We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German Cemetery - WWI Battlefield Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langemark Cemetery

Langemark Cemetery
Klerkenstraat, Langemark, Belgium
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Langemark
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: german WW1 cemetery
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“German Cemetery - WWI Battlefield Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Visited here whilst accompanying pupils on a battlefield trip. This cemetery was very hard-hitting due to the stark contrast between it in comparison to the British cemeteries. It contains a mass grave of unknown German soldiers surrounded by a large number of graves. Situated in a dark wood, it is very gloomy and cold whilst badly maintained. This element really shows the difference between the attitude towards German graves compared to the immaculate cemeteries of British soliders. Definitely worth the visit. Be sure to take a jacket as it is cold and windy as soon as you walk in to the cemetery...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Final Resting Place of the Germans of the 1st Battle of Ypres”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Langemark cemetery is the final resting place of the German casualties of the First Battle of Ypres during World War I. Included in the cemetery are the graves of inexperienced schoolboys and students who were part of the German troops therefore it is sometimes referred to as the Student’s Cemetery.

Other reviewers have remarked on the stark contrast between this German cemetery and the Allied ones. I have to concur, Langemark was very dark, dreary and gloomy, a testament to the price humanity pays for the major conflicts we inflict on each other.

Our guide relayed to us that few Germans visit this cemetery. This sentiment is echoed in this article http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/special_report/1998/10/98/world_war_i/211932.stm At Langemark there were few mementoes left on the gravesites as compared to the allied cemeteries that we had visited. Other Canadians had been there before us as indicated by the Canadian flags on a couple of the graves. What we surmised was that some of the soldiers had probably recently emigrated from Germany to Canada and when the war started they returned and fought for the fatherland. The flags were probably left by Canadian relatives or descendants. Another interesting part of the cemetery was the 2 British graves included amongst the German graves, not sure what the story was behind that.

Regardless of what side a soldier fought on, deference is owed to all of the fallen. We were fortunate that our tour included this stop at Langemark.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So very sad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having spent a memorable ArmisticeWeekend last year in Ypres Salient including the Menin Gate Ceremony our last visit was to Langermark. I don't think there was a dry eye in our party. One was taken aback by the stark difference between here and the Commonwealth Cemeteries and it truly brought home the fact that no matter what side you served on those 4 years were a total and disgraeful waste of so very many!! God bless all the souls!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sobering visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After visiting the Commonwealth War Graves and various memorials in the area, we went here. It conveys more of the sordid waste of WW1 in Flanders due to it's dark, brooding atmosphere. When we visited the ground was sodden and the wind freezing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
249 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A somber sobering German cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were taken to Langemarke as part of our tour.
What a sombre place. Quite different to British and Commonwealth cemeteries.
We were told that it had been overgrown for sometime and had recently been tidied up.
It shows what at fantastic job the Commonwealth Wargraves Commission does for "our" side.
The story of the "slaughter of the innocents" - german student soldiers is very poignant.
The Germans later used Langemark as a rallying call, even having an SS Langemark Division in WW2.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langemark Cemetery also viewed

Zonnebeke, West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Langemark Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langemark Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.