We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food, Fantastic Atmosphere & Fantastic Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion & Lamb

Lion & Lamb
Stortford Road, Little Canfield CM6 1SR, England
01279 870257
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Fantastic Atmosphere & Fantastic Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I went for Sunday lunch yesterday, a big party of us. The pub and resturant were both full the staff did amazingly well as they were clearly under pressure. How wonderful to come across beautifully cooked ribs of beef, generous portions and fresh vegtables. Followed by lovely homemade crumble. A great lunch, will definitly be back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    8
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

How hard can it be to make people feel welcome? Have been to this place a couple of tea in the past and its been ok. Can only assume that it was the regular staffs day off and the manager has agreed to let some people have a go at running a pub.

We were greeted with you can't have a table dot an hour. We then appeared to upset them by saying ok we'd wait. Darn thinks the goon behind the bar. Then tries "Plan B" , hide all the bar staff when they come to the bar. We waited, and waited, and waited.

We asked whether we could eat in the bar rather than the restaurant , "yes but it'll be 25 minutes", progress we thought! Then asked whether we could move a table to give us more space, "no" came the helpful reply from the customer disservice rep.

Ok. Barman wins. The 9 of us finished our drinks, carried the glasses back to the bar in case this was also too difficult.

The owner mat BT interested to know that takings were £230 light today because 9 people left in disgust and went to The Lion in Boreham. Food and service there were both fantastic. Place was packed, service was good, suspect Lion and Lamb will be knocking out "Two mains for a Tenner" when the receivers arrive.

Do yourself a favour - avoid! Took less time to drive the 15 miles to Boreham than the goon took to serve 9 drinks!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindawilk, Owner at Lion & Lamb, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit with us.

Firstly I would like to apologise for not being able to seat your party, as you saw we were extremely busy and had no space to seat anyone else. Whilst I appreciate it took a long time to serve you, our priority is to serve the customers that are already seated and awaiting meals/drinks.

I can only recommend that if you do decide to visit us again, you make a reservation particularly of that size in advance to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited The Lion and Lamb on Saturday last the 29th September 2012. A party of 12 adults and 2 children got together for a family reunion. Having booked in advance the staff organised everything and it was fantastic. Given that some members of the party actually flew into Stanated Airport that morning and had to meet their return flight in the afternoon, the organisation as well as the professionalism of the staff was first rate.
The staff were excellent, the food was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent, infact it was beyond our expectations.
Thank you The Lion and Lamb for making a great day even better.
Many Thanks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Brilliant Bar Staff, Excellent Service & Wonderful Food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Family and I was driving past and saw a wonderfully located Restraunt Pub, went in and was greeted as soon as we entered and was attended to immediatly, I really appreciated the fact the staff made us feel like we were the only people there and made it a great personal touch, We all had food which i must say was beautiful and very well priced as not one of us could finish the full meal due to the great sizable protions. Whilst eating our meal we was greated by the land lady Linda and asked if everything was ok and if she could get anything else for us.

If passing by the area would deffinatly pop in again, thankyou you to linda and all her great staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb in both quality and variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Lion and Lamb has maintained the highest quality of both food and service over a number of years now. Our recent family birthday meal was an absolute delight. The menu was varied and catered well for our vegetarian granddaughters. Most of our main course choices were different, but every meal was perfectly prepared and superbly presented. The wine and beer were excellent also and, despite it being a Monday evening and therefore quiet, we had friendly, helpful service throughout the evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion & Lamb also viewed

Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Great Dunmow, Essex
Great Dunmow, Essex
 

Been to Lion & Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion & Lamb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.