We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noosa Junction treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Taste of Spice

A Taste of Spice
36 Sunshine Beach Road | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
+61 7 5448 0311
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 251 Restaurants in Noosa
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Taste of Spice Casual Dining Restaurant. No Corkage, also Take Away.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Noosa Junction treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

During the day I walked past this restaurant and thought it looked a bit old and outdated but looks are deceiving as we all know.We went back that night for a feed and was not dissappointed.The owner and staff are friendly and could not be more welcoming.The food was good for the price and I would definitely recommend this little restaurant.Geoff Bensley Byron Bay

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“So good we went back twice and will go there first next Noosa holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Don't know what pennydropss is talking about. We are down from Mackay CQ and our friends Kevin & Sharron said it was a MUST to eat at Taste of Spice and wow they were not wrong. We went there twice, had to wait a bit second time for a table, but really worth it. We are definitely adding this place to our fine dining list. Great food and excellent hosts. Not very often the chef comes out to check how the food is. Anil and Sharlini well done on your great eatery.
we will certainly be back on our next visit to Noosa!
Roy and Jackie

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over rate & did not taste authentic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We got some takeaway here, usually we veer away from places that sell a range of Asian cuinsine, but we thought we would trust the TA reviews. We wanted to focus on the Malaysian dishes, which seems to be the main cuisine, the satay entree was good, nice peanut sauce, that seemed to be made from scratch. The rest if the meal was ordinary, perhaps this is because we had to order GF and we did not feel like a heavy curry main. We had hoped to order a laksa etc but we were told this may have gluten in it, really?? not been in any laksa we have made or ordered befor?! so we got a tom kai gai soup, its stock was ok, pretty bland, I thankfully had some limes at our apartment, but sin of sins it had celery in it!!! our vegetable ginger stir fry also had celery in it and no semblance of ginger. It had other vegies but all was overpowered by an awful greasy charred taste. I love celery but it does not belong in any of this food, big no NO.
Due to the GF factor we also ordered fish cakes, they were rubbery yuk, & a bit too much on the fishy side, not fresh at all. We could not eat most of what we ordered, was disappointing. The service was friendly and informed re: GF. If we ordered more of the Malay style food perhaps our experience would have been better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“So good we had to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Only on the Sunshine Coast for 10 days and had to return to A Taste of Spice. Only a few tables but worth the wait on the second visit. The Dim Sims are the best I have had anywhere but all their food is excellent, made on premises and Anil suggests food as he gets to know his customers. We realized that we had been several times to his restaurant at Noosaville some years ago and very happy we found him again. Can't wait for my next trip to Qld and will definitely be back again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed environment with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Excellent value for money with the freshest of ingredients and great service. The dishes are varied, great flavours and right amount of spice. Anil is very willing and happy to accommodate any food preferences and dietary requirements...nothing is too much trouble. It is BYO with no corkage charge! The overall experience has us returning to the restaurant time and time again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Spice also viewed

Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to A Taste of Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Taste of Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.