We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 stars but a 5 stars hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olimpico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olimpico to your Saves list
Hotel Olimpico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lago Trasimeno | South Coast of Salerno, 84100 Pontecagnano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wi-Fi, Welc. Drink & More
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pontecagnano
Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“not a 4 stars but a 5 stars hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We looked for a hotel closed to Pompei and Amlafi coast and found this one in TA. Family rooms where not available at this time so we booked 2 standard rooms, When we arrived we got an upgrade on one room. Checking in was fast, rooms looked like they were recently remodelled, everything was extra clean, nice pool, tennis court, excellent breakfast (we didn't have such a nice breakfast in any other hotel in Italy), laundry and drying machine, a car, coffe and ice cream stand etc. and most important we felt that every staff member did his best to make us feel at home. The hotel is 10 minutes drive from the highway, 30 minutes from Pompei and Amalfi and close to Salerno.
Highly recommend !!

Room Tip: for a family of 4 try to book the quadrupole room. for a double room book the one with a balcony, fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Nad66

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we want to thank you for your excellent review on the Hotel Olimpico.

We really hope you would come and stay by us again and in the mean time, please accept our best and kindest regards.

Gaetano Serluca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    212
    50
    17
    5
See reviews for
228
264
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband & I only booked this hotel for an overnight stay, & wished we had booked for a longer time. Olimpico is modern & very clean, the rooms are spacious and from the welcoming front desk to the overall staff they are professional and very approachable. Their sense of humour buts you immediately at ease . The outdoor dinning lounge makes you feel pampered and the food is delicious. They even have a private beach. The reason I couldn't give hem a five is that they are a little out of Salerno. We would go back with no hesitation .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Liz454

Thank you very much for your nice words spent on this website. The whole staff is pleased you have had an unforgettable time here in our hotel, and we gladly thank you for it. It is in fact a lovely place to be, and all the members of the staff try to give our best in order to be always professional and efficient. We really look forward to your next stay in our hotel. See you soon.

Warm Regards

Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

fantastic service, really good crew they will not rest until you will be satisfied. if you have an empty bottle or if you don't know how to eat a shrimps. an old man that work there came to us and didn't go until he cut a full peace of the seafront we didn't eat before. we felt like his grandchildren. he told us hello and how are you in our languish :) everything is always clean and to your order. there is no distance with the crew. you feel that they are your friends and the place is built like a house of one big family. the driver waited to us although we came a little bit late and took us from the train station to the hotel with no church. the food is e x e l e n t. there is order. if we have a tiny problem it will be fixed right away. we wanted to come back and with one phone call our room was ready for us. you have a private beach few steps from the hotel and the mall is not far for the girls :) we had a very nice balcony with a tile for the Landry ready for us :) everybody are very gentle and the taxis are cheaper. thank you Olympico!! we enjoyed a lot!

Room Tip: all rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Edin
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.

With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.

Gaetano Serluca
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here in December 2012.
We stayed here primarily to go see Pompeii. This hotel is not close to the Salerno station however, this hotel provides a shuttle service which was fantastic as it would pick up and drop off from the station. Room we stayed in was clean, good space, nice bathroom, and a comfy bed. Buffet breakfast was nice. As we stayed in winter the hotels restaurant was not open, however staff recommended the restaurant across the road which had great cheap Italian. Staff were helpful. One staff member helped by printing off maps and train timetables to get to and from Pompeii. Great overall experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Cathryn,
I want sincerely thank you for your kind review…

It is a pleasure to read that you have spent a peaceful stay in our area and also in our hotel. As you know we offer the free shuttle service from / to Salerno center all year around an during the summer months (March 25 to November 4) also to the port of Salerno to catch ferries to the Amalfi Coast or Capri.

We wish you all the best!
Kind regards
Gaetano Serluca and hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went in early July. It was one of the early stays in a month long vacation. This was the perfect place to relax and get away from it all. The people were all friendly and helpful from Gennaro who picked us up at the train station to Guiseppe who worked the front desk and really every person there was a delight.Good food- great pool. And they have a beach as good as our Santa Monica beach without the riff-raff. Shout out to Gennaro and Guiseppe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Jeff

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments as well as your patronage of the Hotel Olimpico. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and the overall customer service. We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that t we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Hotel Olimpico very soon.

Truthfully yours,

Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family of four (two teenage children) thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Hotel Olimpico. We wanted to use it as a base to visit Amalfi and Pompei and both were easily done with the help of the complimentary shuttle for the boat ride from Salerno and the train ride to Pompei. It was great to come back to a relaxing, comfortable poolside with great staff especially Davido who was very welcoming from the day we checked in by serving us with a complimentary check-in drink.

The room was a little tight for four given that we had teenage children, however, very nice washrooms and very clean and we spent very little time in the room as the children enjoyed the pool and all the outdoor activities (table tennis, tennis, swings, fuse ball, games, etc.). We weren't expecting to have all our dinners at the hotel but after trying it the first night, we did enjoy all our dinners there. We thought the food and outdoor atmosphere was wonderful, and prices were very reasonable and good value. The staff for both the evening service and the breakfast was great, they certainly made you feel comfortable and at home. The kids still rave about the place and I know they will remember it well for a long time to come. We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think the best value is to book directly through the Hotel Olimpico website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Heino family,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the service and facilities throughout the property. I will certainly share all your kind comments about the resort and our restaurants with our team, who will be equally delighted.

Once again, thank you for your gracious comments, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and the pool and great food are an added bonus. Close to the Amalfi coast and Paestum, the food and hospitality of this hotel are superb. Breakfast was great - one of the best we had in our 3 week Italian holiday. Staff went out of their way to make it enjoyable. Location is not the greatest, but if you have a car it is worth your while to stay here and avoid the the Amalfi crowds. The pool atmosphere is wonderful and relaxing. Only negative is the beds are too firm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Serluca, General Manager at Hotel Olimpico, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest from Canada,

first of all, we wish to thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Olimpico for your holiday in Salerno.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel, facing the Salerno gulf and at few miles south of Sorrento.

We are also very pleased to learn that you recommend the Hotel Olimpico to anyone travelling to Salerno and Amalfi Coast area and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another wonderful stay in our Hotel!

Sincerely,
Gaetano Serluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olimpico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpico

Address: Via Lago Trasimeno | South Coast of Salerno, 84100 Pontecagnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Pontecagnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pontecagnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpico 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Salerno - beach, the Olimpico offers free parking and a free shuttle to Salerno's centre, harbour, and airport. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, and rooms with balcony.The Olimpico Hotel's pool is set in the tropical garden and is surrounded by sun loungers and parasols. The private beach is equally equipped. All the rooms of Hotel Olimpico include satellite TV, free internet, and air conditioning. American buffet breakfast is available between 07:00 and 10:00.The restaurant serves Italian cuisine and local dishes. During summer candlelit dinners and pizza are served in the garden.Hotel Olimpico is well located for visiting the Campania region. A shuttle service is available to the port to catch ferries to the Amalfi Coast, Positano or Capri, train to Mount Vesuvius and the archaeological site at Pompeii and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, T4B, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Olimpico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpico Hotel Salerno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olimpico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.