We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highland Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortingall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fortingall Hotel to your Saves list
Fortingall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortingall PH15 2NQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Highland Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel and where it is situated makes it a gem of the highlands. Our room looked toward Drummond Hill and was nicely furnished, spacious, comfortable and spotless, as was the ensuite. After exploring the village, a very pleasant afternoon was spent on a comfortable sofa, sometimes reading but mostly looking out the window at the changing moods of the highland scenery. The common rooms (library was my favourite) were tastefully decorated and welcoming. Staff were friendly and attentive to guests. Dinner was delicious and complimented by a small but nice selection of wines. However, beware the Fortingall Breakfast, it is huge! The only downside for us was we couldn't stay longer. Next time.........

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    44
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
110
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Everyone here went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. The room was large and pleasant. The little village itself is charming. We also enjoyed the attached pub, which served satisfying food. Also, breakfast included the yummiest porridge I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have a timeshare at Kinloch Rannoch and know this area well.
We drove Glen Lyon this particular morning and stopped at Fortingall.
Saw the yew tree and re made our acquaintance with the church.
Seeing the A boards outside the hotel advertising 'a warm welcome awaits' we decided to stop for coffee.
BIG mistake!
On opening the front door we were confronted by a gentleman in a suit saying abruptly, 'yes, can I help you?' As if we had intruded into his private house. What a welcome! As a retired GM of many large hotels I found this to be the antithesis of hospitality as we were taught.
He grudgingly took our order for 2 coffees and we sat in the quiet lounge. Waitress very nice, but, boy, how to make people unwelcome!
On reading the other trip advisor comments, maybe we hit a bad day, but I was NOT impressed.
Surely small hotels like this need all the help they can get, and so should try and welcome people in the door? Is that so difficult?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golspie, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped here for coffee after noticing their board on a previous trip. Great friendly service, lovely surroundings. The best scones we have had recently, fresh from the oven and served with butter, cream! and delicious jam. Well worth the stop!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We loved our stay and the service was fantastic :-) we'll def be back!! Gavin was a great help..thank you! A large glass of red wine in front of a roaring open fire..need I say more! Can't wait for our return visit..and we'll be staying longer :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited the ewe bar - part of the fortingall hotel. The hotel looked very nice and the staff were immaculately presented. Even the feel of the bar was cosy - hard not too as its so small. The little wood and peat fire burned beautifully. The romance ended about there to be honest. The staff have to run between the bar and the hotel so long periods without staff in the bar, no music either so atmosphere gets a bit eerie. However the service when they were in the bar was excellent, polite and welcoming. Its a pity about the food. I hoped for local produce and perhaps some wild foods but it was usual fare, F&C, lasagne, mushroom ravioli, sausage and mash. Having been to a butchers in pitlochry and sampled his sausages i assumed these would be of the same quality. We ordered Fish and chips and sausage and mash with a prawn cocktail for the little one. The oil wasn't hot enough for the fish and the batter was in tatters, bits of fish open and exposed to the frier. To be fair the portion was good and it presented well had the batter been up to scratch - but if batter makes up a third of a dish, fish, batter and chips then it needs to be right. The fish itself was still succulent in places protected by the batter but the deluge of oil took away from its redeeming features. The sausages were grey, not a single sign of any direct heating in any way - they were akin to boil in the bag. Devoid of any caramelisation the flavour was further removed by the lack of seasoning in the actual sausage mix - the texture was there but the flavour wasnt. The mash was ok, no lumps and looked fresh but lacked key elements of butter and seasoning. The uninspiring gravy was starchy like a packet brand but it did have the flavourless texture of one - plus little flavouring other than a hint of red wine. It lacked any depth and would have been the dishes saving grace. The prawn cocktail was as to be expected - average. I would have sent both mains back but our son was close to bed time and getting restless - plus considering how long the bill took, a complaint would have had us there all night. Perhaps a little unfair but in normal circumstances i wouldnt have paid for anything other than the starter. At £45 for this a wine and a whisky its a little on the pricey side. Judging by the other reviews this place is worth another visit by everyone - not sure it will be by us, but as its a small local business i would urge people to maybe think about trying it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had planned our stay at Fortingall for quite a while having found it quite by chance and taking a coffee break there over a year ago. It seemed the ideal place to spend a couple of nights to enable us to walk Schiehallion to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday on 19 May 2013.

Our stay was quite delightful with a lovely room and bathroom, delicious food both morning and evening and tremendous staff. (I pre-ordered a birthday cake which chef kindly made and it was really very nice).The whole ambiance is welcoming, warm and friendly. The village of Fortingall itself is also very picturesque and pleasant.

We would love to visit again both soon and frequently though our coffers will need to replenish as our only reservation is with cost. The whole experience of staying at Fortingall is highly recommended but is pricey but for us a well deserved treat.

Room Tip: Our room was to the front of the hotel and delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortingall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortingall Hotel

Address: Fortingall PH15 2NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Fortingall
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortingall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortingall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fortingall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortingall Hotel Aberfeldy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortingall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.