We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Berg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Berg to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Berg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberlech 117, Lech 6764, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Uetikon Am See
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Oberlech in summer is just as beautiful as it is in winter! We received such a warm welcome, it was like visiting good friends, even though it was "only" our second visit. The "Petersboden" suite is very nice and spacious for families. Only little downside is the missing minibar. However, we could store medication for our daughter in the hotel fridge and that worked out well too. We look forward to going back in winter..

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello from wintry Austria!
Thank you so much for your lovely remark on Trip advisor!
We are happy to read that you had a great time in Goldener Berg! We are also happy you liked your room and you felt like home, even though it was only your second stay. We really try hard to make everybody who comes to Goldener Berg feel like home – lovely to read, that we succeeded.
We are very much looking forward to have you soon with us again! If you do need a fridge in the room for your medication, pls do let us know, and we will put one in for you!
Thank you very much for this! We do hope to have you back very soon and am sending our very best in the meantime
Daniela Pfefferkorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We found our stay delightful. We had booked a few days in Lech for our round-trip in Austria, and our only regret is that we did not stay longer. The staff was super helpful and great - everything was arranged and nothing seemed to be of too much trouble to them. We even got our private hiking guide from the hotel.

The whole experience was so relaxing - from arrival champagne admiring the magnificent view, morning swim and spa after long day of hiking. Definitely recommend booking dinners (ie half-board) - we had lovely meals, great wine and attentive service. We definitely look forward to many happy returns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hello from the Austrian Summer Mountains!
Thank you so much for your entry on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It really is our biggest delight to see our guests leave, saying we should have stayed longer!
Thank you!
We would very much love to have you back very soon, for some more great hikes in our beautiful nature, some more relaxation in our Alpin Spa and some more spoiling in our restaurants. In the meantime we send you our very best regards
Daniela Pfefferkorn &
the entire team of Goldener Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Goldener Berg is a hotel that tries very hard (and delivers). On arrival the delightful reception staff did not stay behind their desk but came out to shake hands and pour a welcome glass of sparkling wine. The food in the main restaurant is really excellent, with a thoroughly generous cheese board. Mrs Pfefferkorn comes round every evening to each table to speak. When we went to look at the spa the gentlemen behind the desk immediately showed us around. The beds are comfortable and the daily service very thorough. It is all very well run indeed.

Why not 5 stars for the review? Well, this is for two reasons. First, although we'd booked a suite we found our room to be quite small. To be fair the square footage is given in the brochure so there is full disclosure, but it is not always easy to translate figures to actual impression - and it was meant to be a suite so we just assumed more. The bedroom had enough room for a bed but with very little room around it and the sitting area was small with a low ceiling. Second, we felt the bar area lacked any atmosphere. Perhaps it was the guests who all just looked a bit grumpy in the bar, but we felt there was a lack of personality. One evening we walked down to the Berg Hotel and had a beer in the bar there, where the barman made an effort to have a chat and it seemed to have a bit more pzazz.

Things to note/be aware of:

- there is a ski hire shop at the local Berg hotel and they will deliver the skis to the hotel as well as collect at the end of the stay.

- the 'dine around' option is a bit strange because, contrary to our assumption that it meant going to other hotels, in fact it means dining in two of the separate restaurant areas within the hotel or popping across to the Alte Goldener Berg (on a set menu). The food is (as above) very good indeed and a lot of effort goes into it.

- the wine is pretty expensive.

All in all a very nice stay in Oberlech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
A warm Hello from the Austrian Mountains!
Thank you so much for your entry on Trip Advisor! We are happy to read that our efforts of making you feel at home and comfortable were noticed and successful. It really is our highest goal, to make sure, all the wishes of our guests are noticed at once.
We are also happy to read, that you liked our kitchen.
We are sorry to read, that you felt the room was too small. Did you get a chance to look at some other rooms, as we do have rooms in all kinds of sizes.
Thank you also very much for your remark about the bar. There was a small problem we do have to admit, as our main bar keeper turned ill, very soon in the season and we then worked without this main bar keeper, who would have been there for you to make you feel as comfortable as possible! Sorry about this – I am sure in the next season, there will be someone very attentive and lovely at our bar again.
Again, thank you for taking your time to write! We would love to have you back – the next time in a bigger room – maybe “Schneewalzer” would be what you would like! In the meantime we send you our very best regards
Daniela Pfefferkorn &
the entire team of Goldener Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetikon Am See
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel from March, 4th to 11th, 2012! The room was very correct and perfectly clean. The restaurants ambiance and food were great. Best of all though was the service. Outstanding staff! Every staff member was very friendly, helpful and competent. We felt very welcome from the first day! True Austrian hospitality. I can definitely recommend this hotel in every aspect. Absolutely great for kids too! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Hello from the Austrian Alps!
We thank you very much for your lovely words! Thank you so much! Also thank you for praising our service - this is really the most importand thing for us - that everybody feels cared for!
It was our great pleasure to have had you here and we are very much looking forward to have you back soon!
Thank you and all the best
Daniela Pfefferkorn & the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The hotel is absolutely great and more than perfect for skiing vacation.

Location
I don’t think you can find a better one for skiing in Oberlech or Lech: you just leave the ski-room, put on your skis or a board and here you are on the piste. Just read arrival instructions prior to your visit as Oberlech area can be reached only by a cable car (gondola) – no cars there, which is definitely a plus. Car parking is on the bottom of the cable car, so you can always reach it in 10 minutes.

Staff
The staff is very friendly and supportive – whatever we’ve asked about (helicopter skiing, guides/instructors, even flowers) – they helped with everything. We do travel a lot and it’s the most welcoming team I’ve ever met yet, really (great job, Daniela!)

Food
Though breakfasts are the same every day, the variety of food proposed is more than enough not to get tired of it. Their dinners are spectacular. If you pick half-board you’ll also be provided with a Dine Around option, which is ability to dine in one of 4 (or 6?) restaurants in Lech and Oberlech without additional costs (except the drinks for which you’ll have to pay everywhere.) So you can check out quite some venues around, which is not usually proposed by a regular half-board system.

Rooms
Rooms are very clean (the maid visits at least couple of times per day and always leaving some nice stuff in the evening – (don’t want to spoil the surprise, so will not expand on that)), nicely furnished and have almost everything that you may need (slippers, bathrobes, shampoo and even aroma sticks.) The only thing I missed was fan, so don’t forget to take it with you if you think that you may need it (though I’m sure that hotel team will help you with that as well.) Please note that single rooms are really for single use. Even though they say that those can be used by a single parent with a child or a young couple, I’d rather advise to pick double room then, but perhaps it’s my personal love for bigger space.

Spa
Free saunas, relaxation rooms, indoor pool and outdoor Jacuzzi is exactly what you need after skiing day. Massages are good and reasonably priced.
Overall me and my friends who’ve visited Lech for 3 to 5 times before are more than happy that we’ve chosen Goldener Berg and can’t wait to come back again in summer and – no doubt – in winter. I think that Goldener Berg will always be now our choice for Lech.. Otherwise it won’t be Lech :)

From spoilt Russians with love)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Hello from snowy Oberlech!
We thank you so much for your great appraisement! I had tears in my eyes by reading it – it is so lovely, if the work we all do, to make everybody as happy as possible is acknowledged! So thank you again!
I can only say: we cannot wait for you to return to Goldener Berg and yes – you do have to see it in summer – it is sooo lovely and there is so much you can do in summer!
Thank you and see you soon
Daniela Pfefferkorn and the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I wanted to visit the Swarovski Crystal works while in Austria, so I booked a partner hotel listed on the the museums site, which happened to be the Goldener Berg. Little did I realize that the hotel was an hour and a half away. It turned out to be a happy mistake as the back roads that took us to the Goldener Berg were magnificent, with the green alps and small Austrian villages. The hotel itself was a bit tricky to find as out GPS had trouble with high altitudes. Once we located the hotel we found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel comfortable and clean, and the views spectacular. We went in summer so there were very few guests and we didn't realize what time the restaurants closed, so we ended up showing up as they were closing. Instead of sending us away, the chef made a cold plate for us and we got to eat a romantic dinner alone in the restaurant. Neither the chef nor waited made a single complaint and were very friendly. Breakfast in the morning was in a restaurant with a view of the entire valley and had a great selection. There were about a dozen guests in all and everyone was extremely friendly. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, but it was really the management and staff that made our experience so wonderful. Even the owner took time to stop and chat with us. You can't go wrong staying here as long as you don't mind a beautiful, but fairly long, drive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Google Translation
Hallo aus dem derzeit schneebedeckten Oberlech!
Haben Sie ganz lieben Dank für Ihre Bewertung, über die wir uns freuen!
Ja, auch wir sind der Meinung, dass dieses Stückchen Österreich ein ganz besonderes ist und wir freuen uns, wenn auch unsere Gäste das so wahr nehmen.
Wir danken für die lieben Worte über unsere Mitarbeiter und das gute Service – dies ist uns ein großes Anliegen und eine große Freude, wenn Gäste sich so wohl bei uns fühlen!
So hoffen wir doch, Sie auch im kommenden Sommer wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen – wir hätten noch viele Ideen für schöne Ausflüge von uns aus!
Ganz liebe Grüße sendet Daniela Pfefferkorn & das gesamte goldene Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We just returned from 9 fabulous nights at the Hotel Goldener Berg. We stayed over New Years Eve/first week of January.

Here's my comments broken out in sections:

Location: ski in-ski out, 200metres uphill from the centre of Oberlech villiage, chairlift and ski school. Oberlech is a charming, quiet, rather exclusive, car-free mini villiage with a handful of hotels.

Arrival: You can access only via cable car, so its important to understand the arrival instructions, where to take your luggage and how to find the hotel via the tunnel when you arrive at the top of the cable car station. Be prepared for a moderate uphill walk in the snow or via the concrete underground tunnel - follow the signs. Its 200metres but would not be easy with very young children or for people with mobility issues.

Staff and service:
Hotel is family run with personal attention of the charming Daniella and her excellent staff - the service is very professional, attentive, friendly and no request is too much trouble.

Restaurants/dining:
The standard of cuisine was excellent and quite exceptional. Many places offering "Half Board" promise superior quality have been disappointing. The dining at GoldenerBerg was excellent so do not hesitate to book the Half Board.

The breakfast buffet was amazing with a huge array of options beautifully presented plus the choice of ordering cooked breakfast ala carte. The Dine Around package gives the choice of different restaurants/menus with no fewer than 4 courses. The wine list was extensive and they hosted a wine tasting in the cellar that we head was wonderful but we did not attend.

We were lucky enough to enjoy the New Years Eve extravaganza dinner, which was amazing.
Seven courses, live music, dancing and fireworks viewed from the terrace.Unfortunately we did not realise the dinner was formal in dress code, so we were in jeans and smart casual, but it did not seem to be an issue.

Rooms:
Decorated in modern Austrian style the rooms were very good. Very comfortable beds with down comforters, flat screen TV, views of the slopes.

Spa:
Fantastic spa with very modern design, wonderful view and excellent amenities. The outdoor jacuzzi "Panorama" was a highlight - often quite busy after all the skiers returned and the kids joined in!

Other:
Whilst its a small hotel (not sure exactly, maybe 45 rooms) and we were there during peak busy season, the hotel never felt full or crowded. Many guests seemed to know each other and after a few nights we started to meet a few other families. Many people we met have returned to the hotel for Christmas/New Year several times - some as many as 9 times in a row.

I had the impression were were very lucky to find a room the New Years week given the large number of repeat visits and advance bookings.

Value:
This is an expensive hotel during peak times, but was comparable to other options of similar location/offerings.

But its cost-value equation for us seemed about right. If you love skiing then you know how important convenience and location is.We had amazing snow and lots of fresh powder...this combined with the attentive service and excellent dining made it feel worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor 43 are quieter. All are non smoking. Smoking is permitted in the bar area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Hotel Goldener Berg, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Hello from snowy Oberlech!
Thank you so much for your lovely words and the grand view you wrote about your stay in Goldener Berg! Really, it was our pleasure to have had you here! It is a very busy time of the year and we are always very happy, if we still can fulfill all our guests’ needs and wishes!
So we do hope to see you back very soon – given, you are now so close to Oberlech!
Thank you again and all the best from all our team members
Daniela Pfefferkorn and the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Berg

Address: Oberlech 117, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Goldener Berg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 1,700 metres above sea level on a plateau high above Lech, this family-run hotel of the 4-star superior category is directly at the slopes of the Arlberg ski area.Hotel Goldener Berg offers modern rooms and suites with Alpine charm, which combine a cosy ambience with luxurious furnishings.With its large windows and natural materials such as granite and wood, the 500 m² Alpin Spa offers a very natural ambience. Here you will find an outdoor Jacuzzi, an indoor pool, various saunas and relaxation rooms, a fitness room, and a beauty and massage department. There you will be pampered with beauty products made from edelweiss from the hotel’s own Almstern brand.Every evening Hotel Goldener Berg lets you choose from the culinary delights in 4 different restaurants. Half-board is possible at an additional cost and must be booked before arrival and for the entire stay. The wine cellar offers a wide selection of fine wines.In the mornings, afternoon and evenings the hotel offers professional child care in the Kids Club. Activities include children’s shows, fashion shows, torchlight hikes, many sports and games, as well as lunch and dinner (children’s buffet). Cribs and baby monitors are available.The 2 big panorama sun terraces afford beautiful views of the surrounding Lechtal Alps.The cable car, which operates until late at night, takes you to the centre of Lech in only 7 minutes.The ski school and a practice hill are only a few metres away from Hotel Goldener Berg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Goldener Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Berg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.