We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away for Mothers Day” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra French Quarter Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra French Quarter Resort to your Saves list
Mantra French Quarter Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   62 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away for Mothers Day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was really disappointed in this hotel. Firstly the staff don't advise you that when they freeze your credit card when you check-in that it will take 5 working days to release the funds back into your account. it is best to give cash so you can get your money back straight away. Secondly when asked for assistance in terms of direction as to what is there to do, it feels like you are asking for their blood. Customer service by the receptions at check-in was disappointing from Mantra quality.

Room Tip: Room was disgusting, carpet smelled, mould in curtains, spa in the room was dirty. TV unit was sat u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
Please accept my apologies if there was insufficient information given to you when you passed on your credit card on check in for the security deposit. It is a procedure on check in for a security deposit, whether made in cash or credit card, and is a procedure used by resorts and hotels world wide. Many guests do find it more convenient to use their credit card, but the option of a cash deposit with a copy of the guests licence is also available.
Our Front Desk team do have a large amount of information to be able to pass on to guests in regards to tours and bookings, places to go, directions, and restaurants, so we were dissapointed to hear that in your case it was not given out when requested. We appreciate you passing this on, and we will follow up with the team members to ensure all information possible is given to guests to help get the most out of their stay in Noosa.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we welcome you to contact us directly to get more detailed information on the issues you encountered while here.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    202
    80
    33
    31
See reviews for
175
181
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

For the location and price its pretty good.

The rooms are old and outdated with some things not acceptable... The tv reception was woeful with only the pay tv channels working well.

There is poor lighting in the bathroom with only 1 light near the mirror meaning you can hardly see in the shower.

The lifts in the place are atrocious... Skipping levels, getting stuck and poor scent are common. Guests get out ( when the doors decide to open) and are shaking their heads.

The lift situation seems to be a long running joke with staff who all just accept its poor condition.

One of the cheaper Hastings st options and we now understand why.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the resort.
In regards to your TV channels, we do have two systems running through the TV, the pay TV channels, and our digital channels. To switch between the two types, the TV/ AV button on the remote needs to be used. Our staff are more than happy to help any guests who need assistance using this control, or any other questions, 24 hours a day.
Our refurbished rooms, or Deluxe Apartments, are also an option for guests to book if the standard apartments, such as the one you had booked, are not to guests personal tastes. We appreciate your feedback though, and I will pass on your comments regarding the lighting in to the apartments owner.
Although we only have 3 levels at the resort for lifts to operate, they can be slow during peak times when a high number of people are using them. We have 4 lifts, one for each quarter, and they are checked regularily by a lift technician. There has been no reports of lifts skipping levels, but as mentioned, during busy times of the day, the lift can be delayed with other guests.
Thank you again for your constructive feedback.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarraman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

well-designed resort & room...well-appointed (obviously renovated recently)
staff were friendly, prompt and helpful...room was clean and quiet
situated in position "A" at the eastern end of Hastings Street
handy to everything (try the walk to the top of Noosa Hill which begins just outside
the complex..."Stairway to Heaven")
book early as they looked to have almost 100% occupancy
we were there 16th to 19th April

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Mantra French Quarter, and the location.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Could not fault the location, on Hastings St opposite the Surf Club. 6 or 7 low rise blocks of units, average 18 units per block, all overlooking a central courtyard of large pools, 2 jacuzzis, sauna etc, beautifully landscaped. It was school hols and weather not so good so the pools were popular but kid's noise not intrusive (closed 9.00pm). We had a room with a queen bed and double bed fold out lounge. Full laundry and equipped kitchen. Staff friendly and happy to oblige. More than comfortable and good value. Not sure if we should have fed the lorikeets etc on the balcony - great pic opportunity though. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit facing east if you want to breakfast on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and made full use of the resorts facilities and the location.
We look forward to seeing you again at Mantra French Quarter Resort again soon.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Have just checked into what is supposedly a 2brm deluxe apartment. Room was small, very worn at not at all clean looking. Considering it is meant to sleep 4-5 people it only has a dirty 2 seater lounge suite, window blinds are filthy, coffee table scratched and dirty. Really not impressed!
Now sitting by the pool for well over an hour while we wait for them to clean what is apparently another 2br deluxe apartment. (Although this too looks like a standard 2brm not a deluxe).
Was told it would only be 45mins but they still haven't even started on the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for passing on your feedback from your arrival at French Quarter Resort. Please accept our apologies if the room was not what you were expecting on your arrival, and we appreciate your patience while reception arranged another room for you.
Although we do not advertise we have multiple lounges in these apartments, we do aprecciate your comments. There is additional seating in all apartments, including the balcony table and chairs, and we are also happy to arrange more on request when possible.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and 2 yound children stayed for 10 nights in March 2013 and were glad we stayed here. All the units are positioned to overlook the pool area which our kids loved and were in every day sometimes more than once. The resort is well placed at the end of Hastings Street so it was good to be able to start at one end of Hasting st when you walk the street rather than in the middle.If you need to walk to Noosa Junction shops it is probably in as good a position on the Noosa Heads side as any hotel to walk over the hill to the IGA or other shops. Our room was well self contained so the IGA is a must visit at the start of your trip (if you flew in like us). For fast service and decent food the Surf Club is diagonally opposite with the best views of the beach at Noosa Heads. Though not on the beach, you can't get any closer for a resort on the otherside of Hasting Street. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ground room floors are the same level as the pool so are probably better, though we stayed on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for such positive feedback from your recent stay at Mantra French Quarter Resort. It was very pleasing to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay thoroughly, and the kids made good use of the pool area during your 10 day visit with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed at Mantra French Quarter on a working Holliday. The team at mantra were incredibly hospitable especially when it came to finding us a room at the last minute following an unprecedented poor experience at another local hotel. Justin and his team went above and beyond to make myself and my family welcome to his resort. The new re furnished rooms are excellent offering plenty of space for my young family. All of the building offer easy access to Hastings street and the beach which is great. You can't go past Cafe Le Mond which is on the doorstep of the hotel for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The food is great and the staff are very hospitable. We will be back again soon to spend some more time exploring the beautiful noose region. Beautiful linen as well! Nice clean crisp sheets and white fluffy towels! Thanks Mantra French Quarter!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are all refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQEAM, Manager at Mantra French Quarter Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback from your recent stay at Mantra French Quarter. We appreciate all your comments regarding the refurbished rooms (Deluxe Rooms), the local hot spots to eat, the service from the staff, the location, and the comfortable linen. I will ensure all your feedback is passed on to our staff, and it is wonderful that we were able to finish your working holiday with your family on a high note, after the difficulty you encountered at another resort.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Noosa Heads in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra French Quarter Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra French Quarter Resort

Address: 62 Hastings Street, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly Breakfree French Quarter Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra French Quarter Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hastings Street, Mantra French Quarter is the perfect place to enjoy a seaside escape to Noosa. Mantra French Quarter is set back from the hustle and bustle of Hastings Street yet offers direct access to the shopping, dining and entertainment hub, making it the perfect place to enjoy the best of Noosa. Mantra French Quarter offers self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments or opt to pay a little extra for one of our One or Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartments which have been refurbished. All accommodation offers reverse cycle air conditioning, kitchenette including a stove top, microwave, bar fridge, toaster and tea and coffee facilities, in-house movies and cable TV. There are also laundry facilities and a balcony or terrace for relaxing in the fresh air. At the centre of Mantra French Quarter is a pool, spa and sauna area with a children's wading pool that can be accessed from your room via pathways surrounded by resort gardens. Noosa's famed restaurants and shopping boutiques are literally on the doorstep, with beaches and the National Park just a short stroll away. Within the Sunshine Coast and easily accessible from Noosa is the world's largest sand island, Fraser Island as well as Underwater World, the southern hemisphere's largest oceanarium and Australia Zoo, founded by conservationist Steve Irwin. At Mantra French Quarter you're sure to find an accommodation style to suit your Noosa holiday needs, whether it's a short or long stay you have in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra French Quarter Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree French Quarter Hotel Noosa
Breakfree French Quarter Noosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra French Quarter Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.