We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, a shame about the staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald Resort Noosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald Resort Noosa to your Saves list
The Emerald Resort Noosa
42 Hastings Street | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great resort, a shame about the staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed during a girls vacation and was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. Ample room and was clean with all the mod cons. Location was fabulous and we were thrilled with our choice of accommodation until we met the staff. We advised ahead of time that we would not be in until 8pm and upon arrival were greeted by lady at the front desk who in a round about way made out that we were an inconvenience at is time with no pleasant smile and friendly welcome.
During our stay as we would walk pass reception to Hasting Street our hello's and good mornings went unanswered and upon check out were again made to feel like we were an inconvenience when we received a call an hour and a half before check out time telling us to hurry up and get out as they had people arriving staying in our room.
Location awesome, facilities great (other than pool position) with beach across road. Recommend the accommodation, just not the staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellingGM, Owner at The Emerald Resort Noosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Toni,

Thank you for complimenting the standard of our accommodation and our fabulous location. We believe that we offer the best accommodation for the price anywhere on Hastings Street.
We apologise that you found service levels somewhat lacklustre as we tried to cope with an unexpectedly busy October. With the fabulous weather Noosa has certainly sprung to life. This caught many resorts by surprise and at Emerald Noosa we have risen to the challenge, rejigged rosters, increased staffing levels and now everyone is smiling. The busy season has arrived early and it looks like Hastings Street, Noosa is the place to be!

Kind regards,
Management Team
Emerald Noosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    31
    10
    11
    3
See reviews for
59
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Great pool and spa, comfortable temperature, larger than I expected from internet photos, with deck chairs around it. Pool was cleaned professionally twice that we saw during our 6 day stay. Very shaded pool, half covered by buildings and half by palm trees, which would make it great on extra hot days.
Excellent location. Cross the road and you are at path to the beach. Efficient lifts to our apartment and good locked carpark.
Our 'garden view' balcony was covered in leaf litter and had not been swept or wiped over. We had to do this before using it, and took 4 days to get back to the state we found it in. The bacony overlooked the carpark and road. The garden view might have referred to the palm trees between our balcony and the fence. On the other side of the road is 7/11 and bottle shop, and bars. A lot of the apartments looked liked they faced out this way. The twin bedroom was noisy as its windows were also along that wall. Noise from party goers at night and early walkers, trucks, surfers music etc very early in the morning.
Our apartment was a superior refurbished apartment. The bathrooms, laundry and kitchen were modern and lovely.
Carpets on the floor of the living room and bedrooms was grotty. Recommend you ask for a non carpeted apartment. The bedroom ceilings had a textured effect with dust hanging off it. We tried to ignore looking at it, as well as the dust filling the lovely bamboo bedheads. The couch in the living area was comfy but all four of us could not watch TV on the couch as there wasn't enough room to sit comfortably. We got itchy from the couch and our son was bitten by something so we avoided it in the end.
One of the cupboards housed a beach umbrella and 2 beach chairs so we assumed we could use them (a nice touch), though there was no mention of this in the guest info book. We asked reception and found we could hire pool towels at $5 each. When asked if we could exchange them (as we usually do at hotels we stay in) we were rudely told to use the laundry facilities in our apartment or we could swap towels for $5 each time.
The apartment was not serviced daily. We asked for the price of clean towels and was offered a free service 2 days in. After that we had 4 days of the same towels. We didn't feel comfortable requesting fresh towels again, as reception staff were less than approachable and could barely manage a smile.
Maybe we were unlucky with our apartment but I was reassured we had one of the better ones. The dusty, musty smell hit us every time we entered the apartment.
This 'resort' is good enough for many people I suppose, but I now realize that maybe you need to spend much more than the $380 per night we spent in Noosa to get a real, clean, friendly resort experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellingGM, Owner at The Emerald Resort Noosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sunbaker,
Thank you for complimenting our location and common areas, we are very proud of what we offer. We are disappointed to hear about some other experiences during your stay at Emerald Noosa and we will try to address each point individually.
Unfortunately despite our best efforts leaves can cover a balcony within minutes depending upon the wind, this is the bane of housekeeping and obviously out of their control. In short it is a product of all the beautiful trees which surround our complex.
It is unusual for us to hear about the noise issues you have outlined. Rather than using the air conditioning, some guests prefer to leave the windows open at night and this can create higher noise levels. We also suggest shutting the ensuite door at night as the ventilation screening to that bathroom can allow some noise in. We provide these tips to ensure a peaceful nights rest.
It does sound as though the standard of the carpets and ceiling should have been better and your recount of the response when requesting towels is far from normal. An explanation (not an excuse) is that this October we were caught short with lower staff levels and unusually high occupancy. Whilst our staff tried their best to cope with unusually high numbers of guests, it appears that in this instance our service and cleaning standards suffered and some of the strain showed. We apologise for this and assure you that our usual standard is far more professional.
Given the chance we would like to welcome you back and show you how professional and cheerful our usual standard of service is.

Kind regards
Management Team
Emerald Noosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location right in the heart of Hastings Street with secure car parking facilities. Very clean pool and common use areas. We found the reception staff to just do the minimum required and never really went out of their way to assist. They appeared to be disinterested with us. The rooms are quite large but are outdated and need to be refurbished. Our room seemed very dark and gloomy. A thorough clean needed to be done in our room as it had quite a lot of surface dust. If you want a great location this is the place. If you want friendly staff and modern rooms you need to look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellingGM, Owner at The Emerald Resort Noosa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for complimenting our location, it is one of the most convenient places to stay. We are less than 100m to the Noosa Surf Club and patrolled section of beautiful Noosa Beach whilst the Hastings Street shops and restaurants start almost at our door.
We acknowledge your comments about staff interaction and service levels. Around October we usually start to get busier, yet this year our October bookings exceeded all expectations. We were caught short with lower staff levels and whilst our staff tried their best to cope with unusually high numbers of guests, it appears that in this instance our service levels suffered. We apologise for this lower service and assure you that we are in the process of returning to our usual high service levels.
In regards to your comments on out-dated rooms, we actually have two standards; Classic which as you say is original 1990's style yet offers incredible value for money; and Superior which offers very modern apartments for a slightly higher rate. We encourage potential guests to familiarise themselves with the two standards of accommodation on our web site prior to booking to ensure a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Management Team
Emerald Noosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Whilst this complex is quite old and is in need of refurbishment in some of the rooms we were very pleased with firstly the location, and secondly the size of the apartment/unit. We had other friends in another unit and theirs was refurbished to a very good standard...ours was a bit tired, especially the bathroom. However for the price we paid having a large room and good balcony far outweighed any issued with refurbishment. The unit was very clean and well equipped. Would we stay again .....yes...particularly if we had family and children as it is right in the heart of town and there is a pool in the complex, as well as the beach 50metres away. The security is also very good, and each unit has its own car park.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Emerald is in a great location right in the middle of Hastings Street. Our three bedroomed apartment was very well appointed and all the beds extremely comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed cooking in a couple of times. The apartment was at the back of the resort so nice and quiet but the terrace was a bit too shady for our liking as was the pool which is was in permanent shade so not great to sit by. One other complaint, why would you advertise wifi when you don't supply it free? Plus their supplier was very expensive. We ended up going out and buying a Vodafone wireless device to use during our stay. Overall good value though and we would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sunny terrace if you like to sit out in the sun - I would ask for afternoon su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the luxury and excellence of the unit we stayed in this August. The beds were particularly comfortable ( not always the case in motels etc.) , the kitchen had everything except egg cups, and the lounge was luxurious. 3 flat screen TVs were a real indulgence but we appreciated it all, including the rather charming balcony overlooking the trees.The showers were brilliant...so much so that we are thinking about changing our showers at home, and thebathrooms were spacious. For 2 retirees this was more than adequate.We loved the fact that the resort is only a few metres away from the coffee shops and the social life of Hastings Street. Excellent pool, courteous and helpful staff, easy to access car park, this place is so good that we will return next year. We had Unit 20 which obviously didn't have any problems with restaurant noise. Having read a few other reviews I can see that we chose well when we decided to pay the extra for a superior 2 bedroom appartment. And the place was spotless.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms which have been recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The bed was comfy, the spa bath was great and a fantastic location! Everything was very clean. Nothing I could fault at all. Pool looked nice but was too cold for a swim. Everything is so close you don't need a car.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald Resort Noosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Resort Noosa

Address: 42 Hastings Street | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noosa's most spacious accommodation is located right in the heart of famous Hastings Street Noosa and in what many regard as the best non beachfront location.The choice of Classic (3.5 star) or Superior (4 to 4.5 star) apartments enable guests to choose the accommodation that is right for any requirement. Classic apartments are spacious and well maintained, whilst Superior apartments offer modern fit outs and furnishings. The Emerald offers original Classic or luxury Superior accommodation, combined with 5 star service and style.Set amidst this exquisite boulevard of savvy boutiques, al fresco eateries and fine art galleries, the Emerald Noosa is a hidden gem. Literally 100m away from the azure waters of Noosa's Main Beach and close to the Noosa National Park which offers a network of walking trails throughout 477 hectares of forest, heathland, clifftops, picturesque bays and rocky coves opening out to the spectacular seascape of Laguna Bay.The streetfront Cafe, Bar and Restaurant offer a great vantage point to view the action on Hastings Street. Enjoy the privacy that the design of this tranquil resort offers, whilst taking advantage of the magnificent location.Our professional, friendly team, are available to assist you with any recommendations you may require to make your Noosa holiday a getaway to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Emerald Resort Noosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald Resort Noosa Hotel Noosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald Resort Noosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.