We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place ! Perfect ski resort !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burg Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burg Hotel
Oberlech 266 | 6764 Lech Am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 52 hotels in Lech
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place ! Perfect ski resort !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

You have to try this ! We have been there with friends from greece ! Perfect location ! Nice breakfast , big hotel with many places to relax , kids friendly , with a nany that can stay with the children almost all day long , just five minutes fromthe village! And 1 second from the skiing slopes!

Room Tip: South view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

...which is why we return here year after year.

The Burg Hotel can do luxury, comfort and great food. Once in Oberlech, the amazing underground tunnel system that links the cable car and hotels, means ladies forget those ugly moonboots, high heels are de rigeur.

The tunnel system means all deliveries are made underground, so you'll never be awoken by lorries replenishing supplies.

The half board deal includes an amazing buffet breakfast with numerous hot a la carte options and an evening meal where you have the choice of at least six delicious courses...yes six. Weight gain seems compulsory even after plenty of skiing and use of the spa facilities.

This is the great thing about this hotel, there's plenty to do if you don't ski, can't ski or like us, find eight hours on the slopes a thing of a (more youthful) past.

Oh and did I mention the staff, professional, courteous, warm and charming. They are a true credit to the hotel.

You will love it, that's if there are any rooms available. 80% of their custom is repeat business and when rebooking for the next year you advise the hotel management of possible dates for next year and then in the summer they write to you, letting you know when you can come!

Room Tip: A south facing balcony room to take advantage of the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Is is hard to imagine a better Ski Hotel. Oberlech offers almost ski to the room, with the main lifts outside the front door.

The hotel itself is one of a few ****+ hotels in a small cluster .. they even have their own underground system for your luggage from the cablecar that is the only way in to the resort..

We have just stayed for a week over half term . our 'Standard Room' was large and of a very high quality with iPhone speaker system, flat screen TV, a new 'sleep system' (very comfy bed!), luxury bath room with robes and views out on to the snow. Higher grades of room offer balcony, a child sleep area and more expansive views from the higher floors (as per my wife's parents room) ..

The half board was excellent, and apart from one upset in the fondue restaurant, the quality of the food was excellent, our waiter for the week could not have been more helpful.

The size of the lobby is bigger than the other hotels with a great bar this proved to be a great chill out zone, the gym was small but with high quality kit, the pool was good (outside of childrens time .. this was half term !) and the Saunas & Steam area was large and luxurious.

On piste hotels, in Austria at a high altitude resort, are never going to be inexpensive, yet for a luxury experience, with outstanding levels of comfort and service .. this hotel is going to hard to beat anywhere in the alps.

Room Tip: Not sure how many of the room have been upgraded with the new bed & iPhone dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgHotelOberlech, Public Relations Manager at Burg Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed the stay at our BURG Hotel in Oberlech and hope to see you here again next year.
Concerning your question "how many of the rooms have been upgraded with the new bed & iPhone dock" we can proudly tell you that there are currently 50 rooms upgraded already and until autumn 2013 all rooms will be upgraded with the new equipment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We are visiting this hotel for years now. The location is the best by far. Its right on the slopes. The gondola brings you to the hotel and your car stays right in the valley in a lot. From that point on, you don't have to worry about anything. The rooms are nice and spacious. The restaurant is fantastic. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever had. And the dinner every night is just fab. They have a kids programm and they always help you organize your passes, trips, etc. They have an extra restaurant which is specialized in Fondue, but you need a reservation. If you are bored, the spa is beautiful and airy. Or you take the gondola down to the valley.
Only the service in the restaurant (where you get breakfast and dinner) is sometimes a bit uncoordinated, but that doesn't bother me, since everything else is great. We love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This review applies only to the a la carte restaurant (we didn't stay at the hotel).

We (family of 4) ventured up to Oberlech for a meal. My meal was outstanding (trout, leberknödelsoup, cheese). The Wienerschnitzel ordered by my wife and children was disappointing. (Rote Wand is much better). I was irritated when I received the bill : I was nickel-and-dimed for things that were never on the menu (extra charge for bread, extra charge for vanilla sauce, tea cost EUR 6 because it's considered 2 portions) In a nutshell, I could have been in Switzerland.

Shame really, because the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

They have a great location right at the piste and lift Petersboden in Oberlech, the tables are nicely made up, and they have really good Beef tartaar and salad. But when we booked a table over the phone and arrived the next day, there was no reservation or willingness to accomodate us. When we arrived the next day there was no trouble made to fjnd us on the list and then placed on the most far end of the terrace, where there was no willingness to give us a different table. In a way we were lucky as we were given to Irene, and she is extremely sufficient and friendly and made up for it. So if you go, ask for Irenes area! Beef tartar was delicous and we had a lovely wine too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, ski in and out onto the main lift. The apres ski in the bar is fantastic. However, very expensive !. Champagne is flowing everywhere. The food is excellent quality. Good size rooms and excellent views over the slopes. Oberlech is very quiet at night, so you have to go down to lech for bars at night. The slopes are fantastic, very few boarders. The lifts are fabulous. Quick, heated seats, very comfy as well ! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burg Hotel

Address: Oberlech 266 | 6764 Lech Am Arlberg, Lech 6764, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#14 Spa Hotel in Lech
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family friendly 4-Star-Superior BURG Hotel Oberlech is situated in Lech am Arlberg between Tirol and Vorarlberg in Austria at 1,660 meter (1,03 miles) above sea level. Surrounded by the mountains of the Alps it is the perfect spot for skiing, hiking, mountain biking, golf, tennis, wellness and much more. With the legendary skiing resort "Lech-Zuers in Arlberg" one footstep from the hotel away you can enjoy your skiing holidays in one of Austria’s largest and most luxurious skiing resorts. After a beautiful skiing day in the Mountains of the Alps you can have a drink or two at our BURG Ice-Bar, one of Lech’s Après Ski hotspots. Or you just visit our 1.200 m² large SPA Area and relax in an oasis for the senses, in which our professional beauty and wellness team will pamper you head to toe. During spring, summer and fall the Arlberg region is perfect for hiking in the mountains of Tirol and Vorarlberg as well as numerous other sports activities. The BURG Hotel features an own tennis court as well as hiking guides, personal fitness trainers, golf trainers and much more. Additional features and services are our free child care, high-speed Wi-Fi internet, a well arranged wine cellar with over 1000 varieties of wine from all regions, free access to all running cable cars and chairlifts during summer, etc.The Hotel also features a congress center with 6 seminar rooms in different sizes for up to 60 seats each. The fabulous location on top of the alps is also a very popular spot for marriages. Feel one day like the star in "Sound of Music" when you stand in front of the "Kriegeralpe" Chalet, which is also connected to the BURG Hotel in Oberlech. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burg Hotel Lech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Burg Hotel to your Saves list