We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All as described on the web site. Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Lavendel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Garni Lavendel to your Saves list
Hotel Garni Lavendel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dorf 447, Lech 6764, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 118 Lech B&B and Inns
Weybridge, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“All as described on the web site. Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We found the 55m2 apartment to be exactly as described on the Lavendel web site for our 1 week stay in the last week of February 2013. The apartment is extremely spacious for 2 people with huge amounts of storage - but if you are planning to travel with 3 or 4 then I would not recommend this as the pull out bed has no privacy as its in the living area - so fine for small kids, or friends you know very well! The kitchen area has everything required including large fridge, filter coffee maker and dishwasher. We had lovely views of the mountains on 2 aspects although the building is very close to others and our living area was overlooked by several other hotels, but not a massive deal. The bathroom was good with lots of towels and two sinks and although I don't generally like showers over a bath this one was very good and never any shortage of hot water. The bedroom was fine and bed firm and comfortable. The location is set back from the main road but we did occasionally get some noise but not bad at all.
There are some lovely walks up through the trees to Oberlech, the small village above Lech and these start just over the road. The flood lit toboggan run also ends just over the road.
Lech is eye wateringly expensive generally and so the prices have to be seen in this context. I would say that the prices are fair and the apartment was good value in this town of all 4 and 5 star accommodation.
Lech has a small proportion of true ski in ski out accommodation and this is not quite one, but if ski in ski out is 10 out of 10 then this is an 8 I would say. Lech is cut in half by the river and adjoining main road and the only way back to the village on piste is on the North side. This is just off the south side but a very small walk to all 3 main lifts to the slopes - about 150 m to each so not too bad at all at the start or rend of day. The boot room is excellent with heaters for boots so they were always warm and dry in the morning. The number 3 ski bus that links Lech to the St Anton ski area stops just across the road at the post office so that was very handy indeed and we used it a few times. If you ever return to the village too far away to walk then the bus stops are frequent. The buses can be a bit of a scrum at peak times as usual anywhere.
We hired a car at Innsbruck airport and it was a very easy 2 hour door to door drive and we parked right outside.
Bernadette the owner was very friendly and helpful and speaks excellent English so we settled in straight away. There is a very nice boulangerie right next door so that was great. There is a spar supermarket 5 mins up the road and the hotel is surrounded by restaurants.

All in all the web site is a true representation of the rooms ( we had room 7 on the first floor) and we would have no hesitation in booking again if we come back to Lech - it's so expensive!

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony facing west for the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The service was terrible. Besides for the very clean rooms there are not many positive things to say. The pillows are tiny, the smell is overpowering with aged flowers that nauseate you, and the stuff will serve you minimally.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My family and I all loved staying at this hotel. We had an apartment for four people which was simple but very comfortable and very well equipped with a dishwasher, microwave, large fridge oven and hob.
None of the hassle of self catering because all the annoying things that you need to buy or remember like dishwasher tablets or washing up liquid, tea towels or loo rolls were all there and if you need some salt or sugar then they were happy to let you have some from the breakfast room
It is family run and Bernadette and her daughters were so friendly and helpful to us at all times.
We thought that our apartment was a great place to stay and loved waking up every morning with fresh bread hanging on our door handle!
If we didn't fancy cooking, or eating out, there is a great pizzeria nearby which does take aways. Obviously Lech has fantastic restaurants [....although they can be a little expensive!]
The hotel is right at the bottom of the Oberlech lift which is incredibly convenient for both skiing and the fantastic toboggan run.
We would thoroughly recommend this and will definitely go and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Four of us stayed in an apartment for a 3 day ski weekend. It was a nice hotel, with a great breakfast, clean and warm and lots of hot water. We had a balcony for the smokers, ski room with heaters for the boots and it was well located near a couple of the lifts. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. It was good value for Lech and had parking. Short walk to restaurants, bars and night life. It's a big ski area and you can even go to St Anton nearby for a day if you want. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Lavendel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Lavendel

Address: Dorf 447, Lech 6764, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Lech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garni Lavendel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mascher family welcomes you to their delightful Hotel Garni Lavendel, offering self-catering apartments or bed and breakfast, situated in a quiet central location close to the ski lifts and all amenities.The entrance and lounge area of the hotel is attractively furnished, using wood and traditional Austrian style to create a warm homely atmosphere. Its comfortable seating provides a good place to relax and enjoy the moment. Start your day in the cosy dining area, with its well equipped breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garni Lavendel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Lavendel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.