We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olimpico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olimpico to your Saves list
Hotel Olimpico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lago Trasimeno | South Coast of Salerno, 84100 Pontecagnano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% OFF on Official Site
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pontecagnano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We found this hotel after leaving terrible prepaid accommodation elsewhere - a breath of fresh air. Staff were very accommodating. The transfer service.to the ferry/town in Salerno was invaluable - you either need a car to get around or should rely on this transfer service..
We can highly recommend the ferry to and from Positano option. Positano itself is delightful and different to the other coastal towns.. Accommodation was very clean, roomy and comfortable. Breakfast was good. I did miss not having hot water to make cups of tea/coffee though. We drove around to Paestum - very interesting drive.

Room Tip: We chose the superior room which was excellent - large room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr Lyndall,

We want to thank you for a such excellent review you wrote on our hotel, praising its location, its wonderful pool area and breakfast buffet, its nice rooms and its professional staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact us again in order to reserve another wonderful stay at the Olimpico Hotel & Resort.

In the meantime, please accept our best regards.

Gaetano Serluca
Hotel G. Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    225
    53
    17
    6
See reviews for
237
279
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Unfortunately we have no real positive remarks about this hotel and I do not understand how this is classed as a Salerno hotel as it is 15-18 klms away from the centre of Salerno.
When we arrived we were only advised about facilities within the hotel, no details of places to visit or how to get there.
Our first room was very small & we requested to have a larger room, after a day we moved to a larger room which was about the size of a standard room in the UK. Unfortunately the sea view rooms are on the side of the hotel that backs onto a very noisy road as a result we had to keep the windows closed.
Breakfast was OK at best, coffee went cold very quickly, as we were not impressed with the breakfast we decided against having dinner there.
The hotel is quite a distance outside of Salerno, hotels website identifies it takes 15 minutes to reach centre of Salerno, due to the traffic the it takes 25 -45 minutes. The hotel website also identifies that there is a regular shuttle service to Salerno, if you do not get the 10.00am shuttle you have to wait until 2.00pm for the next one, plus the last one returns at 8.00 from the centre of Salerno. Taxi from Salerno to hotel cost 30-40 Euros

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mr David

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry you did not have leave with a good impression of our hotel. Though you booked two nights we not only upgraded you to a deluxe room but you also stayed with us for 6 nights.

We are outside Salerno due to the fact that we need to create a resort atmosphere and to do that we need to be away from the chaos of the city of Salerno and also able to have the beach and other amenities we offer.

All our guests are afforded a free shuttle service to all connections by ferry to Capri, Amalfi and Sorrento and train services to Pompei and Naples.

We sincerely regret you did not try our cuisine which is a high point of our resort but perhaps next time you visit on a more positive note you will have the opportunity to enjoy our amenities more.

Warm regards,

Gaetano Serluca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel based on TA research / reviews that we had read. We had a room facing the sea, which was just so beautiful to look at, while enjoying a drink on the balcony, during our 2 day stay. The shuttle bus to / from the drop off point in Salerno port was always on time and relieved the stress of driving and finding parking space in town. Being able to leave our car on the free roof top parking for a few days was a treat.

We ate dinner at the hotel both nights, even though we had only planned on 1 night, as the food was really good. Each night we were provided with a glass of complimentary white sparkling wine with a small bowl of chips. I thought the house wine was fine, and a bargain at 7E for a 1/2 litre. I think the beers were 3E. We thought the proosciutto and melon were really outstanding - the taste and size of the serving was big. Also very good was the seafood salad, seafood pasta, mushroom risotto, and the deep fried calamari and shrimp.

The breakfasts were very good and comprehenisive as well - wonderful pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon and roast potatoes along with all the other things you would expect such as orange juice, a commercial coffee machinle for lattes, cappuccinos etc, fruit, cereal, home made crepes & omelettes cheeses cold meats etc.

We hope to return soon!
Ciao!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Olimpico Friend John,
Thank you for your considerations for our hotel and our staff.
These beautiful words for our resort will please our staff who will be pleased that their hard work is much appreciated by our guests.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future to give you our best service.
GRAZIE
Our best regards
Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is a big surprise, rooms are very spacious, with enough space for 4 people, rooms are impeccable, clean, hotel is very cozy, staff is very friendly, but getting someone to speak English is a bit of a challenge.

The location is the only disadvantage being so far out of town, but there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. The reception provides all details about trips you can do and even sell bus tickets at the reception desk.

The food is really good, the pool is small but very nice.
Prices were simply great

I would definitely go back again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Clofty

thank you for your positive review and for choosing our property for your holidays. We are happy to hear you had a good time with us.

We wish also to inform you that 2014 rates on our official web site hotelolimpico.it, are already on line (and very attractive NOW) and that special discounts/upgrades are available for our repeaters guests.

we wish to welcome you back soon in Salerno
thank you
Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel was located to far out of town and was nothing better than the standard of a motel 6 in the US. Value was good for the money but the only good point is the close proximity & easy access to Paestum. The surrounding businesses were dilapidated & closed down. The beach was very dirty with excessive trash. You are at the mercy of the shuttle & held to the times they come & go from town, very inconvenient. A cab ride from town is $40. Most restaurant staff & bar staff were friendly. Laura, front desk clerk was unfriendly, poor customer service, unaccommodating & refused to try to speak English or even be somewhat flexible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your review on our hotel and we thank you!

It is unfortunate you stayed in October as the season wraps up and the other businesses close down. I think if you peruse our reviews you will see a great deal of very positive reviews. The beach likewise remains open and in very good condition in comparison to some of the other regions beaches.

We are perplexed by your review when we have had so many wonderful reviews this summer and hope that perhaps we can welcome you back at a different time and you can have a more similar experience to our other guests. We do wish to excuse Laura who is typically very courteous and we are equally surprised to hear she was discourteous to you during your stay. Laura speaks perfect English / French and we can only presume you caught her at a bad time.
Please accet my apologies for what happened.

We wish to welcome you back soon in Salerno
Best Regards,

Gateano Serluca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is modern, very clean, large rooms, helpful efficient and polite stuff. It has a close yard with garden, nice swimming pool. It has a private beach area, small but nice and clean. You have to cross the street to get there, but only about 50m away from the hotel. Wi-Fi is free and fast with good signal. Air condition was good. Parking is available inside the hotel yard. It has a good restaurant.
For less than 100 Euro we got deluxe room (October).
Location: The hotel is located 5 minutes from A3 autostrade, so very convenient as a basis for tours to points of interets in the area (Vesuvio, Pompei, Amalfi coast, Paestum,..... )On the other hand is it not in the busy area of Salerno or in the hard to arrive Sorrento.
However: Altough the beach in the hotel area can be a wondeful place, it was in October a terrible place. Most beaches and restaurants seemed abandoned, very dirty on the walking path along the beach road, seems an area you do not want to walk at night there, and not enjoying during daytime.
This was the situation in October, maybe during July-August it was better. The Olimpico hotel is like "a rose in the desert". The noise from the street is quite high, but the noise isolation was very good, so together with the good air condition we had good sleep at night.
To conclude: Excellent if you are coming with a car, the neiborhood is not so inviting.
Advice: Do not go to Napoli !!!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Hagim,

How we could thank you for a such nice and true review you shared with Trip Advisor on our hotel .

We are really pleased you enjoed your stay at the Olimpico Hotel and we are even much more pleased that you found true everyhing you read on Trip Advisor written by other guests who stayed by us.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Gaetano Serluca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We received exactly what we were expecting during our overnight stay at the hotel. Quality hotel and immediate surrounding grounds, pleasant evening dining and breakfast experience with fresh tasting food, and a well maintained private beach area with many small amenities that showed the staff cared about the guests. The area is safe but not close to anything else, and we knew this when we booked it. The overall experience for the price we paid was well worth it and we recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

How we could thank you for a such nice and true review you shared with Trip Advisor on our hotel .

We are really pleased you enjoed your stay at the Olimpico Hotel and we are even much more pleased that you found true everyhing you read on Trip Advisor written by other guests who stayed by us.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Gaetano Serluca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olimpico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpico

Address: Via Lago Trasimeno | South Coast of Salerno, 84100 Pontecagnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Pontecagnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pontecagnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpico 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Salerno - beach, the Olimpico offers free parking and a free shuttle to Salerno's centre, harbour, and airport. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, and rooms with balcony.The Olimpico Hotel's pool is set in the tropical garden and is surrounded by sun loungers and parasols. The private beach is equally equipped. All the rooms of Hotel Olimpico include satellite TV, free internet, and air conditioning. American buffet breakfast is available between 07:00 and 10:00.The restaurant serves Italian cuisine and local dishes. During summer candlelit dinners and pizza are served in the garden.Hotel Olimpico is well located for visiting the Campania region. A shuttle service is available to the port to catch ferries to the Amalfi Coast, Positano or Capri, train to Mount Vesuvius and the archaeological site at Pompeii and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Olimpico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpico Hotel Salerno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olimpico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.