We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis of tranquility and excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Post Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gasthof Post Hotel to your Saves list
Gasthof Post Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lech 11, Lech 6764, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis of tranquility and excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Enjoyed a very lovely weekend there in summer 2014. A great experience from start to end; warmhearted reception; parking right next door (free), room ready, facilities and its locations explained briefly on the way to the room (just the way I like it rather than those 15 minute speeches some other hotels do instead of just letting you go up to your room in peace). Dinner: simply magnificent. Enjoyed the set menu. Exceeded both our expectations by far. Wine list: first class (and as always in Austria, at a decent price). Service: very personalized. Restaurant atmosphere: alpine style, very discreet. After dinner drink at the bar - again very lovely and good choice of spirits. Had a heavenly sleep afterwards. Took a swim in their infinity pool in the morning. What a lovely way to begin the day. Breakfast was ok (probably the only area where they could improve; selection a big poor for a 5 star). They had a BMW promotion whilst we were there. Driving M myself, that was very welcome since the weather was not too good for a hike. So we were given their 640 Gran Coupé for one day to explore the nearby hillroads - all for free. Paid only petty cash for the fuel. All in all a very great weekend. Relaxation guaranteed. One feels like having been on holiday, even if only stayed at the Gasthof Post for one weekend. Will go back in one month. Cannot wait.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Full of charm and good service. Really good all round and loved the stay in every way. Nice heated outdoor pool makes for a different sort of spa experience. Of course, this is one of the top hotels in one of Europe's top ski resorts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a lovely half term ski break with my sixteen year old daughter stayed at the edelweiss in lech this year. On previous years we have stayed at the sandhoff, the krone, the shranz all leaving us with sweet Austrian memories. On a friend recommendation we went for afternoon tea to The Post. Wow what an unforgettable experience of the rude kind. The head waiter at the bar was arrogant, rude and gave us horrible condescending looks. He then stood in the corner with two other waiters staring at us and making offensive comments(I understand a bit of German). Very dissapointing as the hotel itself is quite beautiful and in a great location. Shame about the attitude of the staff

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel is furnished with antiques of great character, if you like modern minimalist don't stay here. Each bedroom is different, many with traditional fire ovens. The bathrooms have large bath tubs, separate showers and double basins. Bed linen is crisp and comfortable. The restaurant is exceptional quality but service can be slow at busy times. Breakfast is amazing with a wide variety of fruit, cereals, fresh baked breads,cold meats and cheeses. Guests can order any variety and number of eggs with whatever accompaniment they like such as bacon, smoked salmon etc. They will even do American style pancakes with maple syrup or eggs benedict.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a fantastic time in the afternoon sun at the Post Hotel and get back some strength after a nice hike in this fabulous Area. lech in Summer as well in Winter is always worth a visit. The fresh Air in the Mountain as well as the LECH water is amazing. But the best of the best for me is the Apfelstrudel - this was always my goal on the hike to get there ASAP...... The Staff is very attentive and kind!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place has a lot of charm, starting from the dining room, through the hallways, all the way to the rooms. The room was stunning and decorated in medieval style. The hotel was very clean although don't expect anything too modern or extra. About the only complaint that we had is that the breakfast was a bit too continental for winter conditions with only a warm egg on offer. In the winter and in the ski season, one would expect a hot breakfast with a lot more variety, but this wasn't the case. Having said that, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Post over Easter 2013. The hotel is like stepping into the real Austria , with all the comforts and luxuries that you would expect from a 5* hotel. All the staff are charming and nothing is too much to ask. Food is great- going for half board is a good idea as there are not many fantastic restaurants in lech for the evening. Breakfast in the room is a real must. The spa is fantastic, seems brand new- a massage with Christine is a must after a long day skiing- and the indoor- outdoor pool is fantastic. We stayed in the postmeister apartment with its own open fire and four poster bed- recommended for those who like traditional style- room 28. If you're more into the modern style then go for a room in the extended section of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberg Lech
Hotel Arlberg Lech
#6 of 53 in Lech
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#1 of 53 in Lech
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#2 of 53 in Lech
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#9 of 53 in Lech
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#33 of 53 in Lech
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tannbergerhof
Hotel Tannbergerhof
#23 of 53 in Lech
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Post Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Post Hotel

Address: Lech 11, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Lech
#24 Spa Hotel in Lech
#29 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gasthof Post Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic inn is located in the centre of Lech, a world-renowned winter sports resort with a first-class infrastructure. Local antiques and loving attention to detail in the decor create a welcoming atmosphere. Culinary delicacies await guests in the restaurants that have won several awards due to their outstanding cuisine. The new "Badehaus" spa with its spectacular panoramic pool and treatment suites is located in the heart of a botanic garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Post Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gasthof Post

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Post Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.