furniture is very special It is really beautiful and it is tastefully placed
The beds are very comfortable and they are made with lovely plaids
All rooms are well furnished , very comfortable and very clean
Every morning we had a fantastic breakfast very generous and really very good
Everything is thought to detail, the boxes with a very good biscuits , an amazing brownie,the towels , the tissues , the soaps were with a lovely smell...Everything is beautiful
We came from Spain to leave our daughter for a year and we had a really lovely stay and We just think to come back very soon
Once you try it you just want to repeat
Congratulations to Jayne who is a very special person and has made B&B a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Oh Ana, what a special family you are, so glad that we were able to make your stay a little easier even though you were having to leave your daughter behind. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon. Thanks for taking the time to write your review in English too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Buttercross B&B is beautifully presented and furnished to a very high standard. All of the rooms were very clean and there was even a selection of high quality Lush toiletries in the bathrooms. We were welcomed by Jayne the proprietor who also cooked us a great english breakfast early before our departure. If you plan to stay in the area this is the perfect choice.

I can also recommend a visit to the Goats Head pub across the road for great food and a selection of real ales.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Glad your return the area was a good experience for you, our Lush products are always well received too! Don't leave it too long before you come back. Thanks for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a lovely stay - just one night. We had an appointment on the Saturday morning in the village and wanted to be well rested - and picked the number almost at random.

Usually guests arrive early but we were late - no problem - we came in, had a lovely tour, inspected all the lovely biscuit boxes, put our bags down and ran out for dinner.

Back to comfy beds, a delightful room, a wonderful collection of bath smellies, lovely shower, brilliant selection of teas... and the most delightful fantastic breakfast. Perfect.

The next morning we ran off (such a pity to leave that bed) and received a call later about the book my daughter had abandoned on the floor... which was left for us to collect - and would have been got to us somehow if we hadn't made it to the collection point in time.

We can't wait to stay again, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBR, Owner at Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Always happy to be flexible, your stay with us needs to be as stress free as possible for you; thanks for your review, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buttercross Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

Address: Market Place, Abbots Bromley, Rugeley WS15 3BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley > Abbots Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbots Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to put emphasis on giving you all the friendliness, luxury and comforts of home, leaving you free to focus on enjoying the many delights that Staffordshire has to offer. So whether you are walking, cycling, sailing, horse riding, playing golf, visiting stately homes/theme parks or simply relaxing; discover why your stay at Buttercross will be one to remember by exploring our web pages; and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buttercross Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list