We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grease!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips

Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips
6 Market Place, Market Deeping PE6 8EA, England
+44 1778 347970
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Linford's Traditional Fish and Chip shop is located at the centre of the historic market town of Market Deeping. The takeaway has been open since 1989 and in the summer of 2012 we opened a new restaurant. At Linfords we offer a selection of fish; cod (regular, medium and jumbo), haddock, plaice, huss (rock salmon) and scampi with weekly specials including lemon sole, hake, halibut and monkfish. Other options include sausages, pukka pies, fish cakes, burgers, chicken burgers, vege burgers, spring rolls, southern fried chicken, chicken nuggets and chicken tikka bites. All of our food is cooked in vegetable oil and all fish is sustainably caught.We also offer gluten free fish and chips on a Monday night from 4pm - 8:30.
market deeping
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grease!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have often been told to avoid `Linfords` and head for `Boundry` instead and now I know why.
Only had cod and chips, should have been straight forward enough. Chips were nothing special but ok, but the fish was a disaster, it looked good at first but the underside was really greasy turning the batter to a mush. Seems to be a regular thing with Lindfords so will avoid in future.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    19
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I cannot rate Linfords highly enough. Everything about the restaurant is perfect. The food is superb, service is great and cleanliness is second to none. This is the second time we have had lunch at this establishment and I am sure we be returning many times in the future. Well done to everyone who works hard to give the customer what they want.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“fish dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

being in market deeping linfords has to be good because of the competision and it is,like the river restaurant it also has indoor and outdoor dining to a high standard.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Chippy for miles around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

All I can say about the fish & chip shop is that it is by fay the best for many many miles. Pure white fish & scrumptious batter. No wonder they have won awards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gluten free Mondays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited many times, and never fails in its supremecy of local Gluten Free Fish and Chips. Only complaint is that they only do GF on Mondays.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips also viewed

Market Deeping, Lincolnshire
Market Deeping, Lincolnshire
 
Market Deeping, Lincolnshire
Market Deeping, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linfords Traditional Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.