We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortingall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fortingall Hotel to your Saves list
Fortingall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortingall PH15 2NQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Ballater, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fantastic setting, great hospitality, log fires, outstanding food and lots to drink. Room was quiet and comfortable with a warm, well equipped, large en suite bathroom. Hogmanay saw a visit to a haunted castle. Kate led her ceilidh band and played in the New Year, providing guidance to the not so experienced or wobbly country dancers - and the fireworks were spectacular - even Santa stayed on for New Year breakfast. Then a walk along the River Lyon, past the farm called Ewetopia, with a comforting dram or three on the bridge on the way back. A winter ascent next day of a nearby Munro, Scheihallion, for those in need of head clearing, topped off a great few days. Yes we know the owners, who as always provided a first class service for everyone, nothing too much trouble. Where else could you wish to go to see in the new year!! Gordon and Janet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    40
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
108
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fife Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Two night stay for a birthday gift, whilst we have enjoyed many lunches in the hotel over recent years this was our first stay.
Friendly welcome by Gavin the manager who appears to work from dawn to dusk doing every task pssible. Room was cold on arrival, heating engineer Gavin arrived, fiddled around, went away fiddled with some other controls and heat finally arrived. The room was above the bar, we were told music would be played to 11pm, this was ok, but noise from a shooting party continued to 1pm, not much sound proofing. Room certainly showing signs of wear and tear in the decoration, looks like it has had nothing since the major refurbishment some years ago, carpets stained, upholstery torn, walls all scuffed.
Dinner and breakfasts all good served by Gavin. Electrician Gavin also attended when the room lights and power tripped out.
Whilst we will return for a meal, would not stay again, main reason it does not represent value for money at £250 / night D & B.

Room Tip: Don't go for the room above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A fine location and a good, spacious room at a special rate but let down by too many basic shortcomings - public rooms inadequately heated, grubby carpets and a rather uninspiring dinner menu in contrast to the expectation given by sample menus. The dinner + accommodation rate gave no saving over paying separately. The wine was good value.

Alister M

Room Tip: Check for special deals on Trip Adviser. Despite a front-facing room there was still some A/C or si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were given a weekend away at the Fortingall as an engagement gift and decided to tie it in with a birthday trip. From the moment we arrived until the moment we (reluctantly and sadly) left, we were well looked after, well fed and watered. An amazing evening in the Ewe bar on the Friday complete with rendition of Ally Bally; rugby on Saturday and lovely relaxing times in between in the lounge. The room was lovely and clean, with a comfortable bed and shower so powerful it would take your skin off (in a good way!). Friendly staff, gorgeous location and exactly what we were looking for to get away from the madness of London. Thanks all, we'll be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I were at the Fortingall on the 12th and 19th of October. The first time for a bar lunch and the second time for dinner. The bar lunch was great the dinner was excellent. The staff were polite and helpful. We had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the 2nd. time on the 16th. Nov. for dinner bed and breakfast. My wife and I were given the Glen Lyon room which is on the 1st. floor and looks west. Absolutely beautiful room, extremely comfortable. Loads of hot water and even a very fine complimentary malt whisky.

The dinner was also excellent and couldn't be faulted as was the breakfast.

Good attentive staff and wonderful scenery make this a great place to go. Looking forward to going back again soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a two night stay at Fortingall we were located in a room on the first floor and had no problems with noise, the room was immaculate very comfortable, service was first class as was the food. The staff were very polite and friendly and had great knowledge of the local area
which was very helpful during our stay.
I will not hesitate to visit Fortingall in the future or recommend this jewel to my friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortingall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortingall Hotel

Address: Fortingall PH15 2NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Fortingall
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortingall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fortingall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortingall Hotel Aberfeldy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortingall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.