We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening after some hickups!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Noosa Beach House

Noosa Beach House
14-16 Hastings St, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
+(61)7 5449 4754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 251 Restaurants in Noosa
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Brasserie, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Renowned chef, restaurateur and TV presenter, Peter Kuruvita, brings his signature style and focus on local seafood to iconic Hastings St. The relaxed holiday vibe of the open terrace and bar evolves into a stylish restaurant and cocktail bar as the day progresses.
Yeppoon, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening after some hickups!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

As a regular visitor to Noosa, and a Star Privilege Pacific member since 2001, I wanted to do something special for my daughters 25th birthday. My sister (also visiting), my daughter and I thought we would have drinks in the bar then have a lovely meal to finish off. Not living in Noosa, I was not aware Cato's no longer existed. Drinks were lovely and when we went upstairs for dinner, and I provided a Star Privilege voucher for dining discount, I was told by staff they could no longer be used as the restaurant is now leased to Peter Kuravita. The manager was called, and I explained this was not acceptable, as at the time I renewed the membership the restaurant had not changed hands, and since then no correspondence had been sent to advise differently. You cannot change the rules half way, I also explained each year I make sure the vouchers can be used at Noosa and the Gold coast as those are the most popular destinations I go to. We had only just come from staying at the Gold Coast and was advised there the vouchers could be used at Noosa. In the end the manager agreed to honour the voucher, as he knew I would have walked out, so warning to all other Star Privilege members to be aware they will try not to honour vouchers at lunch and dinner, but can use them for bar food and breakfast. We did have a beautiful meal, my sister had the curry snapper and I the lovely red emporer, and my daughter a beautiful eye fillet steak, all presented beautifully. Deserts were to die for, and we had a lovely young waitress who was fantastic, so apart from the voucher incident the food and service was fantastic. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody who wants to enjoy a lovely lunch or evening of fine dining at lovely venue.

We returned in the morning for breakfast (used voucher) and was delighted to see the lovely staff we know, Carol, Louise, Jaimie the chef etc, all who were wonderful and the food fantastic, Jaimie cooks a mean omelette!!!! Highly recommend the beakfast for the fantastic food selection and fantastic service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Noosa Beach House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Amanda B

Thank you for dining with us for your daughters 25th birthday and your review. As you explained, Peter Kuruvita took over the operations of Sheraton's restaurant when it was renovated in May and is now not available to the full Star Privilege member discount in the restaurant area. It seems an unfortunate error that you were not informed by email in May and I'm happy to see that our manager was able to rectify this for you and your daughters special occasion.

I appreciate the fact, that after the initial let down, you rated Noosa Beach House according to the quality of food and service. I'm very happy to see you that you loved all your meals and thank you for your recommendation to others. I do hope we see you again!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    55
    17
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Evening saved by Andrew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous space and wonderfully friendly and professional staff. Wine list was extensive and of a relatively reasonable price.
We had come for the celebrated mud crab. Unfortunately the chilli, ginger and shallot was over reduced and overpowering. The mud crab however was cooked magnificently.
After several queries to staff about the sauce not being what we ordered, Andrew the highly professional Manager, saved the evening. He explained that this sauce, in fact, was not as it should be. He was so gracious and offered us an alternate dish, magnificent, and a glass of French champagne.
After reading the reviews I think next visit, and we will return, will be the Sri Lankan curry. It looked marvellous as it passed us to other diners.
Anyone who has worked in hospitality realises that even in the most top notch restaurants hiccups will occur. What is special is how the situation is remedied and how management respects the feedback. Well done Andrew.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Noosa Beach House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Virginia P,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. It is disappointing to hear an error was made with Peter's signature mud crab sauce the evening you dined. I'm very happy to hear our manager rectified the situation so you were still able to enjoy your meal with us. Thank you for the feedback and understanding. I do hope we see you again for a snapper curry!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shocking Sheraton”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently visited the restaurant for a drink but then decided to order some food, we ordered beer battered chips and a bucket of prawns, we waited over an hour despite having to chase the staff 3 times, once the food came, there were 4 prawns in the 'bucket' and at 22usd was a total rip off, and the prawns were practically still frozen. Peter one of the waiters was kind enough to offer us to glasses of wine for the wait. I would not be in a hurry to return for food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Noosa Beach House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi r0cket1888

Thank you for letting us know of your experience. We value and learn from all feedback, and your comments have been reviewed and discussed with staff management. We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback and do hope you will visit us again when you are next in Noosa

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Memorable dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

y husband got me to make a booking to celebrate a special anniversary and we couldn't think of a nicer place to dine in Hastings Street. The food was sensational and as a Sri lankan absolutely loved Peter Kuruvita's signature dish of the Sri Lankan Snapper Fish Curry. .. Simply mouth watering. We thoroughy enjoyed our meal and the restaurant staff were exceptional especially our waiter. We even ended up chatting to Peter who was so down to earth and such a lovely man, it made my night and an evening we will never forget. Stunning decor with beautiful tasty fresh food, highly recommended as definitely one of the top restaurants in Hastings Street. I have already recommended your restaurant to all my sri lankan family and friends, and recently sent my cousin's husband and his friends to dine where they enjoyed their evening too. The Noosa Beach House will definitely be a reason for a return visit to your fabulous restaurant. Thank you again for amazing experience Louise & John

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Noosa Beach House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Louise Z,

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how much you enjoyed your experience. We certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great meal but a rude waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here at the Sheraton and had heard about this restaurant and decided to dine out. Got dressed up and was seated, I was dining alone. The waitress was not interested in explaining the menu to me. But I eventually ordered the lamb back strap and it was the best meal I had in Noosa. I asked for the desert menu but the rude waitress simply neglected me and spent almost 5 minutes at the next table explaining entrees etc.
I thought a meal in a nice place was to be a total experience not something to make you feel out of place.
To the credit of this restaurant I explained how badly I had been treated to the Manager who said he was new and had a lot of work to do with staff. To his credit, Andrew, made the night by apologising and gave me some compensation. I would not employ this rude waitress. I think a person dining alone is as good as the other diners. She is putting bad vibes in to a great restaurant. Thank you to the manger who treated me properly

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Noosa Beach House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi nbrown1,

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to review us. We appreciate feedback and learn from our guests experiences. Your comments have been discussed with staff and I'm glad our manager was able to rectify the situation. I'm happy to hear you really enjoyed the food and I hope we see you again when you are next in Noosa

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noosa Beach House also viewed

Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 
Sunshine Beach, Noosa
 

Been to Noosa Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noosa Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.