We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald Resort Noosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald Resort Noosa to your Saves list
The Emerald Resort Noosa
42 Hastings Street | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never ever again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

i was feeling positive when i entered the resort, beautiful garden and water features,well secured, good size pool, perfect location. When i entered our apartment I was again impressed with the size of the apartment and appearance so much so, that i ignored the fact that that there was a very obvious musty smell upon entering. I told myself that it needed some airing out and opened our balcony doors to do so. The balcony was large but our view was the building next door. We actually could not see the sky or the ground from our apartment (level 2). We tried to ignore this and focus on the positives, comfy large beds and quiet room. But then a horrible smell started coming from the kitchen sink so bad that I couldn't even drink water. I advised staff of smells and someone attended immediately to clean drains and air on. This fixed the kitchen smell but not the lounge room smell. Then the rain started and we were forced to stay indoors. We think that the smell was coming from the old itchy couch or grotty floor rug. It was revolting. We sat and watched tv holding our noses. Could not eat dinner in the apartment because of this horrible smell. I wanted to mop the tiled areas to remove sand and when I looked at the mop I didn't even want to touch it, don't know what was growing on it. Furthermore the pool was little use as being shorter 5 foot 2, and not a strong swimmer, it was too deep for me to go in and hold my toddler who can't swim at all. The pool was all one depth. Overall this resort has so much potential but room 38 which was supposed to be a superior refurbished room was very very disappointing .....gloomy and smelly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet apartment, that doesn't smell and whereby you have some view to the sky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    31
    10
    11
    3
See reviews for
60
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location on Hastings Street, close to beach and restaurants. Good size rooms, with cooking facilities. Partially covered pool worked for us as we experienced torrential rain and could still use the pool and spa. Friendly service from the on-site manager. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Location-wise in Noosa it's great if you want to be close to the Hastings St shopping strip and main beach..

I read reviews that complained about the shady pool area - yes much of the pool area is often in shade as the pool is in the middle of the complex. To us that was a bonus as you could swim in it without having to worry about getting fried by the sun (ie not drown yourself in sunscreen beforehand). The water temperarature was fine (ie it's heated).

The size of the two-bedroom apartment was impressive - certainly on the larger size. It was also clean, modern with all the conveniences you'd expect of self-contained places.

We found the staff very friendly and able to assist on the few occasions we needed help (we travelled witha two-year old). We chatted wth a few parents staying there who come to Noosa annually and they also believed this was one of the better places to stay in the are for the money.

Some of the rooms would be louder as they front on to HAstings St and there's a restaurant in front of the hotel. However, most nights I noticed many of the rooms had their windows open to actually let in the hub-bub and music from the restuarant below, rather than block it out.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for one (lie we did) off Hastings St or not opposite the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed during a girls vacation and was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. Ample room and was clean with all the mod cons. Location was fabulous and we were thrilled with our choice of accommodation until we met the staff. We advised ahead of time that we would not be in until 8pm and upon arrival were greeted by lady at the front desk who in a round about way made out that we were an inconvenience at is time with no pleasant smile and friendly welcome.
During our stay as we would walk pass reception to Hasting Street our hello's and good mornings went unanswered and upon check out were again made to feel like we were an inconvenience when we received a call an hour and a half before check out time telling us to hurry up and get out as they had people arriving staying in our room.
Location awesome, facilities great (other than pool position) with beach across road. Recommend the accommodation, just not the staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellingGM, Owner at The Emerald Resort Noosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Toni,

Thank you for complimenting the standard of our accommodation and our fabulous location. We believe that we offer the best accommodation for the price anywhere on Hastings Street.
We apologise that you found service levels somewhat lacklustre as we tried to cope with an unexpectedly busy October. With the fabulous weather Noosa has certainly sprung to life. This caught many resorts by surprise and at Emerald Noosa we have risen to the challenge, rejigged rosters, increased staffing levels and now everyone is smiling. The busy season has arrived early and it looks like Hastings Street, Noosa is the place to be!

Kind regards,
Management Team
Emerald Noosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Great pool and spa, comfortable temperature, larger than I expected from internet photos, with deck chairs around it. Pool was cleaned professionally twice that we saw during our 6 day stay. Very shaded pool, half covered by buildings and half by palm trees, which would make it great on extra hot days.
Excellent location. Cross the road and you are at path to the beach. Efficient lifts to our apartment and good locked carpark.
Our 'garden view' balcony was covered in leaf litter and had not been swept or wiped over. We had to do this before using it, and took 4 days to get back to the state we found it in. The bacony overlooked the carpark and road. The garden view might have referred to the palm trees between our balcony and the fence. On the other side of the road is 7/11 and bottle shop, and bars. A lot of the apartments looked liked they faced out this way. The twin bedroom was noisy as its windows were also along that wall. Noise from party goers at night and early walkers, trucks, surfers music etc very early in the morning.
Our apartment was a superior refurbished apartment. The bathrooms, laundry and kitchen were modern and lovely.
Carpets on the floor of the living room and bedrooms was grotty. Recommend you ask for a non carpeted apartment. The bedroom ceilings had a textured effect with dust hanging off it. We tried to ignore looking at it, as well as the dust filling the lovely bamboo bedheads. The couch in the living area was comfy but all four of us could not watch TV on the couch as there wasn't enough room to sit comfortably. We got itchy from the couch and our son was bitten by something so we avoided it in the end.
One of the cupboards housed a beach umbrella and 2 beach chairs so we assumed we could use them (a nice touch), though there was no mention of this in the guest info book. We asked reception and found we could hire pool towels at $5 each. When asked if we could exchange them (as we usually do at hotels we stay in) we were rudely told to use the laundry facilities in our apartment or we could swap towels for $5 each time.
The apartment was not serviced daily. We asked for the price of clean towels and was offered a free service 2 days in. After that we had 4 days of the same towels. We didn't feel comfortable requesting fresh towels again, as reception staff were less than approachable and could barely manage a smile.
Maybe we were unlucky with our apartment but I was reassured we had one of the better ones. The dusty, musty smell hit us every time we entered the apartment.
This 'resort' is good enough for many people I suppose, but I now realize that maybe you need to spend much more than the $380 per night we spent in Noosa to get a real, clean, friendly resort experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellingGM, Owner at The Emerald Resort Noosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sunbaker,
Thank you for complimenting our location and common areas, we are very proud of what we offer. We are disappointed to hear about some other experiences during your stay at Emerald Noosa and we will try to address each point individually.
Unfortunately despite our best efforts leaves can cover a balcony within minutes depending upon the wind, this is the bane of housekeeping and obviously out of their control. In short it is a product of all the beautiful trees which surround our complex.
It is unusual for us to hear about the noise issues you have outlined. Rather than using the air conditioning, some guests prefer to leave the windows open at night and this can create higher noise levels. We also suggest shutting the ensuite door at night as the ventilation screening to that bathroom can allow some noise in. We provide these tips to ensure a peaceful nights rest.
It does sound as though the standard of the carpets and ceiling should have been better and your recount of the response when requesting towels is far from normal. An explanation (not an excuse) is that this October we were caught short with lower staff levels and unusually high occupancy. Whilst our staff tried their best to cope with unusually high numbers of guests, it appears that in this instance our service and cleaning standards suffered and some of the strain showed. We apologise for this and assure you that our usual standard is far more professional.
Given the chance we would like to welcome you back and show you how professional and cheerful our usual standard of service is.

Kind regards
Management Team
Emerald Noosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location right in the heart of Hastings Street with secure car parking facilities. Very clean pool and common use areas. We found the reception staff to just do the minimum required and never really went out of their way to assist. They appeared to be disinterested with us. The rooms are quite large but are outdated and need to be refurbished. Our room seemed very dark and gloomy. A thorough clean needed to be done in our room as it had quite a lot of surface dust. If you want a great location this is the place. If you want friendly staff and modern rooms you need to look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellingGM, Owner at The Emerald Resort Noosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for complimenting our location, it is one of the most convenient places to stay. We are less than 100m to the Noosa Surf Club and patrolled section of beautiful Noosa Beach whilst the Hastings Street shops and restaurants start almost at our door.
We acknowledge your comments about staff interaction and service levels. Around October we usually start to get busier, yet this year our October bookings exceeded all expectations. We were caught short with lower staff levels and whilst our staff tried their best to cope with unusually high numbers of guests, it appears that in this instance our service levels suffered. We apologise for this lower service and assure you that we are in the process of returning to our usual high service levels.
In regards to your comments on out-dated rooms, we actually have two standards; Classic which as you say is original 1990's style yet offers incredible value for money; and Superior which offers very modern apartments for a slightly higher rate. We encourage potential guests to familiarise themselves with the two standards of accommodation on our web site prior to booking to ensure a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Management Team
Emerald Noosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Whilst this complex is quite old and is in need of refurbishment in some of the rooms we were very pleased with firstly the location, and secondly the size of the apartment/unit. We had other friends in another unit and theirs was refurbished to a very good standard...ours was a bit tired, especially the bathroom. However for the price we paid having a large room and good balcony far outweighed any issued with refurbishment. The unit was very clean and well equipped. Would we stay again .....yes...particularly if we had family and children as it is right in the heart of town and there is a pool in the complex, as well as the beach 50metres away. The security is also very good, and each unit has its own car park.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald Resort Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Resort Noosa

Address: 42 Hastings Street | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noosa's most spacious accommodation is located right in the heart of famous Hastings Street Noosa and in what many regard as the best non beachfront location.The choice of Classic (3.5 star) or Superior (4 to 4.5 star) apartments enable guests to choose the accommodation that is right for any requirement. Classic apartments are spacious and well maintained, whilst Superior apartments offer modern fit outs and furnishings. The Emerald offers original Classic or luxury Superior accommodation, combined with 5 star service and style.Set amidst this exquisite boulevard of savvy boutiques, al fresco eateries and fine art galleries, the Emerald Noosa is a hidden gem. Literally 100m away from the azure waters of Noosa's Main Beach and close to the Noosa National Park which offers a network of walking trails throughout 477 hectares of forest, heathland, clifftops, picturesque bays and rocky coves opening out to the spectacular seascape of Laguna Bay.The streetfront Cafe, Bar and Restaurant offer a great vantage point to view the action on Hastings Street. Enjoy the privacy that the design of this tranquil resort offers, whilst taking advantage of the magnificent location.Our professional, friendly team, are available to assist you with any recommendations you may require to make your Noosa holiday a getaway to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Emerald Resort Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald Resort Noosa Hotel Noosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald Resort Noosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.