We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunset views ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culgoa Point Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Culgoa Point Beach Resort to your Saves list
Culgoa Point Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   5 Quamby Place, Noosa, Queensland 4567 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Thornlands, QLD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Sunset views ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

What a top spot!! Right on the corner of the River with its own private beach. This place is clean & maintained really well & very handy to restaurants etc. Most rooms look straight west down the lovely Noosa River & have the most spectacular sunset veiws. Highly recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culgoa, Operations Manager at Culgoa Point Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi Belinda P,
Thanks for leaving a fabulous review on your recent stay with us at Culgoa Point. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Emily Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    75
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
70
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendliest of staff who proceeded to upgrade our room. This was completely unexpected and testament to their intune-ness with guests. Room was fantastic, spacious, clean and comfortable. On our doorstep was the Noosa River which was a beautiful sight at sunset. Would highly recommend to all coming upto Noosa for a relaxing holiday. Thanks team and keep up the good Work.

Room Tip: You can rent fishing gear, towels and boogie boards inexpensively from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culgoa, Operations Manager at Culgoa Point Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi Theonlyjames,
Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay at Culgoa Point. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our gorgeous apartments and river views. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next holiday.
Kind Regards,
Emily Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Don't travel up to here from Sydney early and expect any consideration to maximizing your time on a 2 night stay. Arrived at 11.00 and was told room wasn't ready till 2.00pm. They rang cleaning to get our room ready at 11.00pm, but would give no indication of when we could get access, so we walked 15mins in our Sydney travel clothes into town to get an early lunch. Back without any further progress and 2 hours later at 1.00pm asked to see the manager. Couldn't get them to understand that nowhere else in the world would anyone seriously pretend that it takes 2 hours to prepare a room if you really wanted to accommodate the customer. Then had one of the staff explain to us what it's like to run a business. I even tried to help them understand that they were not being responsive to a small ask from their customer to the extent that it appeared there was a management policy in place to Ignore these request. But instead of just fixing the issue and letting us know they wanted to help, they briefed us on their procedures. Nowhere we travel in the whole world at any accommodation would you have to put up with this nonsense and this attitude. I really feel sorry for the owners of these units who depend on this management team to look after their investment because all the policies and no repeat customers (well certainly not these ones) makes this a significantly under performing investment. Personal note for the future - unit managers do not know what it means to be resort operators. Neither location or cost at this resort was supported by attitude or service.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culgoa, Manager at Culgoa Point Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Maz L
We appreciate the feedback on your recent review.
Upon arrival to our resort the guest passed on numerous requests in relation to the booking that we received through a booking agent, one being that the guest didn’t want the first floor beachfront apartment that had been booked but would prefer a ground floor. We accommodated this request at the same rate even though our ground floor apartments are more expensive. The guest also requested an earlier check in, and we notified our cleaning staff straight away on the room change and of their request for an early check in.
We do not have a policy of ignoring our guest’s requests and always endeavour to deliver on requests that are achievable when given within a reasonable time frame for us to deliver upon.
We recognise that this situation was not dealt with in a manner that was deemed as satisfactory by the guest, but also believe that the guest has made assumptions of how we run our property on behalf of our unit owners based on an individual experience. We have an extremely high percentage of return guests as indicated by not only the reviews listed on Trip Advisor but also the booking agent the guest booked through.
We apologise we were unable to check the guest in within their timeframe but we will continue to try and accommodate our guest’s requests if at all possible within reasonable timeframes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We are Belgian. Our daughter Tessa lives in Melbourne and we visit her every year. Already 4 times we stayed at Culgoa Point. We use to call it Paradise ! The pool & spa is very nice and clean. The garden is so lushes and everything is so beautiful and clean ! We stayed in unit 61 which is realy bautiful on the second floor, with a magnificent view. The appartment is in a very good condition. We compare Noosa with the high standards in the south of France. Don' t forget to have your daily latte at Aromas in Hastingstreet after you did the magnificent walk in the National Park. We turn at Boiling Point to avoid sour knees..... Welcome in Paradise ! ! !

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culgoa, Operations Manager at Culgoa Point Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Hugo R,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Culgoa Point. We agree we have one of the best locations in the area, right on the river with gorgeous water views, and only 10 mins walk from Hastings Street. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind Regards,
Emily Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place has a lovely location, it's right on the river beach, however that's all it has going for it. Reception staff were very rude and not helpful at all when I wanted to extend our stay by a couple of nights, there was heaps of accommodation around, just thought it would have been easier not to move. Well the effort (typing in the computer?!?) I caused trying to give them more business, made me feel very unwanted, ended up just leaving after that response. The unit of outdated, we requested a 1 bedroom unit, it was a 2 bedroom unit but they locked to other doors, left us with a small bedroom and an ensuite I could actually closed and open the door from the bed, an actual separate bathroom which was the website states would have been nice. Wouldn't stay here again, most because of customer service and cheap shortcuts from management.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culgoa, Operations Manager at Culgoa Point Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello beachbabe34,
Thank you for your review on your stay at Culgoa Point. I apologise you found our staff rude and unhelpful during your stay and would be happy to discuss this with you further privately if you would like. It is possible we were unable to extend you in the same apartment due to another guest coming in after you. We have a very high percentage of repeat guests and many request the same apartment each trip. We would have offered an alternative apartment to you.
All of the apartments here are 2 and 3 bedrooms and we lock them down for one bedroom bookings, to save guests paying for rooms they are not using. Had you requested for the main bathroom rather than ensuite to be open we would have accommodated this request for you.
I apologise your experience here was not satisfactory and would love to have you back again for the opportunity to impress you with our premium apartments, which are more modern, and perhaps more to your taste.
Kind Regards,
Emily Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The "resort" is a large apartment complex that has one of the best locations in the Noosa region with it being on the widest part of Noosa River. This brings with it a sense of energy as you can just casually walk out of your apartment ( ground floor one) and just plunge your body into the ocean fed river, test your patience with fishing, try your skills and fitness on a canoe or paddle ski, skipper a small hired boat and moor onto your tiny private jetty.
Who should stay here? Families with young kids, healthy types who love water sports such as canoeing, lazy fathers who love to be able to cast a fishing line while drinking their six-pack secretly away from their wives.
Who should keep away? Those who are unable to find active fun and who need to the security of being on Hasting st with the crowds and numerous eateries. Couples should also re-think this place at peak times due to the army of kids who descend on this family friendly place.

Yes, if your pursuits are Marine based and you want to get away from the peak time chaos of Hastings St strip and beaches then try this region of apartment complexes that are located on this magical strip of nature called "quamby place" which includes the Noosa Harbour Resort and the Upmarket Noosa Quays.

The location while being a 15 min walk to Hasting st does present its own secrets to guests that being a superb location for families with young children which can play in the sandy beach like river and for the avid fisherman or lounge lizards who worship the sun. Nearby facilities also include a small strip of shops that house the famous and trendy collection of eateries that should keep the well lubricated and gourmet food indulgers happy with establishments such as "ricky's", "wasabi" and "rock salt". These complex is just 120m away and also has the first aid rescue of a boutique bottle shop, convienance store and not bad fish & chip shop. This should keep most happy.
Now for the actual resort. Beside its location on the river and nearby famous restaurants, its other minor positives are reasonable above ground landscaping, wide parking, clean grounds and a very happy and helpful front desk team. For those needing to feed a family the complex provides a well kept communal bbq facility (3) with basic undercover seating. There is a nearby small convenience store providing basic essentials, however the larger supermarkets are only 1.5km away in Noosaville.

There must be a questionable and poor side that captures my attention as praise only is a biased and useless opinion. To be fair to the Management, who are constrained by around 50+ different apartment owners all with unpredictable personalities who have imposed hurdles for the management to jump over but only to hit a brick wall due to the owners misunderstanding and naivety into what make as a good "resort".
Firstly there is the small pool. The Developer who built this small pool for a complex that can house up to 250+ people at peak times ( xmas & school holidays) should be summonsed on to the site, strip naked, tied up to a stake at dusk and left for hours as the sandflies attack his body without mercy in punishment for his greed and lack of foresight. This pool is ok in off-peak times but at peak when most people try their luck for peace, the pool is awkwardly designed and should be extended by squaring it up. At peak be prepared to bombarded by a battalion of kamarkarzi inclined kids bombing every square metre of the pool. They at least are having fun, you the adult will not, unless you enjoy the verbal noise of mothers warning their kids in ozzie slang terms of an imminent public lashing due to poor behaviour in the pool.

But this is a family style resort, so its normal at peak times and expect a motley crew of guests from the conservative public servant type types to cashed up mining Bogans who seem to shape shift at night into a groups of burping like frogs caused from drinking so much beer while being glued for hours on a plastic sun lounge and giving their expert opinion on mindless TV sports that blares all day on, while their neglected kids roam the complex like mini-zombies looking for entertainment. You cant help who stays here but its all the same in Noosa with varied types as guests ( even at the Sheraton Hotel) . But this is Ozzie culture, its mainly revolves around alcohol, quite sad really when you see the people around them keeping fit, walking, canoeing, ect but its reality.
There is a no lift in the complex. Its three stories with only walk up stairs available, so those who are physically challenged, elderley or just detest walking up a flight of stairs with your 30 kg over packed suit case, please choose a ground floor.

Now for the more detailed reading for those who love to dwell deep into the rabbit hole hoping that this will be their dream location for their vacation.
The Culgoa Point complex like so many other Noosa apartment complexes calls itself a "resort". In fact it a just an apartment complex whose various owners have pooled their apartments so that they can be rented out by on-site management for a fee of 20%.
The only true resorts in Noosa are the Sheraton Hotel and the RACQ. The other mention should be given to the Viridian and the Sebel. So be careful if you are from overseas imagining yourself to laze around the pool side awaiting your cocktail to be delivered to your sun lounge by a smiling waiteror a fit agile porter boy assisting you with your luggage up three flights of stairs. This ain't going to happen at this "resort" and at 98% of accommodation in Australia.

To get food you will be numerous runs to the local supermarket or gambling in hope that you will find a restaurant that serves fresh and well priced food with some creativity ( good luck...). Most complexes offer kitchens and a communal bbq space where males tend to boast about their BBQ cooking skills over packaged low cost meat while drinking bottles of beer.

Why? Australian hospitality is a combination of having expensive service industry labour, asleep to the trends to the rest of world even against high cost labour countries like Japan and Switzerland, its managers having minimal travel exposure to get fresh ideas and the majority of its staff poorly trained and lazy. This is for the entire australian industry in general not just directed at this resort.

By taking a "other accommodation" option in the Noosa Region you are basically gambling in hope that the apartment that you will stay in will be a recently modernised and renovated apartment in which the owner has some sort of interior decorating style.

Instead most people get herded into a unit that is time warp back at least twenty years ago with a salute to salmon pink and Hawaiian floral surrealism for fashion coverings. The problem with these "resorts" is that they are not really Resorts in the true sense but an amalgamation of owners and property investors who rent their apartments via the on-site management.

This is where the problems start happening because of the lack of uniformity due to various under-travelled scrooge type of individual owners. Every owner seems to have their own idea of what should be provided and what style. This is a recipe for disaster in taste with many units having shoddy maintenance issues which need to be fixed but the owners are reluctant to pay for them. There should be a one rule for all owners, comply with management direction in terms to update your apartment every 5-8 years and furnish it with modern but cheap furniture instead of dumping your old 15 year old sofa that has seen thousands of people compress their farts into the fabric over the years. You all want your 7% return on your property, but people wont come back if you give them poorly presented apartments.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the ground floor. The loft apartments are great for a family of four and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eberbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Apartment was very nice, clean and quiet. Located at the Noosa river with “own little Beach” at the river. We felt a little bit like in paradise during our stay of 3 days. Pelicans were watching us, as we had breakfast at our terrace. Staff at reception was friendly and helpful. If we come back, we will stay here again.
Greetings from Germany

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culgoa, Front Office Manager at Culgoa Point Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi JFF2014
Thanks for your review and greetings from Paradise!
We love to hear when guests enjoy everything on our offer at our resort from our numerous wild life, great beachfront and river views. We had our duck family drop by reception just the other day to see our friendly staff.
We would love to see you back, not only for you to enjoy our resort, but for you to experience more of the amazing Sunshine Coast.
Kind Regards
Emma Hull
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culgoa Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culgoa Point Beach Resort

Address: 5 Quamby Place, Noosa, Queensland 4567 , Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Culgoa Point Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Culgoa Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culgoa Point Beach Hotel Noosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culgoa Point Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.