We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Noosa International Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Noosa International Resort to your Saves list
Noosa International Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Edgar Bennett Ave | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Noosa International)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Adequate and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We were in apartment 111 which had to be accessed through the garage. It was convenient and adequate for our 5 night stay. One of the wardrobe doors in the main bedroom fell off. The reception staff mananged to get it sorted straight away. There were lots of damp patches on the second bedroom walls. I feel that this apartment needed to be decorated, and the balcony floor pressure hosed down. The kitchen was well stocked , the fridge/freezer and dishwasher worked well. All in all not too bad.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Noosa International Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear MaryCornwall,

Thank you for you comments relating to your stay here at the BreakFree Noosa International Resort.

You comments regarding the unit have been noted and we are currently in the process of Spring Cleaning our units and the points you have made will be addressed during that deep cleaning of the unit.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager
BreakFree Noosa International Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    23
    18
    21
See reviews for
29
40
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend away. I would definitely not call this a resort, this is far from it, these is a non serviced apartment complex with a nice pool and a few spas.

To be honest the place has a depressing vibe and I wouldn't want to stay for longer than a weekend and we definitely would not book this place again.

We had a studio room booked (which I would not advise people to get as its pretty tiny and does not look like any of the rooms on the website) and when we arrived it was really dirty.

In their defense management was excellent and moved us immediately so props to them for that...but from what the people are saying on trip advisor about the place, maybe the management need to seriously address who is doing their cleaning contracts.

If your cleaners seriously can look into a toilet and not see ants crawling over it and cobwebs and dirt in the bathroom sink and cockroach poo in the bed side drawers? Then they either don't care, or they are the worst cleaners in Noosa and need to be sacked.

The pool there is really nice and the spa is great. The reef hotel across the road is ok.

They need to do something about the pool bar and the restaurant that isn't working which is "out of breakfree's control" because its makes the place feel really depressing. We did find the room we were given 2nd quiet on our side of the apartments and honestly its not that far to Hastings street...I wouldn't want to walk up the hill but its fine to walk down and just get a cab back...

I guess when you leave a place you have stayed its always nice to be asked how your stay was...but here they just take your key and don't say anything to you...we that is what they did to us, so I guess people don't feel that they have the opportunity to give their feed back, maybe they get too much bad feedback, or maybe they just don't care.. I don't know, maybe that's why people go on Trip advisor?

I think tho that people need to know what they are getting for their money with this place...it is a competitive industry and i think this place is just getting by on its Noosa post code.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Noosa International Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Dear Haley,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at BreakFree Noosa International Resort.

As with most properties in Noosa and the Sunshine Coast we are a Holiday Apartment style complex meaning that our apartments and resort are designed more for longer stays and the units are only serviced on a weekly basis. This is common practice for most Apartment Style resorts and we get a lot of families stay for a week or longer and really enjoy their time here in their fully self contained apartment with cooking and laundry facilities.

The weekend of your stay was very miserable weather wise which would not have helped with the “vibe” of the resort. As for the vacant restaurant and pool bar area we have been held back by strata titling restriction which have just been changed. This area is due to be renovated in the coming months and will completely change the look and feel of the resort.

The unit you were first allocated to has unfortunately been having an ongoing issue with bugs which we believed was rectified prior to your stay. I apologise that this was not the case and I believe the rain that we experienced over the weekend had forced these bugs, more specifically the ants inside. These would not have been there when the room was cleaned the previous day. As you mentioned we quickly rectified this issue and moved you to an upgraded room which was more comfortable for you for the remainder of your stay. For $120 a night the studio units are a very reasonably priced option for people visiting Noosa on a short stay considering the close proximity to Noosa’s main hub, Hastings Street.

Kind Regards,
Alan Golley
General Manager
BreakFree Noosa International Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Both my husband and I stayed at the resort from 11.3.2011 to 18.3.2011 (checked out 17.3.2011)
Wow if ever I had stayed in a dirty, filthy unkempt hotel well we found it with break free Noosa international. The 1 bedroom unit we had booked via whatif.com was so filthy that we found ourselves spending our days away from the unit. The floors were putrid, the kitchen especially inside the kitchen cupboards well I am lost for words - the whole place was a mess from top to bottom. I honestly would be questioning your so called "cleaners" what in Gods name do the do - it certainly is not cleaning that’s for sure. When was the last time you employed people who actually cleaned - I tried to open your windows and was horrified at the amount of dead insects that were in the window. What a nightmare of a stay - we were both gutted and mortified. You may rate yourself as 3 star but we can assure you even a 1 star rating is too much. The place was old and rundown inside and there is really no point in maintaining gardens when your rooms are dirty. I would be interested to know how Currant Affair find my observations and shock findings. We found we could no longer stay there and left early - which cost us more money in change flights - not to mention when we checked out the guy at the desk really could not be bothered to ask as to why we were checking out a day earlier. He really did not give a dam. Your resort staff should be more respectful of guests - just because we paid for a 1 bedroom unit the door to the other room was locked - HOW CHILDISH and immature!! Our personal experience was a horror to say it nicely - what a horrible way to spend our 25th wedding anniversary in such a dump.
YOU WERE SO QUICK TO TAKE OUR HARD EARNED MOENY - NOW I WOULD LIKE TO ASK YOU TO COMMENT AND PERHAPS REFUND OUR MONEY AS OUR WONDERFUL WEDDING ANNIVERSARY WAS DESTROYAED TOGETHER WITH THE MEMORY

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Noosa International Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Dear Suzanna,

Thank you for your comments and I have responded to your letter of complaint to your personal email. As mentioned in that email, you made no mention to any staff member that there was an issue with the cleanliness of the room. I believe that after you checked in, you were back at reception within 15 minutes heading out for a walk and you did not mention anything regarding cleanliness to the staff member that checked you in. There were other dealings with staff and plenty of times you walked past with a big smile on your face saying hello, and even brining Sue our receptionist some biscuits. But still at no time was there any mention of an issue with the cleanliness of the room. If the room was as ‘filthy’ as you say it was and it upset you as much as it clearly has then we would not expect you (or anybody) to stay in a room of below par cleaning standards. We would have offered you another room or had someone come and rectify any cleaning issues. You are very quick to defame our cleaners in your email however never gave us the opportunity to rectify the issue.

At the resort, all 66 of our rooms are Two Bedroom Apartments. To be competitive in the market and offer you the best available rate possible we lock off a bedroom, a bathroom and a toilet and then sell the room as a 1 Bedroom Apartment. This allows us to capture more of the market share and offer a cheaper alternative to couples or singles travelling. I am sorry you feel that this is “Childish and Immature” however it is done for the benefit of the consumer.

I would urge you and others reading this review to advise any resort you stay at during your stay if there is an issue as most issues are rectifiable. We are hospitality professionals and are here to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for 4 terrible nights from 26 Dec 2010. The unit was old, tired and extremely dusty and dirty!!! Even the spa had worms living in it!!!! Our children were terrified and couldn't even swim!! We paid $370.00 per night for this disgusting hotel!!! Unfortunately we booked online under the assumption that a Breakfree hotel would be well maintained and clean.....we feel completley ripped off and it ruined our holiday....Please Please Please stay somewhere else and don't waste your hard earned money like we did :(

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Noosa International Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Terry_Nikki,

Thank you for you comments regarding your stay at BreakFree Noosa International Resort. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. I have contacted you privately regarding your comments in response to the letter you wrote.

As mentioned we were unsure what cause the said worms to decide that the spa would be a great place to hang out, however i can assure you that this is not a common occurance at the property.

We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and hope that you accept out private appology and continue to stay at BreakFree Properties throughout Australia.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

When we arrived the reception staff was very pleasant. We signed in and were given a map to our room 137 (carry your own luggage up those stairs). Upon opening the door to our 'self-contained apartment' the stale stench of filthy carpet and urine hit us straight in the face. We opened all the windows and balcony sliding door to see if we could shift it thinking it just needed a good airing, We unpacked and left for an hour with fresh air blowing through, only to return to discover the smell was permanent. My partner visited reception asking if we could be moved to another room as we could not bare the smell. She was told "We will send someone up". 30 minutes later one of the cleaning staff knocked at the door with 'movement sensor' air freshener in hand. She took some deep breaths and pretended she could not smell it. I told her I thought the laundry area smelt of urine - to which she offered to bleach it out for us. We insisted on another room which after some debate was provided. This next room 149A was much nicer with less smell (due to less carpet). It was obvious that the owners of this one actually come and use it themselves. However, every time we used the sink or shower in the tiny bathroom, the smell of sewage rose up through the drain in the floor. The locked door at the end of the hall (the main bedroom for this apartment) which is hired out separately to make more money, had a young couple on the otherside. Every word they spoke was audible to us and obviously vice versa. This did not make for a relaxing time as we felt we had to sneek around in order not to disturb our neighbours. New Years Eve and we arrived back at our apartment. The crowd of youngsters in the apartment above us decided that it was appropriate to party until around 5.30am New Years day. There was no one in the resort to shut this party down and so we lay awake until then waiting for it all to end, too tired to even ring the police, whom I am sure had more important things to deal with on that night! Rooms are advertised as having DVD players. This is not true and we were charged a hire fee to rent one from reception (we had to hook this up ourselves). We were also charged $2.50 hire fee for each beach towel, although we were actually only given bathroom towles as all the beach towels were taken (but still they charged the same fee). All in all, a very disapointing experience. Had they advertised as budget accommodation I would have felt differently. At the local pub one night standing in the queue for 45 minutes waiting to place our dinner order we chatted to another guest at Breakfree who had a 2 bedroom apartment for $80 less per night than we were charged. The pool and spa did not entice us and the old blanket that was laying in the garden outside our apartment (obviously thrown over someone's balcony) made it clear that the gardens were also not attended to on a regular basis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Noosa International Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Baxyboy,

Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay at BreakFree Noosa International. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

I can assure you that the carpets in the room you were first given (unit 137) were professionally cleaned the week before Christmas. The smell in the unit was from a different source which has since been rectified and we have had other guests stay and have been happy with the unit. As you have mentioned we did offer you a room move to rectify your concerns relating to the smell. We do not always offer a room move strait away as we try and rectify the problem with the unit first as it is not always convenient for guests to have to relocate to a different area of the resort. Had we been alerted to the smell of sewage coming from the floor drain of the bathroom of the unit you relocated to we would have been able to come and clear the smell. Unfortunately sewage smells in bathrooms are not always in our control and may develop after the cleaners have serviced the room prior to a guest stay.

Relating to the noise, you mention in your review that there was no one on site New Years Eve to deal with noise coming from the unit above you. In the welcome letter we provided you on arrival there was some information in there about security & noise issues after hours advising to dial 9 on your phone and security would deal with the problem. I can assure you that i have comments from my Security Contractor that there was a party in this section of the resort that was shut down at approximately 2am. There were no noise complaints recorded after this time and our security did note that during a later walk around they could not see that this party was still going.

I would like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you do choose to stay at other BreakFree and Mantra properties throughout Australia and do not let this experience tarnish your view of the BreakFree Resorts and Apartments brand.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Upon arriving for a late check in (8pm) we were permitted to obtain our keys from a lock box under CCTV interrogation which was a little strange. The room itself was good, however there was childrens toys left in the ensuite shower which makes me wonder how thoroughly it was cleaned. The rooms were surrounded in a jungle of vegetation and there appeared to be rooms that people lived in permanently which wasn't apparent from their site. The walk down to Noosa central was pretty steep and there didn't appear to be any form of shuttle bus advertised. The next morning after check in we went to procure some more keys and the desk staff were not particularly friendly but efficient enough. Sadly the pool with the bar was empty and there was very little atmosphere around the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwaldo, Manager at Noosa International Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you for you comments regarding your stay at BreakFree Noosa International Resort. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

The CCTV out front of the reception is there for the purpose of security keeping an eye on the resorts after hours access. It is not meant to be obtrusive and we are sorry if it felt that way upon your arrival.

We are in the process of rejuvinating the gardens around the resort thinning out the vegitation and reducing the "jungle" feel. This work has been carried out over the past month and is expected to be completed prior to our christmas peak period..

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Alan Golley
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in september. i cannot fault the staff, how the grounds were kept, or the cleanliness of the room, however, our room was on a second floor, and the stairway up to the room had carpet on the floor, the stairwell smelt musty and old. When we opened the room, the same smell but 10 fold. we were able to open the room at both ends and air it out, and we did deal with it as we were only in the room at night, to sleep. but had we been staying longer and planning to spend time there relaxing we would have requested an alternate room or moved hotels. The pool was nice, although very very quiet and the restaurant and pool bar are no longer in service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Noosa International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noosa International Resort

Address: 1 Edgar Bennett Ave | Noosa Heads, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Noosa International)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Noosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Noosa International Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Noosa International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Noosa International Hotel Noosa
Breakfree Hotel Noosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noosa International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.